Mirror, Mirror

Mirror, mirror on the wall.

Can’t you stop the bullshit?

Don’t reflect the things no one

but me can see, that’s just wrong.

 

She’s got it going on, look at her.

Natural beauty and grace.

She really is confident and wow

can you believe she did that?!

 

Rear view mirror, side view too.

Stop with the flash backs already.

I know I suck, and I know I failed.

Trying is what I do best, you know.

 

I count on her, he says, she is my rock.

Mama, wife, friend, mentor and pal.

He sings, “Smokin hot wife” alongΒ 

with his ipod and smiles a silly smile.

 

Smashed and broken mirror, pieces on the floor.

Take your seven years of bad luck

and apply the credit you owe to me.

I’ve got more on you than one mirror!

 

You have a lovely home, your food is great.

You are a super family, so cool.

Fences fixed, flowers weeded and

salsa in the freezer to share. Yum.

 

Old mirrors, backs peeling off,

those I like, imperfect in their

reflecting they seem to see a bit

more of me that is real, I like it.

 

We are what we are, thanks though.

It is sweet of you to say but really

it’s just the way we do things.

Nothing special, just us three.

 

Mirror, mirror take that!

Noseprints from the dog,

finger painted on with toothpaste.

No more false reflections.

 

I wonder if this is the real me.

I wonder if mirrors ever tell the truth.

I wonder if the poles will ever meet.

I wonder if there is another world there.

I love this life, even if it isn’t as it seems.

I live this life, even if the mirrors lie.

 

Copyright 2011 Shanyn Silinski

For emmett and dverse:Β http://dversepoets.com/2011/10/27/meeting-the-bar-critique-and-craft-conflation/

 

44 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    October 27, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    nice…almost like a couple voices going on in the intalicized sections…not a big fan of mirrors personally….i think there are things only we see when we look in them and they leave a pale reflection…

    • shanyns said,

      October 27, 2011 at 10:49 pm

      Thanks Brian, I’m glad what I was attempting worked! I was trying to use both my inner voice and the voice of my outer life. Thanks for coming by and for your comment!

  2. tashtoo said,

    October 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I have tried to tackle the mirror’s lie…even to the point that I was one of those ones who would tape affirmations to them and repeat them over and over louder than the voice shouting at me….the things we do to try to make it shut up! Thought the write fantastic…hence my babble!

    • shanyns said,

      October 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

      I didn’t think it was a babble! I’ve tried the taped to the mirror stuff too. So far the only things that have lasted are the outhouse jokes. The rest is finger, nose and sticker prints from child and dogs. Thanks so much for coming by, I appreciate it.

  3. hobgoblin2011 said,

    October 27, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    Nice write. Love the consistency and repetition throughout the piece, and your seemingly inner coping, dialogue. Great job, thanks for the read

    • shanyns said,

      October 27, 2011 at 10:56 pm

      Thanks for coming by, and I appreciate your comment. It is very much my usual coping dialogue. Although sometimes I’m more kind and others less πŸ™‚

  4. October 27, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    We do this to ourselves, don’t we? I agree that the use of italics works well.

    • shanyns said,

      October 27, 2011 at 10:55 pm

      We do indeed! I try not to but sometimes it just doesn’t work. Thanks for your comment, and I’m glad the italics worked.

  5. Seek the Sun said,

    October 27, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    I like this a lot. I often feel like the person I see in the mirror is completely different than how others see me. I see all my failures and imperfections. Maybe I should stop looking in mirrors.

    • shanyns said,

      October 27, 2011 at 10:52 pm

      I agree! I try to avoid mirrors when they make me see things like that! Thanks for coming by!

  6. October 27, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    Something I can relate to – which mirror in the house shows the real me as I look different in all. I guess life is like that, all the different us and perhaps we really don’t know where the truth lies.

    (Brilliant write by the way!)

    Anna :o]

    • shanyns said,

      October 27, 2011 at 11:51 pm

      Anna – thanks for coming by and leaving your thoughts. I think sometimes the truth whispers between us and the reflection. But can we hear it or see it? Sometimes not so much.

  7. Heaven said,

    October 27, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    I like the two voices… one we see, and the other one we show the world… each verses are contrasting each other, yet mirroring the lies at the end.

    Nice share ~

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 12:07 am

      Thanks! I appreciate you coming by and leaving your thoughts. That is so true, that we have one voice we hear alone and the other the world hears. Sometimes they are so different, aren’t they?

  8. October 28, 2011 at 12:01 am

    Oh there is so much going on behind closed doors and the painted facade some folks portray. Very nice write.

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 12:07 am

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ There is a lot that goes on behind faces and facades.

  9. manicddaily said,

    October 28, 2011 at 12:18 am

    Wonderful irony! Great dialogue/back and forth/interweave. K.

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 12:35 am

      Thanks! πŸ™‚ So glad you stopped by and I appreciate your comment too.

  10. Nick Rolynd said,

    October 28, 2011 at 1:23 am

    I love all the interplay of the different strains of thought and voices. Great piece!

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 2:19 am

      Nick – thanks for coming by and I appreciate your comment!

  11. Ruth said,

    October 28, 2011 at 1:27 am

    Love this – and oh I can relate to it so well… although I think the worst is over. I have a poem somewhere (probably last year sometime) I wrote in response to a Magpie prompt – not only do mirrors lie, but no two seem to agree on which particular lie to tell. πŸ™‚

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 2:19 am

      Ruth – thanks for stopping by and for your comment. I appreciate it. I agree, mirrors lie and they don’t agree on their lies either!

  12. October 28, 2011 at 2:20 am

    I add my voice to those who have commented on how well the two voices worked together. The cadence of this piece moves this reader down the page in a most satisfying pace. As to mirrors, I love the stories they tell.

    Thanks for this lovely poem.

    Namaste………cj

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 2:50 am

      Thank you CJ for coming by and for your comment πŸ™‚ Great to see you here!

  13. Margaret said,

    October 28, 2011 at 2:24 am

    How we see ourself and how others see us… very intriguing! You did quite well with this prompt.

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 2:49 am

      Thank you Margaret! Great to see you here, and you are so right. How we see us and how others see us can vary, a lot!

  14. Laurie Kolp said,

    October 28, 2011 at 2:47 am

    I am familiar with the mirror battle, too. It seems as I age it gets worse. Great job!

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 2:51 am

      Thanks for coming by Laurie! The mirror battle, it is one I watched two generations of women battle and it freaked me out. Still freaks me out some but I think I’ve got it somewhat on the run! πŸ™‚

  15. claudia said,

    October 28, 2011 at 3:50 am

    great how inner and outer voice flow together in this piece…the mirror..giving only blurred reflection..the questions…much enjoyed shanyns..

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      Claudia – thanks for your comment, and I appreciate you stopping by. Sometimes I think the old mirrors are kindest πŸ™‚ They are more fuzzy!

  16. October 28, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Mirrors lie…they don’t give you the whole picture. Love the way you tackled this…that inner dilemma.

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      Dianne – those mirrors lie like crazy, don’t they? Thanks for your comment and for stopping by.

  17. October 28, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    So relatable, emotionally honest, and well said. Thank you!

    • shanyns said,

      October 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      Anna – thank you! Great to have you come by.

  18. zongrik said,

    October 28, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I thought this was funny. I like this view of life.

    BTW, thanks for subscribing to my blog. I appreciate it greatly.

    • shanyns said,

      October 29, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      You are welcome! Thanks for coming by, and leaving a comment. I find a lot of funny (both ha ha and strange) in life! Glad you liked my view.

  19. Mama Zen said,

    October 28, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    Wow. I really felt this.

    • shanyns said,

      October 29, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      Thanks! πŸ™‚ Great to see you here, thanks for coming by.

  20. Shawna said,

    October 29, 2011 at 4:07 am

    “Trying is what I do best, you know.” Nice. I hear ya on that one. πŸ™‚

    Brilliant ending line: “I live this life, even if the mirrors lie.”

    • shanyns said,

      October 29, 2011 at 3:52 pm

      Shawna – thanks for coming by, and I’m glad you found something that resonated for you in the poem.

  21. Lisa Bogle said,

    October 29, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    As usual, this is brilliant. I too face the battle of the mirror. Actually, I just avoid them; that way they can’t lie to me! πŸ˜€

    • shanyns said,

      October 29, 2011 at 7:12 pm

      Lisa – great to see you! I avoid the mirror too…as much as I can!

  22. November 7, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Shanyns … as I approached this poem and saw your photo, immediately within I said: “wow she has an inner glow that simply projects across the universe. Ah mirrors … they can be difficult can they not. Your poem was like a whirlwind of crashing through high grasses on foot. I enjoyed it immensely. Thank you so much for subscribing to my new blog. I appreciate the support. Liz

    • shanyns said,

      November 8, 2011 at 3:05 pm

      Liz – thank you so much! Your words encourage me and I love your blog.


Leave a Reply

