Tanka Trio

I

Loving you is easy.

Some days near and some afar.

Missing you is pain.

Some days missing you going,

Some days missing you long gone.

 

II

Streams are thawing,

Trees bare limb’d ache to leaf.

Birds come, earth wakes.

Dirty feet and paws leave tracks

Floors lose the battle for clean.

 

III

She aches to dance

music moves her body and soul.

He sits by, unmoved.

Wonder who will regret it

more – her dance or his stillness?

 

linking up with the marvelous ย Grace at With Real Toads for the Tanka Challenge.

19 Comments

  1. March 15, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    Fabulous, Shanyn. I love “Trees bare limb’d ache to leaf”! I can believe the bare-limbed trees really do ache to open their leaves. Beautiful.
    K

    • shanyns said,

      March 15, 2012 at 11:08 pm

      Kay – thank you! I think they ache to leaf as well…I would! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you stopped by.

  2. Grace said,

    March 15, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    Very nice set…I specially like the last one ~ nice contrast of stillness and dancing ~

    Heaven

  3. Earl said,

    March 16, 2012 at 1:07 am

    Very good poem Shanyn!! I miss you as much as the trees miss their leaves

    • shanyns said,

      March 16, 2012 at 1:42 am

      Earl – I miss you too, and that was a very poetic line love! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. ella said,

    March 16, 2012 at 4:18 am

    I too love the imagery and the ideas you shared~
    I love this line, too “Trees bare limbโ€™d ache to leaf”
    Well Done

    • shanyns said,

      March 16, 2012 at 2:16 pm

      Ella – I think the trees ache to leaf in spring. I enjoyed this form. Glad you enjoyed your read, great that you stopped by.

  5. March 16, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Although each tanka works as a single unit, there seems to be a common thread running through all three: the state of relationships between partners and with the world around us. I really liked this set.

    • shanyns said,

      March 16, 2012 at 2:13 pm

      Kerry – thanks for coming by, and I’m so pleased you enjoyed the set. Yes they all share a common thread, glad you noticed! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Marian said,

    March 16, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    very nice! my favorite is “floors lose the battle for clean.” ah, mud season!

    • shanyns said,

      March 16, 2012 at 5:20 pm

      Oh yes they do lose every spring and fall! Thanks so much for coming by.

  7. March 17, 2012 at 3:00 am

    Oh! Number three is exquisite Shan! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • shanyns said,

      March 17, 2012 at 2:09 pm

      Hannah – thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ So glad you enjoyed. Great you stopped by.

  8. Margaret said,

    March 17, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    The first one really describes a long distant relationship or someone who travels a lot – the “long gone” makes me think it might be over ?

    The second is clever as you bring the outside in. I love my wood floors, but some summer days, the dirt, sand, etc. do me in. And this line: “Trees bare limbโ€™d ache to leaf” was truly inspired!

    Wonder who will regret it more carries SUCH a punch!

    All three well done!

    • shanyns said,

      March 18, 2012 at 2:55 am

      Margaret – thanks so much for commenting and sharing what you got from the poems. I love reading everyone’s perspective. Appreciate you coming by. All have a bit of truth with some poetic license. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

