Dear Me

Dear Me,
I think you should know,
it wasn’t your fault.
You didn’t do one thing wrong.
Wasn’t asked for,
wasn’t earned.
You were just a kid, you know?
No one listened, no one heard you.
Their silence said yes,
Your tears stained face cried NO.

Dear Me,
It’s not easy being here now,
knowing what we know.
That they could have, should have
done something, anything…but
they chose nothing.
You aren’t to blame, they lied.

Dear Me,
We are okay now, ya know?
They cannot hurt us,
they cannot blame us.
We know the road to freedom.
We have a voice to shout,
and we do.

Dear Me,
I love you, ya know?
Scars and rough spots.
Places that always seem sore,
that ache that doesn’t fade.
I love it all because, you and me
we survived. We are alive.

Dear Me,
Want to meet me by the pond?
We’ll skinny dip or dig in the sand.
want to meet me in the hammock?
We can read a book or have a nap.
It is our time now.
Let’s go play like the kids
we
never
were.

2010 Copyright Shanyn Silinski

Featured by Poets United for September 27, 2011 – with many thanks!

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2011/09/poem-of-week-dear-me-27-september-2011.html

Epistle poem prompt from http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2011/09/epistle-poem.html

 

 

 

 

 

30 Comments

  1. September 14, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    I love this poem! So glad that I saw it!
    Hugs, Darlene

    • shanyns said,

      September 14, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      I’m so glad you saw it too Darlene! Thanks for coming by 🙂

  2. mstevensson said,

    September 14, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    The end of your poem ran chills down my spine. Very well written and very sad. Excellent use of emotions.

    • shanyns said,

      September 14, 2011 at 9:23 pm

      Thank you for coming by, and leaving your comment. It is sad, and yet it is happy too because now it is okay to have some of the fun that was missed!

  3. tigerbrite said,

    September 14, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    This poem took me back to my childhood in Somerset. Dear Me.
    An elegant and peaceful piece. thank you.

    • shanyns said,

      September 14, 2011 at 9:56 pm

      Thank you for coming by, and leaving your words. I’m glad you enjoyed Dear Me.

  4. September 14, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Beautiful!!!! 🙂

  5. dswan2 said,

    September 15, 2011 at 2:12 am

    Ah, we are sisters, you and I. And yes, we survived and grew stronger and more compassionate for our childhood! God works all things for good to those who love Him. And He watches those little girls. Yes He does!

    • shanyns said,

      September 15, 2011 at 2:30 pm

      Donna we are indeed sisters! God works wonderfully for His children, and watches over us as we play like we should have been able to before!

  6. Old Raven said,

    September 15, 2011 at 2:29 am

    This was deeply touching … it was perfect.

  7. shawnacy said,

    September 15, 2011 at 6:35 am

    mmmm… so much here.
    and such brave words. applause and solidarity.

    *bites lip… i wonder if i have the guts to write to me…

    • shanyns said,

      September 15, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      Shawnacy – thank you for coming by and sharing your thoughts. We stand together and we can take courage from each other, I know you an write to you. You are waiting…what are you going to say? Hugs!

  8. September 15, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    What a brilliant idea to write a letter-poem to yourself. This is pure inspirational writing. Thank you for sharing on Real Toads.

  9. Laurie Kolp said,

    September 15, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    The ending really packs a punch.

    • shanyns said,

      September 16, 2011 at 12:02 am

      Laurie – it does. When I wrote it I actually started with that knowing it was the ending, and then I worked backwards to the beginning. Strange how some poems are born.

  10. Kay Davies said,

    September 16, 2011 at 12:48 am

    This is such a good idea. When we are small, we cannot reassure ourselves, but we can do it later, and you have done it well.
    — K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  11. September 16, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    THIS is FANTASTIC. Yes, you survived, and now you thrive. I love this letter to yourself so much!

    • shanyns said,

      September 16, 2011 at 3:38 pm

      Sherry *smiles* thanks for your enthusiastic comment! Yes I did survive and I’m blessed to be thriving! So glad you stopped by.

  12. September 19, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    You are an inspiration. I just finished reading your poem to your husband. You are a true survivor. Hugs!

    • shanyns said,

      September 19, 2011 at 11:44 pm

      Thank you for coming by and leaving me such loving and encouraging words. 🙂 Scar clan members do recognize each other don’t they?

  13. Ella said,

    September 20, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I wish I could give you a hug! The though of childhood stolen saddens me~ This was amazing~ I love these lines:
    Dear Me,
    I love you, ya know?
    Scars and rough spots.
    Places that always seem sore,
    that ache that doesn’t fade.
    I love it all because, you and me
    we survived. We are alive.

    • shanyns said,

      September 20, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      Thanks for the hug Ella, one back for you ((((((Ella))))))! Thank you for coming by and sharing your favorite lines.

  14. Pat Cegan said,

    September 21, 2011 at 2:04 am

    I, too, love the idea of writing ourselves a letter. All too often we fail to give ourselves credit for our strength, our perseverance, kindness, faith, honesty, etc. All the good parts of ourselves, seeing only the parts we do not like. And the saying that it is hard to love others when we do not love ourselves is something we need to pay attention to. Good for you for writing this lovely poem, for yourself and for all with whom you shared it. For helping us to remember who we are at our essence. Hugs, pat

    • shanyns said,

      September 21, 2011 at 2:07 pm

      Pat – thank you so much for coming by, I’m looking forward to getting to know you better through our blogs 🙂 Your words encourage me thanks!

  15. Wyoming Diva said,

    September 27, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    This is an incredible poem – deep and honest!


Leave a Reply

