Alien Eyes

What if you read the world through another sense?  What about smell? What would your world look like then?  From a challenge at dVerse

Alien Eyes

Sniff sniff I can smell their fear.

Sniff sniff I can smell their hope.

I can smell their desires seeping

through their unfurred thin skins.

 

Head cocked I can hear their hearts.

Head tilted I can hear their breath.

I can hear their nervous swallow

down from a dry weak mouth.

 

Whiskers twitch I sense their heat.

Whiskers twitch I sense their pain.

I can sense their body changing

from waiting to fighting to flight.

 

My eyes don’t see so well.

I don’t get these wild patterns

and colors they wear and wave.

 

My eyes don’t see so well.

I don’t understand their need

to be changing their shape.

 

My senses, alien and strong,

capture what they think

they are hiding from me

but they only

hide it  from

themselves.

copyright 2012 Shanyn Silinski

28 Comments

  1. claudia said,

    February 2, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    i think you can definitely smell fear… hiding from ourselves…nice…that’s what we do at times.. and we need some aliens to tell us..

    • shanyns said,

      February 2, 2012 at 9:48 pm

      Thanks for coming by, what a neat challenge you gave us! 🙂

  2. Chazzy Chazz said,

    February 2, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    A little more here, perhaps, than the familiar trope of how an alien might see, sense, experience us. As in many a good scifi film, it’s not always about what the aliens say about themselves but what their presence tells us about ourselves.

  3. tashtoo said,

    February 2, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    Great play with the prompt today! I have to admit, it left me a little stumped. Love the progression to the finish, and the traits as taken in by your alien senses. Fun with the prompt, but you deliver some pretty serious messages to the species at the same time.

    • shanyns said,

      February 2, 2012 at 11:51 pm

      Glad you caught that 🙂 Thanks for stopping by…

  4. ~L said,

    February 2, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    awesome poem for the prompt… very creative!

    ~L

  5. brian miller said,

    February 2, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    how intriguing it would be to be able to see other peoples fears and worries….i think in some cases you can but….and to hear the heartbeats…very cool take on the prompt…

    • shanyns said,

      February 2, 2012 at 11:50 pm

      Thanks Brian, I always imagined that an alien visitor would have more senses like wolf or lion, rather than our limited use of ours. It was a fun prompt.

  6. Laurie Kolp said,

    February 3, 2012 at 1:44 am

    Vivid and intense… you had me feeling these words.

    http://lkkolp.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/spaceships/

  7. Mama Zen said,

    February 3, 2012 at 2:01 am

    I love the approach you took for this. Great ending!

    • shanyns said,

      February 3, 2012 at 2:06 am

      Thanks! 🙂 I enjoyed that prompt. Thanks for coming by!

  8. S.E.Ingraham said,

    February 3, 2012 at 2:44 am

    good take – pretty much how I imagine we might seem to others also …

    • shanyns said,

      February 3, 2012 at 4:56 am

      Thanks for coming by, and that was my thought as well!

  9. Semaphore said,

    February 3, 2012 at 2:47 am

    This is an excellent interpretation of today’s theme, seeing things through alien senses. Glad I raised my periscope on this landscape!

    • shanyns said,

      February 3, 2012 at 4:55 am

      I’m so glad you stopped by. I often think we are only as alien as we let our selves be in any place we go…

  10. February 3, 2012 at 4:19 am

    Hiding ourselves…that’s so true…this could say so much about our history in being the aliens in newly discovered lands…misunderstandings and fear…the waiting to fight or flight. Nice poem!

    • shanyns said,

      February 3, 2012 at 4:55 am

      Thanks…great comment, sure appreciate you coming by and sharing!

  11. Gay said,

    February 3, 2012 at 5:06 am

    The differences are striking in your poem and the stream of consciousness gives us the viewpoint of exploration, curiosity, and understanding. Well done.

    • shanyns said,

      February 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      Thank you for coming by, I appreciate your comment!

  12. David King said,

    February 3, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Wonderful and wonderfully different. For me it all crystallised around

    My eyes don’t see so well.

    I don’t understand their need

    to be changing their shape.

    • shanyns said,

      February 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      Thanks David! For me it was those that tied it together – no matter how we change how we look we still act, smell and behave the same. So strange.

  13. nickrolynd said,

    February 3, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Very nice. I love how the speaker can sense so many odd things. =)

  14. marousia said,

    February 4, 2012 at 4:09 am

    Love this – so pleased I came to your blog – I shall be back, that’s for sure.

    • shanyns said,

      February 4, 2012 at 11:29 pm

      So glad you came, looking forward to seeing you stop by again!


Leave a Reply

