Where are you

From Magpie Tales prompt.

Is that you that I see, dimly, upon this treacherous path?

Is that you that I can hear, faintly, calling me to catch up?

Where are you? Why aren’t you here to hold my hand?

Why am I stumbling, falling, when you move so fast?

Why am I reaching, weakly, bloodied palms for you?

Where are you?  Why am I doing this all alone?

How did we get here, this place, of wildness and shadow?

Where did we go so off the track, the safe track, to be here?

Where are you? I can’t see you know, can’t hear you!

Lord, my wounded heart prays, my soul weeps for You.

Lord, my fears surround me and the demons drag me down.

Lord, where are You? I can’t see You ahead of me, where are You?

What is this weight that lifts from my shoulders? Who is there?

There you are? Here? Beside me! You didn’t leave me at all?

The shadows of my fears hid You, I thought I was alone.

I forgot to look beside me, I forgot that You never run ahead.

I forgot to reach out beside me, I forgot You never leave me.

Lord, here you are. Always. For ever. Never changing.

2012 copyright Shanyn Silinski

22 Comments

  1. Maiya said,

    March 14, 2012 at 12:19 am

    I can relate to this. It tugged at my heart. Beautifully written. Soul stirring my friend.

    • shanyns said,

      March 14, 2012 at 12:42 am

      Maiya, thanks for coming by and I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

  2. brian miller said,

    March 14, 2012 at 12:21 am

    smiles…often we let our emotions cloud our ability to see the divine was right there the whole time…and sometimes even our desire to have someone take the blame…and what easier target than god…who wont fight back

    • shanyns said,

      March 14, 2012 at 12:41 am

      🙂 You are wise Brian, so very wise! I’ve been guilty of running ahead, yelling over my shoulder, “Lead me Lord!”…thanks for coming by and for sharing your thoughts. Always great to see you!

  3. Heaven said,

    March 14, 2012 at 12:44 am

    Very meaningful…I specially like:

    The shadows of my fears hid You, I thought I was alone.
    I forgot to look beside me, I forgot that You never run ahead.

    I forgot to reach out beside me, I forgot You never leave me.
    Lord, here you are. Always. For ever. Never changing.

    Yes, He is always with us.

    • shanyns said,

      March 14, 2012 at 1:04 am

      So glad you found words for your spirit and heart. Thank you for coming by.

  4. Zoe said,

    March 14, 2012 at 12:53 am

    My favourite verse is “I will never leave you nor forsake you” -so this poem just sung to me. 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      March 14, 2012 at 1:05 am

      Zoe – I’m so glad you stopped by and even more glad that it sang to you!

  5. March 14, 2012 at 12:53 am

    Sometimes when all is well with us and our world, we forget to whom we owe our gratitude. Sometimes we forget to speak to our God when we’re happy and content with life and I think it would be so nice to speak our thoughts and say how grateful we are for all that we have instead of always trying to make bargains with God. “If you do just this for me, I swear I will do blah, blah’
    This is a lovely reminder of whom we all owe so much.

    • shanyns said,

      March 14, 2012 at 1:06 am

      You are so right, being thankful in all things can be hard to remember when you are riding high, and when things are rough it is hard to remember we are not alone. Great that you stopped by and I appreciate your comment. So glad you enjoyed the read.

  6. Laurie Kolp said,

    March 14, 2012 at 2:14 am

    Really beautiful reminder that we are never alone.

    • shanyns said,

      March 14, 2012 at 2:24 am

      Laurie – thank you for coming by and I’m really glad you enjoyed the poem.

  7. claudia said,

    March 14, 2012 at 5:44 am

    yep…often when we don’t see his footsteps not anymore walking next to us, it is because he carries us…i like how you capture the doubts and the angst…but then also the knowing that he would not leave…

    • shanyns said,

      March 14, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      Claudia – so glad you enjoyed the read, and I’m always happy to see you stop by!

  8. Janaki Nagaraj said,

    March 14, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Wonderful.

  9. Pam M. said,

    March 14, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    Seems I’m not the only one walking that road lately. What a beautiful poem, and the picture that goes with it is perfect. Thank you so much — what a wonderful gift you have, Shanyn!

    Blessings to you and your family,
    Pam

    • shanyns said,

      March 14, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      Pam – thank you for blessing me with your words, and thank you for stopping by.

  10. Earl said,

    March 14, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    excellent job as per usual Shanyn, I love you

    • shanyns said,

      March 15, 2012 at 1:11 am

      Earl – thank you dear, I love you too! So glad you stopped by 🙂

  11. zongrik said,

    March 14, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    it’s a modern day prayer!!

    depth of field


Leave a Reply

