My Mind Works Like This

I wish for a moment I could paint that leaf.

That one. Right there. The one by the sunlight.

Missed it? ย That’s okay. Most do. I understand.

 

I think, sometimes, often times, about light.

Mostly about color and sound. Like dogs.

How can they hear so well and listen so bad?

 

My mind works like this – a crazy living Chagall

or maybe an Escher or Dolittle. Lots going on.

Lots of things going lots of places all at once.

 

Right now, for example, and this is funny.

I am thinking about the after taste of juice.

The smell of damp soil and the water pump.

 

Later I’ll remember all that I couldn’t get done.

I’ll be sad but then I’ll remember a sad song.

Forget part of the lyrics, look them up happily.

 

I remember things from when I was young.

Thinking of things I lost, where is THAT book?

And it dawns on me – where are those Lego parts?

 

I’m annoyed by little things, missing my red shirt.

What do actors and royals wear at home, jammies?

Wondering what to make for supper, wanting chips.

 

I think in images, smells and whole stories.

A bookstore, theatre and colony live in here.

My mind works on a dozen levels, in spirals.

 

My heart hurts for the buried turtle pond,

Feels sliver of hate for that ignorant man.

Asks for forgiveness for still not getting it.

 

I think the milk is going sour, glad I got some.

Should I bake bread or make ice cream?

I am sure you can feed your soul on a diet.

 

I say prayers, and sing in thanksgiving.

I think about tectonic plates and crusts.

I wonder how math can tell stories.

 

This is getting long, and yet it is so little.

My mind works like this, and I’m okay.

I’ve got lines and lines to go, still here?

 

For dVerse poetics…as close as I can get to stream of consciousness writing…my mind works this way.

34 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    May 24, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    just dont step on the legos…that hurts…for sure…i feel you on the turtle pond…and my mind does tend to spiral at times as well…still here…smiles.

    • shanyns said,

      May 25, 2012 at 1:53 am

      Brian – I try very hard to avoid the Lego two step! ๐Ÿ™‚ It is painful. Yeah those turtles weren’t in anyone’s way except for one man’s ego. I am so glad you get the mind spiral line! Great to see you here and smilin!

  2. hedgewitch said,

    May 24, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    Like this very much, Shan–it really does seem like opening a window into your brain and seeing how it ticks–esp liked this line:
    “A bookstore, theatre and colony live in here.”
    Among other things. ;_)

    • shanyns said,

      May 25, 2012 at 1:54 am

      Thanks for coming by the mall of my mind! ha ha Great you stopped by and enjoyed yourself.

  3. May 25, 2012 at 12:45 am

    What a full mind. We sometimes don’t even realise exactly how many thoughts we have going through our heads, all at the same time. Amazing!
    Wonderful read Shanyn.

    • shanyns said,

      May 25, 2012 at 1:56 am

      It is a full mind… some days it is very full! So glad you enjoyed the poem, and I’m happy to see you.

  4. May 25, 2012 at 2:44 am

    Shanyn, you got closer than close to the S-o-C prompt. This is terrific and I loved traveling your thoughts with you. Thanks for taking the challenge. It was a fun read.

    • shanyns said,

      May 25, 2012 at 2:58 am

      Victoria – thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€ It was a fun challenge, and I’m so glad you enjoyed the read! My mind is a strange place lots of the time, but it is fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. May 25, 2012 at 3:29 am

    I enjoyed my spiraling trip, thank you :).

    • shanyns said,

      May 25, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      Anna – I’m so glad you enjoyed the trip. Great to see you here! Thanks for coming over.

  6. dfb said,

    May 25, 2012 at 5:41 am

    I think this is wonderful and honest, very well ‘structured’ for stream of consciousness. I think you’ve hit perfectly on the point that our life of the mind is totally vast, literally as big as the universe if we let it be, smaller than a pin head. Lovely!

    • shanyns said,

      May 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm

      Francis – you are so right. And I’m so pleased you enjoyed the poem! So good to see you here.

  7. marousia said,

    May 25, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Loved following your connections – thank you

    • shanyns said,

      May 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm

      Marousia – thanks for coming by and for following the connections! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great to see you here.

  8. Tania said,

    May 25, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    I love this. It’s scattered, but there’s little trails connecting everything.

  9. chris said,

    May 25, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Yep, still here! Sounds a bit like the way my mind works… I like it that way. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • shanyns said,

      May 25, 2012 at 5:57 pm

      Chris – I like it that way too! So glad you enjoyed the read, and it is good to see you here.

  10. claudia said,

    May 25, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    smiles…isn’t it awesome how the mind works…and when i miss some of my clothes, i ALWAYS find them in my daughter’s rooms…just saying..smiles

    • shanyns said,

      May 26, 2012 at 2:03 am

      Claudia – it is amazing isn’t it? I never did find that shirt…I think someone laundered it for me and ruined it and didn’t tell me! Sigh…it was a great shirt! LOL Thanks for coming by, glad you know where your shirts go!

  11. May 25, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    I do believe our minds are very similar… I enjoyed this very much. I do some of my best thinking in the shower, where I can look out the partly open window and gaze at branch that has very few leaves.

    • shanyns said,

      May 26, 2012 at 2:06 am

      So glad you enjoyed the poem, and I’m glad you stopped by.

  12. May 25, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    It’s always fun to sneak a peek inside to see how someone else’s mind works. Nice one!

    • shanyns said,

      May 26, 2012 at 2:08 am

      Mary – glad you stopped by for a peek! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Mama Zen said,

    May 25, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    This is the way my mind works, too!

  14. Bodhirose said,

    May 25, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    Oh, that monkey mind…that leaps about taking us here and there…yes, I can so relate to all those jumble of thoughts. Hate that the turtle pond was buried over too..bummer.

    This was so entertaining to read..just great!

    • shanyns said,

      May 26, 2012 at 2:08 am

      So glad you enjoyed the read, and super happy to have you stop by! Yeah I’m bent about the turtle pond, there was no reason for it and I don’t even think it was legal but with so many charges against him I guess I’m the only one who cares about turtles. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  15. kelly said,

    May 27, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    This is fabulous, such a true portrait of the way the mind works. A crazy living Chagall… the very best kind of mind to have, me thinks.

    • shanyns said,

      May 27, 2012 at 6:42 pm

      Kelly – thank you! I think it is a good mind to have too. Never boring. Or bored.

  16. poemsofhateandhope said,

    May 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    So much to this! Such colour and great to see the randomness linkages and explosions in your stream f consciousness – I actually found this quite life affirming- just something incredibly human and honest about it…you haven’t tried to go to deep- and therefore- its real/human- you just captured your mind as it spoke….very enjoyable

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:50 pm

      Stu – thank you! This is a comment that I will come back to again and again when I need encouragement! It made my day…thanks for coming by and so glad you enjoyed the read.

  17. vivinfrance said,

    June 1, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    I love the way your mind works. A butterfly mind a bit like mine! Sour milk? Definitely makes the best scones (UK) which I think are called biscuits in US.

    • shanyns said,

      June 1, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      Oh yes sour milk biscuits are the best! Thanks Viv for coming by, great to find another mind who works like mine.


Leave a Reply

