Laughing Wolves

Laugh

They laugh.

Wolves do.

At the foolish.

Border Collies, humans, and our cats too!

 

At the back fence, early morn and late eves.

How I wonder

That they can

laugh so

free.

 

Tetractys for With Real Toads – sounded Jurassic to me but this morning the wolves were laughing at the dogs, again, and I had to write about it.  Laughing wolves, you may not believe it but what else are they going to do when faced with the comic sight of a Border Collie!  We work hard to live well with the animals, wild and not so, in our area.  It has been very successful, with the exception of the cougar, and it is amazing!

20 Comments

  1. May 21, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Laughing so free…nice scene to be (as I live in the city) ~

    Wishing you a Happy Monday ~

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm

      It is a great life, out in the country. Happy Monday back atcha!

  2. May 21, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    I love the idea of wild wolves laughing at domesticated dogs. Lovely piece, Shanyn.

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:40 pm

      Kerry – their laughing at her is the only reason she is still alive I’m sure…how serious could they take her, she is a herding dog after all! 🙂 So glad you enjoyed the read.

  3. May 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    Oh my goodness, you are SO LUCKY to have the wolves so close. I lived with a wolf for fourteen years and he did have the wildest sense of humor, cracked me up all the time……..I love to picture the wolves outside your fence and har har-ing at all the domestic dogs. So cute!!!!!

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:41 pm

      Sherry – two animals that have great senses of humor are wolves and ravens. I love having both living close to us! They must be laughing, I can’t imagine what else they’d be doing watching our dogs bark at them…obviously they are not finding them threatening so they must be laughing! 🙂 Thanks for coming by!

  4. ella said,

    May 21, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    I love the playfulness of your poem and the images it conjures 😀
    Fun to read~

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:41 pm

      Ella – glad you enjoyed the read. I was watching them laughing at her just this morning…cracked me up! Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Helen said,

    May 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Living on Oregon’s high desert I’m provided with glimpses of amazing wildlife … haven’t spotted a wolf yet ~~ nice writing!!

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      Helen – I bet you see some amazing animals there. You’ll see a wolf one day I’m sure! Thanks for coming by, so happy you enjoyed the poem.

  6. Patti said,

    May 21, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    I love the playfulness of this. I’ve never heard wolves laugh, I’m sorry to say. But I have seen and heard a coyote conversation in my backyard on a moonlit night, I don’t think they were laughing. It looked more like a raiding party to me. I was glad my cats were indoor cats.

    Great job with the form.

    • shanyns said,

      May 21, 2012 at 8:18 pm

      Patti – thanks for coming by. ‘Yotes can sure be raiders, but wolves do laugh. Coyote choirs are nice to hear, but one howl from a wolf will make them go quiet very fast! Glad you enjoyed the poem. Great that you stopped by.

  7. dani said,

    May 21, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    we have coyotes here in Arizona ~ haven’t heard them laugh but i can imagine a wolf snickering!

    • shanyns said,

      May 22, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      Laughing coyotes! Would love to hear that too, they do chatter a lot! Wolf snickers…that’d be cool! Thanks for coming by Dani.

  8. May 21, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    Awww… What a lovely read. I’m glad the wolves laugh at her and she’s left alone by them, that would be awful to lose her to wolves. Made me smile, thank you 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      May 22, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      The wolves are very good, they have lots to eat and respect the boundaries set by our dogs. It is a good relationship. Glad you smiled and it was great that you stopped by.

  9. ed pilolla said,

    May 22, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    it sounds amazing. laughing wolves sounds magical, too. a good relationship in terms of boundaries between the living. these are the real ways of life, not this wilderness anarchy modern man thinks we came from. i’m not saying there aren’t challenges, but i know bears keep pretty well to their territory, too. cool stuff.

    • shanyns said,

      May 23, 2012 at 6:45 pm

      Ed – it is amazing! Wilderness has much more order than most people think and a balance that is both durable and delicate. There are challenges, sure, but we have managed to live well next to our wild neighbors. Thanks for coming by.

  10. Mama Zen said,

    May 22, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    I love it! I had no idea that wolves laugh.

    • shanyns said,

      May 23, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      Oh they do laugh, they have very good senses of humor.


Leave a Reply

