Wild Things

Where the Wild Things Are!

Oh how I loved that book.

Elementary school waiting…waiting…

For my turn to read it again and again.

Dog eared pages, worn and sticky.

Little fingers making them their own.

How I loved that book!

Another generation, or two or three.

Finds themselves lost in those pages.

Their parents already have been

card carrying Wild Things a while.

They are the Mom’s and Dad’s of the story…

or are we? ย Are we not cooler ย now?

We can be grown up and still be Wild Things!

For dVerse…in memory.

28 Comments

  1. May 13, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    Oh yes, we can still be Wild Things ~

    Wishing you Happy Mother’s Day ~

    Grace

    • shanyns said,

      May 13, 2012 at 7:20 pm

      Grace – you are right! We can! And we will….thanks for coming by. Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. May 13, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    Amen to that, we can absolutely still be Wild Things! Keeps life interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

    • shanyns said,

      May 13, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      It does, doesn’t it? Thanks for stopping by Mary!

  3. poemsofhateandhope said,

    May 13, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Lovely tribute to a an awesome book that has literally shaped childhoods and maybe a few adulthoods too!

  4. brian miller said,

    May 13, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    yes we can still be grown and be wild things…ha..it is def one that has sustained its charm through out the generations…and i still enjoy it today reading it to my kids…

  5. Aaron Kent said,

    May 13, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    I can’t imagine my childhood without this book playing a part! Thank you for sharing your wonderful poem and thank you for joining the wild rumpus!

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      Aaron – thanks for coming by! Great to see you here and this book was a huge thing for me when I was young, and still is as a Mama!

  6. butterflybiblestudies said,

    May 14, 2012 at 2:04 am

    Yep! What fun, passing down…Where The Wild Things Are…Still! Pam Mosher

  7. claudia said,

    May 14, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    We can be grown up and still be Wild Things!….oh yeah….we should never stop being wild things…smiles

  8. May 14, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Brings back memories of a book that made its mark in the heart of childhood.

  9. Ruth said,

    May 14, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    of course we can! as an adult I loved the book (and as usual, was disappointed in the movie version)

  10. May 14, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    I am definitely a card carrying Wild Thing. Love this poem!

  11. Herotomost said,

    May 15, 2012 at 1:14 am

    If I ever lose my Wild Thing….I think I will actually cease to exist, in form or memory. Great tribute.

  12. Abin said,

    May 15, 2012 at 7:00 am

    its fun to keep the child in us alive…fairy tales or harry potter, I love it all.

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      Abin – you are so right! We need to do that, don’t we? Thanks for coming by.

  13. kaykuala said,

    May 15, 2012 at 9:30 am

    The Wild Thing is still relevant. Great write!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      The Wild Thing is becoming a new favorite for my son, another generation enjoying the rumpus! Yay! Thanks for coming by, glad you enjoyed the poem.

  14. Shawna said,

    May 15, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    Library days were my favorites at school. You took me back. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:43 pm

      I lived in my library Shawna – and there is nothing better than the companionship of good books! Even a poor book is better than no book!

      • Shawna said,

        May 21, 2012 at 8:45 pm

        Amen to that, girl. But a good book can change your whole life. I love when you get so close to the characters that they feel like part of your real life. But when you finish the book, it feels like you’ve lost some really special people. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • shanyns said,

        May 22, 2012 at 7:01 pm

        If I can read a book over and over, which I have a few that I do, it is a wonderful thing to visit old friends! I miss them when the book is over. Books have saved my life and my sanity many times. Nothing is a better friend than a good book.

      • Shawna said,

        May 22, 2012 at 8:17 pm

        I wholeheartedly agree.

      • shanyns said,

        May 23, 2012 at 6:59 pm

        ๐Ÿ˜€ So glad you do!

  15. Kim Nelson said,

    May 15, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    I share your sentiments!

  16. whimsygizmo said,

    May 16, 2012 at 3:28 am

    Love this! What a lovely tribute. Rumpus! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Patti said,

    May 16, 2012 at 3:39 am

    Being a Wild Thing is the best thing to be, and to pass on to our children. May we always enjoy the “wild rumpus”!

  18. margaretbednar said,

    May 16, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    Read the SAME book to all my six children… it is still in demand after 20 years (my 4 year old still loves it). Can you believe I have NOT seen the movie. I will have to soon.


Leave a Reply

