1999

We waited for years to party like it was 1999.

A decade after grad, and the year of my freedom

from the dead weight of a deadly marriage.

 

1999 the first year of new beginnings and

the last of the old millenium to be shed.

First sips of Dom Perignon at New Years.

 

Fighting fires, helping lost kids on their way back.

Feeling freedom and dancing on the prairies.

Driving the ’66 red New Yorker that hated me.

 

I had my ‘lost years’ behind me and was done.

Finding my voice again, my art, my poetry.

Dancing in lightness of mind, body and spirit.

 

Writing again, finding my words and my soul.

Dredging the depths of old despair for newness.

Washing me clean by walking miles and miles.

 

1999 was an interesting year, not how we imagined it would be when Prince sang that classic party anthem, but good none the less!  Copyright 2012 Shanyn Silinski.

Linking up on dVerse for the 1999 Challenge.

18 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    March 11, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    good to finding the own voice again after a difficult time and being able to do what you really wanted to do.. think all of us have some of those lost years somewhere in their record… but good when they’re over and one can dance again..

    • shanyns said,

      March 11, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      So true Claudia, so true! I just got done reading at your blog. Thanks for your sharing. So glad we are both here to write, dance and live!

  2. Shawna said,

    March 11, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Oh, that last line is so good.

    Love these visuals as well:
    “Fighting fires, helping lost kids on their way back.
    Feeling freedom and dancing on the prairies.”

    Cheers to putting your lost years behind you and embracing those you’ve found and claimed as your own, pressing on as your “true self,” dancing all the while.

    • shanyns said,

      March 11, 2012 at 5:04 pm

      Shawna – thanks for coming by and celebrating with me! So glad you enjoyed your read.

  3. Mary said,

    March 11, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    Shan, I really enjoyed your poem. It sounded like 1999 was some kind of rebirth year for you, that you left the lost years and now ‘found yourself. I love that picture of you and your dog, by the way! These 1999 poems all have been quite a journey….thanks for sharing yours.

    • shanyns said,

      March 11, 2012 at 7:15 pm

      Mary – thanks! It really was that kind of year for me. I’m so glad you enjoyed the poem.

  4. brian miller said,

    March 11, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    its pretty amazing for how many of us this year was a turning point…that is really cool to me…i am glad you found new life that year…smiles…my lost years were behind me then as well…but i had them

    • shanyns said,

      March 12, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      Brian, I think sometimes the trick with the lost years is to let them go! 🙂 and this poem reminded me of all that I did let go which let me move forward…it is really cool as I read the poems how many of us were at turning points right then. Pretty cool stuff. Thanks for coming by my friend!

  5. March 11, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    Strange how we all imagine how and where life ought to take us, and, looking back, how very different it all became.
    Lovely prose.

    • shanyns said,

      March 12, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      How true! I wrote this very conversationally because it was hard to wax poetic on that time, but I’m glad you enjoyed it and it worked! Great that you stopped by.

  6. butterflybiblestudies said,

    March 11, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Shanyn, Keep On Dancing~Your steps are inspiring!!!!! Pam Mosher

    • shanyns said,

      March 12, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      Pam – you always make me smile! Thanks! I’ll not stop dancing…because I love the music. Thanks for the encouragement, never thought of the steps as inspiring.

  7. Grace said,

    March 11, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    What a journey you shared with us….it was the turning point for me as well ~

    I am happy to see find your way…and nice picture of you and your dog ~

    • shanyns said,

      March 12, 2012 at 4:10 pm

      Grace – so glad you came by, and I’m glad I dug up a picture of me and Shiloh. So glad you stopped by and that we both found our way!

  8. March 11, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    A very positive poem about ridding yourself of dead wood. My old cars don’t like me either:)

    • shanyns said,

      March 12, 2012 at 4:12 pm

      Thanks for coming by, and yes getting rid of dead wood is always a good thing! That old car seemed to have a life of its own and it hated me! LOL…

  9. Mama Zen said,

    March 12, 2012 at 12:59 am

    “I had my ‘lost years’ behind me and was done.” I love that line, and I know that feeling!

    • shanyns said,

      March 12, 2012 at 4:12 pm

      Mama Zen – so glad you enjoyed the read, and I thought you might know that feeling! Great to see you stop by.


Leave a Reply

