Only Two Sides

Only two sides, oh how I wish it could be true.

Then there would be room for only us two.

Just enough space for the me and the you.

Life is complicated and so wildly diverse!

How can you confine God, the universe?

Thinking this small, what could be worse?

Two sides would comfort you and me.

Don’t you understand how simple it could be?

Just right or wrong, love or hate, be or not be.

A word to the wise, and perhaps a fool or two.

You’d do well to fear more the devil that knows you

Than the one you don’t know at all,  is that enough a clue?

Life should be so simple, so easy, black and white.

Either love them or hate them, hug or fight.

Let the ties of convention bind us very tight.

I would rather live on single day knowing I was really alive.

Than to live caged, an animal in a zoo, not  living but live.

No longer wild and not ever tame –  would we really survive?

But it would be so easy, simple and neat.

No need for battles, no worry of  defeat.

Dancing for your life obsolete!

Janus saw only front and back, this is true.

But jesters and sacred clowns know and knew.

There is a whole world of in between woven through.

Give me simple, give me plain.

Green pill to laugh, red pill for pain.

I don’t want to think so hard again.

Fool! If you don’t do the thinking, someone else will!

You’ll be a slave to them, to ‘simple’ to  a life in a pill.

You are lazy, you are fearful and you are tame, maybe ill.

But I’m scared, can’t you see?

It’s a big world for little me.

I’d rather be a slave than be free.

I’ll weep for you, from  outside the city gates.

Where the wildness still lives and terror waits.

I’ll dance for you, with the clowns, jesters and fates.

For Real Toads, a challenge to write about two sides of things, which of course I not able to.  like Escher’s impossible staircase I see a multitude of sides, angles and facets to almost everything.  Written, loosely, in the style of Seuss with homage being given to all who fight for the ‘other sides’ in a two sided world!

18 Comments

  1. May 19, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed by the way you worked the rhyme into this duologue. I hope you don’t mind me pointing out an extra word (day)in stanza 3 (left column). Since you were so strict on rhyme it doesn’t seem to fit.

    • shanyns said,

      May 19, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      Thanks Kerry, I’ll go and fix that! I appreciate it, my computer was giving me grief this morning…glad you enjoyed it!

  2. May 19, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    Cleverly done, and not easy, as you managed the rhythm and rhyming very well. I especially love “where the wildness still waits and the terror lives”.

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 5:55 am

      Sherry – thank you! I love that line too! Glad you stopped by.

  3. Mary said,

    May 19, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    I like it. Wonderful rhyming verse. And so true: There definitely are more than two sides!

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 5:56 am

      Mary – 🙂 So glad you enjoyed it! There are always more than two sides! Great to see you here.

  4. May 19, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Wonderfully done, Shanyn. Your talent is many-sided.
    K

  5. May 19, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    There are so many sides, its complicated really. I like your rhyming words and format ~ Great share ~

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 5:57 am

      Glad you enjoyed the poem, and the format! Great to see you here and I agree it is always complicated.

  6. May 20, 2012 at 1:00 am

    Your ideas are really well presented here and I immediately thought Escher’s piece! Well done Shanyns!

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 5:57 am

      Hannah – thank you! I love Escher so his piece seemed to fit the words I had so well, and when I found a Lego one I couldn’t resist!

      • May 21, 2012 at 11:37 am

        So cool that you found a lego one!! Such a great artist too, I have a tiny flip book of Escher art…these little patterns that shape shift into different creatures when you flip…birds to bees to fish I think. 🙂

  7. ella said,

    May 21, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    Shanyns!
    This was great on so many levels~ I could relate to your words, in many fathoms~ I’m so impressed~ I kind feel like a clown, but I also feel the cage. Bravo 😀

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:39 pm

      Ella – thank you so much! 🙂 Great to hear your thoughts and so pleased you enjoyed the poem! Great to have you stop by.

  8. Martin said,

    May 23, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    Great how you pointed out that the world is not binary! This image by Escher as well as your poem illustrates so well that we always should keep an eye on our perspective.

    • shanyns said,

      May 24, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      Martin – thank you! I love your comment, and it is so true. Great to see you here.

  9. Claudia said,

    July 23, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    first..love the lego escher staircase… and the black or white, two sides, good or bad reminded me a bit of fairy tales..that’s the way they’re knitted, you always know..but then comes life with a multitude of facettes and shades…and it’s never easy..


Leave a Reply

