Not A Machine

A hotrodder was a braggin’ bout his muscle car.

The ol cowboy nodded and patted his horse.

Each got a dreamy look, gazing to their steeds.

One a horse of glass and steel,

The other blood and bone.

Neither believing that

one or the other

was  just a

machine.

 

II

You’ll never convince me, I guess I’m just too old.

That gelding and me have seen too many storms.

I know I can trust him with my life, have a time or two,

And no pickup or sports car can brag of the same.

 

You can’t sell me on the idea, I’m just too stubborn.

Those trails we rode ain’t seen no gas run wheels.

No fancy computer or phone can unbrush a cow,

And no machine is gonna pull a calf or fix a fence.

 

You won’t get me off this land, it’s long been my blood.

I cannot fully trust a machine they say can ‘learn’

when I still ain’t seen enough people who even think

And there ain’t no machine gonna convince me.

 

You may not understand, ain’t easy to explain I know.

It ain’t modern some say, and others call it quaint.

You gotta grow them critters, kids and that food.

And no machine bled, loved or died for the above.

 

You think I don’t like progress, and I can see how you might,

It ain’t the progress I’m agin, it’s the forgetting I fear.

We gotta remember them roots, we gotta keep em strong.

And they don’t keep in an iPsomething or laptop, not well.

 

You can’t forget now folks, and I know you sure want to.

We can build all the machines fuel’d on petrol, water or air

computers the size of yer pinkie storing the whole world

and not one will plant a seed, grow a child or ride a horse.

 

You can love yer machines, and truly I love a few too,

but don’t forget that they is just machines in the end.

Clever, cute, rusty or rare – metal and other things

Without you to run em, they’s jus a dead machine.

 

III

Hands caress sleek skin, muscles hard.

Shined to a gloss, deeper than the ocean.

Fast, so fast it’s a blur to see it run.

And oh how you feel when you ride it!

 

Turning power, corners like a dream!

Take of, and then some, snap you back.

Stop on a dime, give you nine cents change.

One of a kind ride, made just for you!

 

Makes your heart race, doesn’t it?

I know!  You can feel it throbbing.

It’s almost a dance between you two

choreographed perfection.

 

My question is this, depends upon you.

What kind of horse power turns you on?

 

For dVerse Machines prompt…go on over now and see what the other poetic folks wrote about, you won’t be disappointed!

15 Comments

  1. claudia said,

    May 11, 2012 at 4:46 am

    smiles.. if i had a choice i would def. prefer a horse to a car…the problem is just that it surely wouldn’t want to stand all day on the company parking space and wait for me…nicely penned shan…that dance of choreographed perfection can only exist between real breathing and human beings i guess..

    • shanyns said,

      May 11, 2012 at 4:50 am

      🙂 So glad you stopped by and enjoyed it Claudia. Most horses would be eating the flowers or pooping in a convertible by the end of the day – maybe wouldn’t make you popular with your coworkers! ha ha but they can be fun!

  2. leahJlynn said,

    May 11, 2012 at 5:14 am

    i just love horses, just to think the type of horse one had . let others know what someones class was. like a Ferrari or something great, job with the twang
    http://leah-jamielynn.typepad.com

    • shanyns said,

      May 11, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Leah you are so right! Everyone knew who you were by your horse and by your rig – around the world where horses were used that holds true. So glad you stopped by and am very pleased you enjoyed the read as well!

  3. May 11, 2012 at 9:21 am

    I agree with a lot of this. Life was a whole lot more simple before we gave it all up to machines, but, technology has made life simpler in many ways but, it’s quickly leaving many unemployed as machines take over the jobs humans were doing, that’s the scary thing,
    Nice write Shanyn

    • shanyns said,

      May 11, 2012 at 12:47 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. We have a lot of really good machines, but there are times I think we forget what we have lost in that of of machinery! Thanks for coming over.

  4. brian miller said,

    May 11, 2012 at 11:13 am

    i think there is beauty in botht he horse and the muscle car….but if i had my choice i might choose the horse..there is just something romantic on riding it over the ridge that i find appealing…tomorrow i may want to fly in the muscle car but i think i will take flesh over machine…smiles…

    • shanyns said,

      May 11, 2012 at 12:48 pm

      Brian – I agree. I’m a horse loving gear head and that I can be both is kinda fun. I’d love to ride across the plains on my gelding or roar down a 2 lane highway in a classic muscle car. Either would blow my hair back, and it’s so great that we can have both! But I”ll always love my horses first. Thanks for coming by my friend!

  5. Chazinator said,

    May 11, 2012 at 11:51 am

    This really blew me away. I loved the cowboy’s speech and think there’s so much truth and wisdom in it. There are so many things we can forget in our love technology, and I hate to think that they will be forgotten and perhaps never again be known or lived. This is an excellent poem that brings up the essential aspects of being human that technology often makes us forget or not even care enough about to know that it can be lost.

    • shanyns said,

      May 11, 2012 at 12:50 pm

      I agree 100%, and it is what we lose that makes me most sad. I’m so pleased you enjoyed the read, I love bringing some cowboy poetry to the dVerse crowd now and again. Thanks for coming by.

  6. May 11, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    I love your piece contrasting the love for the machines and horse…I was specially struck with these lines:

    “not one will plant a seed, grow a child or ride a horse”

    “choreopgraphed perfection” when riding the horse

    Grace

  7. zongrik said,

    May 11, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    you make a great point when you say how can we trust a machine to learn when there are so many {stupid and stubborn} people who can’t learn

    Unemployed eyes wither in winter’s white noise.

    • shanyns said,

      May 12, 2012 at 3:39 am

      Thanks for catching that! People make me laugh when they talk about that, machines who learn, and I wonder who will teach them? Thanks for coming by.

  8. hedgewitch said,

    May 12, 2012 at 12:31 am

    I like how you argue both points of view (though from the length of the middle portion, I’d say the horse is winning) Machines have a glamor, and a usefulness, but they also have limitations that depend on a long and involved chain of support technology and energy that comes at the expense of the planet–you may say nature’s the same, but it kind of can do it all by itself, and what it uses always gets put back. ;_) Enjoyed this, Shanyn–especially the dialog.

    • shanyns said,

      May 12, 2012 at 3:40 am

      For me the horse will almost always win, even by a nose 🙂 but I do love my machines (well some of them)…so glad you enjoyed it! It is good to do that cowboy style poetry now and again. Thanks for coming by.


Leave a Reply

