Barbed Wire Hollow

No smooth wire here in Barbed Wire Hollow.

It is all straight posts and wicked hooked steel.

Rough ground to walk, no paths to follow.

No smooth wire here.

 

Women work, they cut, they bleed and they heal.

Hearts weep and dreams fly wild – a barn swallow.

Calloused hands pull tight, the bite of barbs they feel.

 

No one escapes the scars here in Barbed Wire Hollow.

It is all closed range now, fates fenced in by barbed steel.

In dreams my hands safely trace the smooth wire flow.

No smooth wire here.

 

For Real Toads, an attempt at a Roundel. ย Inspired by my fencing forays and my intense passionate dislike of barbed wire!

29 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    May 10, 2012 at 2:15 am

    thanks for linking it at dverse as well…smiles…i know barb wire all too well…got a 15 inch scar down my right leg from it…well might want to add in some stupidity as well but….

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 2:27 am

      Brian – it ain’t fencing if I’m not bleeding it seems, but my big scar is on the left leg! Glad you liked it, and that you could relate is super cool! Thanks for coming by my friend.

  2. hedgewitch said,

    May 10, 2012 at 2:36 am

    Very …piercing! ;_) Seriously, I’ve worked with barbed wire (or bob wire, as I used to think it was called, city slicker that I am) and it’s hard on the hands–but you’ve carried it a bit further here and done some fine work with metaphor.

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 4:31 pm

      Bobbed wire, barbed wire or bob wire – it’s all good! ๐Ÿ™‚ It is tricky to work with, and I have found it is a symbol for so many things in life. Thanks for coming by!

  3. ManicDdaily said,

    May 10, 2012 at 3:21 am

    Very well-done, piercing but matter of fact. K.

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 4:31 pm

      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ It came to me while I was out fencing and I had to try and remember it for when we got done!

      • ManicDdaily said,

        May 10, 2012 at 4:49 pm

        I find an iPhone increasingly handy for poems as I can use the note thing to type it up–of course a notebook or index cards are pretty darn good, but given my day job (lawyer), I tend to be tethered to iPhone for email. k.

      • shanyns said,

        May 10, 2012 at 8:33 pm

        another reason to get an iPhone I think!

  4. Marian said,

    May 10, 2012 at 3:40 am

    i love the roundel form, just love it. your interpretation is gorgeous, really.

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      Marian – thank you so much! ๐Ÿ™‚ You made my day.

  5. gardenlilie said,

    May 10, 2012 at 3:42 am

    Yeah. My barbwire memories are of the farm, my cousins place and sometimes it was turned on as in electric.I like the barbed wire hollow.

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      Thanks for coming by…electric fences are an entirely different beast, aren’t they?

      • gardenlilie said,

        May 10, 2012 at 7:38 pm

        Oh, you just made me laugh, esp. when you are 8, 9, or 10 and forget they are on and your older cousin tells you that bulls/cows are attracted to red and there’s red in your shirt, yikes.

      • shanyns said,

        May 10, 2012 at 8:28 pm

        Oh yes that would do it, wouldn’t it?

  6. claudia said,

    May 10, 2012 at 4:00 am

    barbed wire always makes me think of the wall that divided germany..of keeping someone out or in, of borders that are no longer possible to be crossed…so you sent my mind on quite a trip with your poem today..

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 4:35 pm

      Claudia you are so right. Barbed wire really has changed our world in many ways, from the open range to battle fields to borders and compounds even to tattoos! I hope your mind trip was not all unpleasant! Thanks for coming by.

  7. May 10, 2012 at 4:17 am

    Wow, this has just the right beat and words for capturing the feeling of this image especially, Shanyns. I really like this bit:

    “Women work, they cut, they bleed and they heal.

    Hearts weep and dreams fly wild โ€“ a barn swallow.

    Calloused hands pull tight, the bite of barbs they feel.”

    Strong, emotive words here! Great form, excellent job!

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 4:36 pm

      Hannah – thank you! So glad you enjoyed the words and the form. Great to see you here, as always!

      • May 11, 2012 at 2:30 am

        You’re welcome, Shanyns! It is always a pleasure to read you!

  8. May 10, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    This is excellent. never do you miss a beat in the meter and flow of your poem, and the metaphoric meaning rings so true.

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      Kerry – thank you! The poem idea came while fencing, and then I toured through the forms to find one that fit…thanks for coming by! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Teresa said,

    May 10, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    I tried the roundel as well, but you’ve really mastered it! As much as I hate barbed wire, you’ve created a wonderful poem.

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 4:38 pm

      Teresa – thank you! I love this form, and I hope I can get better with it. Glad I’m not alone in my hatred for barbed wire!

  10. May 10, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    Barbed wire is dreadful and even more so is razor wire. I shudder to think of the terrible injuries caused by them both.
    Nicely written Shanyn

    • shanyns said,

      May 10, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      You got that right…and thanks for coming by. Glad you enjoyed the read!

  11. poemsofhateandhope said,

    May 11, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    This was so beautiful….it tugged at my heart strings (and they are buried deep!)….this just summed up the grit of life….wrapped in barbed wire – we get cut- we bleed we heal- that is raw life right there…stunning

    • shanyns said,

      May 11, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      Stu – thanks for sharing, so glad you did! Glad you came by and found something that moved you this way. Great to see you here.

  12. Beverly Nelms said,

    July 22, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    I’m so glad you post on facebook when you have something beautiful here for us to enjoy. I’m not the kind who can remember all the places I mean to go to check in with everyone. I don’t think I’ve told you yet how much I love your work.
    Thank you.

    • shanyns said,

      July 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Thanks Beverly, for the comment and for coming by to read my poetry. What a blessing to have you here! I appreciate it. See you again!


Leave a Reply

