Sandman

Sandman, Sandman bring me a dream…

Ride your rainbow bicycle to the portal.

Wear that smile that knows what my psyche needs.

Sandman, Sandman bring me a dream…

Send it on brightly shining beams from a desert booth.

Wear that old hat that used to carry your sand.

Sandman, Sandman bring me a dream…

You are old and lazy now, dialing it in.

Wearing your age like a baggy jacket.

Sandman, Sandman bring me a dream…

On second thought, maybe just leave it be.

Send me sleep instead, I’m really too tired to play.

Written when I really couldn’t sleep…copyright 2012 Shanyn Silinski. Thanks Magpie Tales!

4 Comments

  1. Zoe said,

    February 22, 2012 at 6:42 am

    This is fun. I love how you wove the sandman into the prompt – it has a dreamlike feel to it itself. πŸ™‚ Sometimes, it is good not to be able to sleep…. πŸ™‚

    • shanyns said,

      February 22, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      Zoe – thanks. I was in a bit of a mood so maybe no sleeping wasn’t all bad! It did get some poetry growing.

  2. February 22, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    Nice reading in this. I write better in the hold of insomnia – he’s not as bad as some call him………

    • shanyns said,

      February 22, 2012 at 9:26 pm

      Helena – you are right. He isn’t that bad, you just can’t take him too seriously! πŸ™‚ Great that you came by.


Leave a Reply

