Dreaming

For the With Real Toads challenge, Mary’s Mixed Bag about dreams and night mares. Three poems.  Enjoy!

 

Part I – Spooky

Hiding under broad green leaves, she dreams.

Facing the bird feeder, her green eyes are shut.

She dreams of catching a bird, a juicy bird.

But she’s full, fat and happy- the birds are safe.

 

Part II – Anna

Muzzle twitches, feet dash and dart.

Eyes rolled back, seeing only her dream.

She whimpers and snarls. Flinches.

I smile watching her running her dreams.

 

Part III – Me

They say (who is this THEY anyway?) you never land

you never hit the ground if you fall in a dream.

If you do, they say, you are going to die.

I hit the ground all the time. Phbat.

It catches me, oft hard some soft.

They say dreams can’t hurt you.

Some dreams are risky tho’

what if they can hurt?

 

They say (those THEY people don’t know JACK) remembering is false.

Everyone dreams in muted tones or black and white, so THEY say.

My dreams are in color, they smell and they touch me back.

I’ve woken, like Alice shaking rabbit fur, tasting cold tea.

Dancing with the bloodthirsty queen and dunce cards.

My dreams color my waking hours, bright or grey.

They are a living place, vibrant and alive.

Sometimes they carry on, my dreams,

without me being there and then

I have to sleep hard and fast

to just catch up to them.

 

They say (THEY ought to be quiet, you know?) that no one remembers dreams.

I remember them.  A video, a film and a stack of polaroids – messy. Wild.

They say our dreams are the workings of our mind alone,

they should come and visit mine for a night or two.

Then they would realize that dreams are alive!

They are a living world, a place that goes on.

Maybe, just maybe, we are not the ones

who are having the dreams at all

maybe we are the dream.

Then who is the

dreamer?

46 Comments

  1. June 15, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    I read a book recently that hypothesized that our sleep is another reality. I wonder. Or, maybe our sleep is our true reality and when we are awake it isn’t. Sometimes I think too much…lol
    This is a great take on the prompt!

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 12:58 am

      I like it when you think too much! 🙂 Thanks for coming by, and for sharing your thoughts!

  2. June 15, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    I see the segments and presentation of dreams from different perspective specially of Alice shaking rabbit fur ~ The dream is always about the dreamer, the workings of our inner mind ~

    Happy weekend ~

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 12:59 am

      Thanks for coming by! Hope your weekend is wonderful!

  3. June 16, 2012 at 12:56 am

    I dream in color too Shanynl…didn’t know I wasn’t supposed to! 🙂 Pam Mosher

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:00 am

      Pam – I read somewhere that many people don’t dream in color – mine have soundtracks, smells and tactile things as well as color! 🙂 Thanks for coming over Pam.

  4. June 16, 2012 at 1:07 am

    Love this, Shanyn!!! I love that you brought in the different perspectives…love to watch a dog dream too, by the way!

    I really like the Alice reference…ans I really actually envy you…I wish I could remember my dreams this well on a regular basis. I only do a handful of times, or a couple even a month that I can really grasp fully anyway.

    Big smiles to you my dreaming friend!! 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:01 am

      Thanks for the love and the smiles Hannah! 🙂 Sometimes I wake from a dream and go back to sleep to see what is going on! 😀

  5. June 16, 2012 at 1:44 am

    I LOVE your response to the prompt! Especially the last stanza. “Maybe we are the dream. Then who is the dreamer?” LOVE IT!!!!

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:01 am

      Sherry – thank you! 🙂 So much! Glad you enjoyed the poems so much.

  6. ella said,

    June 16, 2012 at 2:47 am

    I love this playful response…
    Oh, and the dreamer is THEY! lol
    I always say what you said, about THEY…
    Loved it!

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:09 am

      Ella – thank you! 🙂 Those darned ‘THEY’! ha ha Glad you enjoyed it so much!

  7. Peggy Goetz said,

    June 16, 2012 at 4:45 am

    Wow, you really took off with this prompt. I especially enjoyed the descriptions of the cat and dog dreaming. LOL Your questions about your own dreams are thought-provoking!

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:10 am

      Peggy – glad you enjoyed them! Great that you stopped by.

  8. Mary said,

    June 16, 2012 at 5:01 am

    This is absolutely wonderful. I enjoyed all three of your responses. Thank you.

    I especially loved Part III. Interesting to think of dreams as being a living world…and maybe we are the dream. Maybe the life we are living IS the dream of someone else. Profound.

    As far as falling and hitting the ground, I have never hit the ground when i fall. I wake up when I ‘fall.’ But it is a jarring wake-up!

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:11 am

      Mary – so glad you enjoyed my take on the challenge! It is jarring to fall, and I always land. Not always hard, but I always do.

  9. Victotria said,

    June 16, 2012 at 5:10 am

    I LOVE this poem in all it’s parts. I especially like the way you talk back to the “they”. i dream in color too and have had the experience of feeling like I have to sleep fast to keep up with my dreams.

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:11 am

      Victoria – so cool you have similar types of dreams! Glad you stopped by and so pleased you loved the poetry!

  10. Other Mary said,

    June 16, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    I absolutely love this! Love the idea that your dreams go on without you and you must ‘sleep hard and fast’ to catch up! Very cool, and the form and starting each stanza with the mistaken ‘they’ is quite effective.

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:13 am

      Thank you so much Mary! I’m very pleased you enjoyed these so much, and all the different aspects as well! So cool, loved your comment.

  11. Pam M. said,

    June 16, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    I love these!!! Me was my favorite, but I really enjoyed Spooky and Anna, being both a cat and a dog person and having had both. Hey, I dream in color all the time and I remember 98 per cent of them. THEY are clueless, yes? Thanks for making me smile with these poems today, Shanyn!

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:13 am

      Pam – THEY are clueless, lost and living in a grey world. How sad for them! I love that we dream in color…so glad you got some smiles!

  12. June 16, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    Good old “they”. I’m sure Spooky and Anna know more than the nebulous “they” about dreams.
    A lovely write, Shanyn.
    K

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 1:14 am

      Kay – Spooky and Anna are quite clever and wise for their kind. Glad you enjoyed the poems. Thanks for coming by.

  13. Leo said,

    June 19, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    The first verse is spooky. I don’t know what’s lying under the green leaves, waiting to pounce.. but I think that’s the effect you wanted to bring out?

    • shanyns said,

      June 20, 2012 at 12:24 am

      It is Leo, and Spooky is our cat. She can be fierce but also kinda sweet! Glad you enjoyed the poetry.

  14. markwindham said,

    June 19, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    yea, ‘they’ just need to be quiet sometimes. good stuff

    • shanyns said,

      June 20, 2012 at 12:25 am

      Mark – thanks for coming by, and I totally agree. THEY can just ‘hush’! 🙂

  15. brian miller said,

    June 19, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    smiles…the ones about the animals are cute…and def see those in the pets i have had…as for our own dreams…there is an interesting and fine line between those dreams and realities at times…some with really startling realities…

    • shanyns said,

      June 20, 2012 at 12:25 am

      Brian – you got it my friend! Thanks for coming by. Glad you enjoyed the poetry.

  16. tashtoo said,

    June 19, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    I’m a chronic sufferer of nightmares..in living, breathing, color…but I’ve always had trouble with what “THEY” say and certainly never accepted any of their jabbering as fact. Loved the adventure and the blend of the real and the supposedly “dreamed”

    • shanyns said,

      June 20, 2012 at 12:26 am

      So glad you don’t listen to the THEY voices either. Sorry you have chronic nightmares – that must be a trial. So glad you stopped by, sweet dreams!

  17. Laurie Kolp said,

    June 19, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    I have strange dreams at times… too many nighttime interruptions I think.

    http://lkkolp.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/my-dogs-and-thunderstorms/

    • shanyns said,

      June 20, 2012 at 12:26 am

      Laurie – I never thought about the night time interruptions as a source. Interesting. Thanks for stopping by.

  18. Ruth said,

    June 19, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    I like the philosophical bent of your poem and the parts, especially the third, lines falling, falling

    • shanyns said,

      June 20, 2012 at 12:27 am

      Thanks Ruth! Glad you enjoyed them. So happy you stopped by.

  19. hedgewitch said,

    June 19, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    Instant favorite here, Shanyn–I couldn;t agree more. I was almost laughing out loud at times, especially at the ubiquitous and annoying THEY. Loved it.

    • shanyns said,

      June 20, 2012 at 12:28 am

      🙂 Wow! That’s awesome! So glad you enjoyed the poem so much…those THEY people just really bug me! ha ha

  20. Mary said,

    June 20, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Visiting a second time for dVerse! I enjoyed it just as much the second time through. Good poetry improves ‘with age.’ Smiles.

    • shanyns said,

      June 20, 2012 at 12:29 am

      Mary – thanks for the second hello! 🙂 Appreciate it.

  21. Earl said,

    June 21, 2012 at 4:55 am

    who are they anyway? what do they know?

  22. dani said,

    June 21, 2012 at 5:48 am

    i often wake sobbing or heart racing or, too rarely, laughing out loud ~ but i do hope that my waking world is the real one.
    LOVE these!

  23. June 21, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    great finish – your poem really pulls the reader along.

  24. June 21, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    I really like the repetition of what “they say”… Ah, they’re best ignored… 😉


Leave a Reply

