Carnival Secret

Mama let’s go to the fair!  Sweetness asks.

Mosaic of smells and sounds, colors and light.

Daylight dimming lights, flashing mirrors.

Clowns seem sinister to me here, always.

 

Mama there are RIDES! Fast ones! 

Mosaic of the senses on overload.

Daylight shows rusty bolts, oil leaks.

Clowns, peeling and shabby, leer.

 

Mama am I tall enough for this one yet?

Mosaic pieces of people, garish and plain.

Tickets for rides, tickets for games – scam!

Clowns waiting to paint more faces – eww!

 

Mama are we brave enough this year, are we?

Mosaic of fear, of mistrust and of a Mama’s secret.

I hate ferris wheels. Despise them. Loathe them.

Clowns whisper, will she go up? Will she fall?

 

Mama I’ll hold your hand, we’ll be brave together.

Mosaic of courage, of a Mother’s love over her fear.

I’ll do what I fear for him, as I always have and will.

Clowns shuffle past on ugly feet, disappointed again.

 

For With Real Toads Sunday Challenge, Mosaics and for dVerse at the Carnival.  And yes I don’t like clowns.  And I don’t like ferris wheels.  But I’ll put up with the latter for my son, the former just better stay outta my way!

 

27 Comments

  1. Grace said,

    May 27, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    I am fearful of the ferris wheel too ~ But for our children, we will try to be brave ~ Enjoyed the mosaic take too ~

    • shanyns said,

      May 27, 2012 at 6:44 pm

      Thanks Grace – was working on one prompt and it led to another so I wove them together…and I’ll be brave for him.

  2. ManicDdaily said,

    May 27, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    Yes — A mother’s feelings perfectly -adult/child and the clown – shiver! well done. k.

  3. May 27, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    An interesting way to incorporate the idea of mosaic into your carnival poem.

  4. May 27, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    I’ve never like clowns. Always found them kind of scary, spooky, freaky, hiding behind all that make up and fake smiles. I am not fond of fair ground rides either. When I was younger I would dare a go on anything, as we age and realise we’re not going to live forever and we do ‘break’ we become so much more conservative about what risks we are prepared to take, even on a Ferris wheel. All power to you if you dare for your son’s sake. WTG mom!~! 🙂
    Great write!

  5. brian miller said,

    May 27, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    i like the use of mosaic…it is a cool word…and plays well with the fair or carnival because that is what it is…clowns are def their own breed you know…smiles…the ferris wheel though i do like it…i like being able to see forever away….i do hold onto my child though as my greatest fear is something would happen to them…

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:52 pm

      Brian – Clowns are clowns 🙂 So glad you liked the combination of mosaic and carnival/fair. They seemed to go well for me with all the various things going on during a fair. Ferris wheels are cool, but I don’t trust carnie maintenance men so I spend a lot of time thinking about loose nuts and rusty bolts, and holding on to a little someone who wants to lean way forward to see more and more! Great to see you here, thanks for stopping by my friend.

  6. claudia said,

    May 27, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    smiles…isn’t it cool when our kids are braver than we are…? i like how your son becomes a bit protective here…being brave together is a good thing…

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:52 pm

      Claudia – he is a real sweetie that way, always trying to encourage us to be brave like we encourage him. I love his courage, it sure does pull me along! Thanks for coming by!

  7. lolamouse said,

    May 27, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Beautiful. I always find it amazing what I’m willing to do for my kid. They get us to overcome our fears when no one else can.

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:53 pm

      Thanks, and you are so right, we will do for them what others would never get! 🙂 And that’s okay with me.

  8. charityv said,

    May 27, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    What a brave, and honest sharing.
    I love the intersecting views. Mom, so much for aware, protective, yet wooed by her love for a child, Child, so won over by the veneer, he is still protected from the truth.

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:53 pm

      Your comment is so poetic, I love it! 🙂 thanks for coming by, glad you enjoyed the read.

  9. May 28, 2012 at 12:42 am

    I’m with you…clowns, Santas and mimes make me uncomfortable, too. I guess it’s about not knowing who’s really behind the mask. Nicely written.

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:54 pm

      Victoria – you got it! No clowns, no mall Santas (shudder) and mimes – ewww! LOL…I don’t like not knowing who is hiding behind the mask and costume. Seems sinister and creepy to me. Thanks for coming by, sure am pleased you enjoyed the read.

  10. May 28, 2012 at 12:53 am

    I’ll do what I fear for him…beautiful line…My daughters have taught me how to be brave.

    http://confessionsofalaundrygoddess.blogspot.com/2012/05/forever-misused.html

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Susie – thanks! So cool to see you here, glad you enjoyed the read and super neat that your daughters did the same for you.

  11. May 28, 2012 at 4:17 am

    I so love your poems about your son. You are such a great mom!

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Sherry – your comment brought me tears today. Thank you. I needed that encouragement! So glad you enjoy the poetry, he is my sunshine, so I can’t help but write about him!

  12. hedgewitch said,

    May 28, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    I will never ‘get’ clowns. I also have a horrid fear of heights, but for some reason, the ferris wheel is tolerable, with its sense of always coming down again–though I do hate it when it stops–you put a lot of life into this mosaic of metaphors, Shan.

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      Thanks for coming over…love your comment. Glad you enjoyed the poem.

  13. May 28, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    VERY nice, Shayn and I love this,

    ” Mosaic of courage, of a Mother’s love over her fear.

    I’ll do what I fear for him, as I always have and will.”

    Such depth and strength in a mother’s love. Well done!

    • May 28, 2012 at 4:41 pm

      Of course it’s Shanyn….I’m bound to get it right once! lol

    • shanyns said,

      May 28, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      Hannah – thanks! 🙂 For him I will be brave when I wouldn’t be brave for anyone else…thanks for coming by and so glad you enjoyed the poem!

      • May 28, 2012 at 10:10 pm

        You’re very welcome, Shanyn!! Our children do that in us it is such a wonderful thing! 🙂

  14. zongrik said,

    May 29, 2012 at 2:01 am

    this made me think of a great character for a story…a mom who goes to the amusement park and rides all the cool rides, and makes her little kid wait for her….LOL!!! what a great character.


Leave a Reply

