Raven Musings

from Magpie Tales Prompt

Have you ever wondered, watching them fly,

how ravens see themselves?

Soaring high, tipping wings and darkening the sky,

do they cry for joy in flight or do they laugh?

Do they tip their eyes towards us and wonder why

we spend so much time on the ground?

When the ravens come to visit me here, sigh,

I have to wonder what they see.

I know when I see them, I want to fly!

Spread my wings and soar.

Darkly laughing in their way, low down, up high,

Clever corvid, black winged muse.

2011 copyright Shanyn Silinski

22 Comments

  1. September 26, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    What a good poem. I love ravens. I also love how you rhymed the odd lines, instead of the even ones. The picture also perfectly goes with the poem.

    • shanyns said,

      September 26, 2011 at 3:13 pm

      Sophia – thanks for coming by, and I’m glad you liked it. I was trying for something different, glad it worked! πŸ™‚

  2. Martin said,

    September 26, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    “Soaring high, tipping wings and darkening the sky…” Don’t they, just?

    • shanyns said,

      September 26, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      They do! And I love that they live so close to me πŸ™‚

  3. brian said,

    September 26, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    to fly asa bird is one ofmy oldest dreams…their laughter on high mocks.me…smiles. nicely penned…

    • shanyns said,

      September 26, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      Brian – it is one of my oldest dreams too! So glad my poem brought you some smiles. Thank you for stopping by!

  4. tess kincaid said,

    September 26, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Nice write…I want to fly…

    • shanyns said,

      September 26, 2011 at 9:32 pm

      Tess – thank you! So glad you came by, nice to see you here.

  5. Helen said,

    September 26, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    With an emphasis on the raven — nicely done!!!

    • shanyns said,

      September 26, 2011 at 9:31 pm

      Thank you Helen! πŸ™‚ and I’m glad to see you, thanks for stopping by!

  6. tigerbrite said,

    September 27, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Nice piece. So right for the photo prompt. She looks as though she wants to fly with the raven.

    • shanyns said,

      September 27, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      Thank you! I thought the same thing when I saw the image – I want to fly!

  7. Jo Bryant said,

    September 27, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    it makes me want to take to the sky

  8. Isabel Doyle said,

    September 28, 2011 at 6:46 am

    soaring lines

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2011 at 1:13 pm

      Thank you! Great to see you here, thanks for stopping by.

  9. Mike Patrick said,

    September 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    I loved all the internal rhymes, and a great theme to draw from the photo prompt. Reminded me of when I read Jonathan Livingston Seagull; a must read if you really want to know the feeling of flying.

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      Mike – thank you! Great of you to stop by, and yes Jonathan Livingston Seagull is a great one for flying. Another is by David Eddings – his descriptions of flight are wonderful!

  10. September 29, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Such great imagery! I have to say, ravens are on my list right now πŸ˜‰ They woke us at the crack of dawn with their incessant cawing when we were camping. IT was awful πŸ™‚ Oh to be a bird. Wouldn’t it be fantastic if in heaven, we got the ability to see things as the animals do? Or at least to fly?

    • shanyns said,

      September 29, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      Mel – my one fervent wish is to be able to fly when we are in heaven! Fly! Fly! Ravens have fun with our dogs, and steal toys here. Naughty, clever birds. Thanks for coming by!

  11. September 30, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I thought I had noted this one.
    I truly believe in another lifetime, I knew the thrill of free flight. In my mind’s eye, I just can ‘feel’ how it feels to lift feathers and preen. So sift through them all and flutter them back into place. To feel the sun on my wings and body, the air in my face and beneath wings. Yes, I believe I once flew.
    I’m sure you will, too. Lovely!

    • shanyns said,

      September 30, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      Isn’t that a great feeling? To be able to imagine so completely flight! Thank you for sharing that, and for coming by.


Leave a Reply

