Exiles

Mountains fair, stretching behind rolling hills.

I craft them from trees and storm clouds.

My mind takes this flat prairie and lifts it.

Exiled from my foothills roamings, by love.

 

Oceans rumble and roar, breezes salty and fair.

I imagine them as I hammock swing, eyes closed.

My mind makes this landlocked place roll, alive.

Exiled from my ancestral sailing folk, by love.

 

Hobbits and wizards roam wild, rings and adventures.

I go along with them, page by page, scene by scene.

My mind takes me to places where we speak runes.

Exiled? Exiled! ย Never from my own imagination!

 

No mountains, no oceans, no magical adventures.

I know there are four dimensions, maybe five.

My mind touches on them in the spiral of time.

Exiled from so many conversations, but living free!

 

Watching horses in the pasture, grazing, I dream.

I know they hear me, and we long to ride, fenceless.

My mind reaches back in time, and we ride. We ride!

Exiled from history, the wild women entrusted in me.

 

for dVerse, Exiles, thinking of making mountains here on the flat, oh so flat, prairie and dreaming of ocean waves through the wind blown trees. ย Reading and talking, sharing and dreaming…knowing there are a few who would journey with me, and we are a blessed wild bunch!ย 

28 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    June 17, 2012 at 2:01 am

    smiles….i dont mind that kinda exile…to the hobbits and adventures in a hammock….ha…i am all for it….and hey if i am exiled from the convo, dust off my sandals you know..time to move on…smiles….

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 2:33 pm

      Amen to dusting off your sandals! So glad you enjoyed the poem my friend…I thought you’d be all for that kind of exile! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Laurie Kolp said,

    June 17, 2012 at 2:12 am

    ‘Exiled? Exiled! Never from my own imagination!’

    That says it all… I really enjoyed this.

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      Laurie – so glad you enjoyed it! And that is one place they can never exile me from. My own imagination. And I can’t get into trouble for kicking people out of there either! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. ManicDdaily said,

    June 17, 2012 at 2:18 am

    This is a lovely and uplifting poem. k>

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      Thanks! I am so glad you enjoyed it, thanks for coming by.

  4. June 17, 2012 at 2:48 am

    LOVE the imagination!!! Beautiful writing for this!

  5. jenneandrews said,

    June 17, 2012 at 4:55 am

    Gorgeous poem, Shanyn! I see you as having grown by leaps and bounds in your work! This has a Whitmanesque feel to it. I love the idea of exile although the condition can be painful. Google for Dawn Potter’s poem under that title. xj

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      Jenne! Thank you so much, and I’m so very pleased that you stopped by! Exile can be painful, even when it is for the best, and I’ll look up that poem for sure. Hugs!

  6. Claudia said,

    June 17, 2012 at 8:17 am

    nice..there are so many ways where our mind can find some kind of peaceful or adventurous exile…love to be taken into the exile of the pages of a book…

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      Claudia – there is no better exile for me than the pages of a book…a perfect place to disappear to! Thanks for coming by, glad you enjoyed it.

  7. Tino said,

    June 17, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Mountains and foothills, oceans and sailing, hobbits and wizards, forget food, this is the true way to a mans heart ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 2:39 pm

      Tino – thanks for coming by! Love that you enjoyed the poem.

  8. June 17, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    I don’t mind being exiled for a while in your beautiful prairie land ~ Wonderful word choices, specially the last line of each verse pertaining to exile ~

    • shanyns said,

      June 17, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      The prairies are a beautiful exile, although so very desolately flat in places, but we can still find a beauty here. So glad you enjoyed the poem, thanks for coming over.

  9. hedgewitch said,

    June 17, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Our imaginations are ever the best friends–well illustrated here in a very fresh take on the theme, Shanyn.

  10. June 18, 2012 at 12:25 am

    I cannot imagine a land that has no hills or mountains, or, no water!
    Loved what you did with this though Shanyn ๐Ÿ™‚ As long as we have our imaginations and our dreams, we can go anywhere we please eh!

    • shanyns said,

      June 18, 2012 at 6:07 am

      Thanks. It is hard to have such a flat place, but trees and clouds let me imagine mountains and hills. So glad you enjoyed the poem. Thanks for coming by and enjoying my imagination trip!

  11. June 18, 2012 at 2:58 am

    Beautiful, we make oceans of thought and mountains of imagination. I have lived all over the US and I have to say that mountains are a necessary part of my life (I live at 9.640 feet of elevation).

    • shanyns said,

      June 18, 2012 at 6:07 am

      Anna – to be back at higher elevations would be so wonderful sometimes! Sure do miss it. We do what we can, and build beauty where we are. Even if some of it is only in our minds ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. June 18, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    I’ve lived in many places, including the Midwest, and will admit I missed both mountains and oceans when I was there…but at the same time, I found such beauty in the plains–miles and miles of wheat, or sunflowers. I think that constrast is part of the beauty of life and like you, wherever we are, our minds can take us to favorite places. I enjoyed this.

    • shanyns said,

      June 19, 2012 at 3:49 pm

      Victoria – there is great beauty and diversity on the plains, no doubt about it, but a few years of FLAT can get even the most dedicated beauty seeker missing some horizon variations~! What part of the great plains are your favorite? So glad you enjoyed the poem.

  13. Joell said,

    June 18, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    Really enjoyed this and skimming through your other entries as well! Thank you for stopping by my blog! Blessings!

    • shanyns said,

      June 19, 2012 at 3:49 pm

      Thanks for coming by and reading some poetry, hope you can come again! Bright blessings!

  14. Earl said,

    June 21, 2012 at 4:50 am

    making mountains on the prairies, sometimes when the clouds are right you can dream with your eyes open, beautiful poem from my a beautiful creative mind


Leave a Reply

