Stalker

I am stalking you. You. Yes you.

I’m right here. Miles above you.

Drive your cars, build your roads.

Live in your houses of sticks and stones.

I am searching for you. You. Yes you.

I’m right here.  Hundreds of billions of me.

Watch your feet, head pointed down.

Live beneath the lie of towering trees.

I am indifferent to you. You. Yes you.

I’m right here.  Wind. Lightning. Thunder.

Watchers know me. They see me tower high.

Live, they shout to me, live!

I am enough to change the world. Yours. Yes yours.

I’m right here, dropping down, almost touching.

Watchers see me miles away. You are so blind.

Live! Live! Run. Laugh. Breathe. Live.

I am eternal.  I live on without you. You. Yes you.

I’m right here, nothing can stop my stalking.

Watchers know the choices – run or hide.

Living they choose to chase, to stay, to be.

I am a stalker in storm. Stalking all of you. Yes you.

I’m right here – hot tornado, cold funnel.

Watch me tower over your world.

Alive with electricity and might.

I am a warning to you. Yes you.

I’m right here, to change your world.

Drive home to watch TV, check the phone.

Live oblivious, live dangerous but live!

In response to the challenges at With Real Toads (Message in a Bottle or in my case a storm) and for dVerse to use setting.  This cold funnel was near us just last night.  I am the only one who saw it.  Really.

34 Comments

  1. June 21, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    Wow… nothing does anything as well or more powerfully than Mother nature, does it.
    I saw on the news earlier about the massive flooding happening in MN. They say over 8,000 animals have been lost to it let alone hundreds forced to leave their homes and it’s going to rain even more yet.
    That must have been both exciting and a little scary to have seen.
    You told it so well 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:17 am

      Scary yes, and exciting too. There is a power you cannot really grasp until you are looking into the teeth of a towering storm. Thanks for coming by!

  2. brian miller said,

    June 22, 2012 at 12:16 am

    rock on…i like the challenge in your voice….so many oblivious and unwilling or unwanting to rock the boat….and stand up to truly live and see our world changed….wow scary to see a funnel for sure…whew….

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:18 am

      Thanks Brian! So many people go through life not noticing a thing around them. Scares me more than a funnel cloud that look at the floor mindset!

  3. Susan said,

    June 22, 2012 at 12:29 am

    The indifferent beauty along with your illustration, reminded me of Robinson Jeffers, poet of the rages of nature, but your tornado is much kinder acknowledging “you” as it says it doesn’t care, wishing you to live as it rushes to the kill. I feel it.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:19 am

      Thanks Susan. I feel storms this way, they are indifferent and yet not actively seeking to harm. Sometimes it is scary but exciting too. Thanks for coming by.

  4. June 22, 2012 at 1:27 am

    So descriptive! Felt like I was right there next to you looking up at those stormy skies.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:19 am

      Mary – would have been nice to have you here! We could have taken turns watching.

  5. June 22, 2012 at 1:43 am

    Fantastic photo……..eery to see the funnel. Your poem is as strong as the voice of a storm. Well done.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:23 am

      Thanks Sherry, it was a crazy thing seeing it like that. Glad you enjoyed the photo and the poem.

  6. June 22, 2012 at 1:50 am

    Your use of the second person is so effective in this poem with an ominous voice. I’ve lived in the midwest, experienced nearby tornadoes, and it does make you feel helpless.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:24 am

      Victoria, they sure do! I was caught on the edge of one in ’06 and it was wild. They are so huge and powerful, brings us back to scale I think. Thanks for coming by, so glad you enjoyed the poem.

  7. June 22, 2012 at 1:54 am

    Powerful write about a powerful thing. I’ve seen a few in my time; seen the damage they can do.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:24 am

      Charles – glad you enjoyed it. They are amazingly powerful aren’t they?

  8. Grace said,

    June 22, 2012 at 2:08 am

    What a scary sight as it can change our world …and I like the strong voice in your words ~ Enjoyed the visit ~

    http://everydayamazin.blogspot.ca/2012/06/from-my-window.html

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:25 am

      So glad you enjoyed the photo and the poem, and really happy you stopped by!

  9. Mary said,

    June 22, 2012 at 2:51 am

    This is frightening. A tornado is one of my worst fears….and your poem gave it a voice.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:25 am

      They are frightening to be sure. I’m glad you stopped by Mary.

  10. punnypalaver said,

    June 22, 2012 at 3:26 am

    Repetition serves this excellently and living oblivious would be dangerous–effective poem!

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:26 am

      Thanks for coming by, and I do believe the most dangerous thing is to be oblivious! So much happens around us and if we don’t notice it can be deadly.

  11. ella said,

    June 22, 2012 at 4:20 am

    I love your voice in this poem! I love the message of live! So many of us tuck ourselves away, because of fear~ A wonderful message… 😀

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:26 am

      Ella – thank you! 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed this. I appreciate your comment a lot.

  12. kaykuala said,

    June 22, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Vagaries of the weather impacting on us,anytime,anywhere! Very well brought to us MM! It gets scary when we see the damage done. We’re the ones to be prepared. The stalker is always there to strike at its fancy!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:27 am

      Hank – you are so right. The stalker is there, and even as we chase it we know it can turn around on us at any moment. Glad you stopped by and enjoyed the poem.

  13. gabrielle said,

    June 22, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    Hot tornado, cold funnel. Kali lives and breathes in our midst. I love how you gave her a voice. Such a poignant reminder that merely existing is a faint choice.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:28 am

      I totally LOVE that you too believe storms are feminine! 🙂 and you are so right – love your comment.

  14. Claudia said,

    June 22, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    nice..love that you gave the storm a voice… we had many thunderstorms lately– one that brought hail as well and caused quite some damage..

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:28 am

      Claudia – glad you enjoyed it. Storms, even seemingly small ones, can bring terrible damage to those in their way.

  15. Chazinator said,

    June 22, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Those things are really scary, and I can attest to the fact that they do not care. I’ve also been in electric storms where my hair started to stand up. I really like the way that you’ve made the tirnado speak, as they often seem to do, when you’re in their sights. The setting is right too, giving that sense of not being to really hide, though you might try.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:29 am

      Chaz – being in that kind of electrical storm is nasty. I watched someone’s hair rise up before we hit the deck once – spooked me for a long time! Glad you liked the poem. Sure is cool you stopped by.

  16. Helen said,

    June 22, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    Powerful may be an understatement! I’ve live through a few tornadoes and three hurricanes ~ not fun. I really enjoyed the menacing tone you applied to this poem.

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:30 am

      Helen – they are certainly not fun! Not boring either, but fun isn’t on the list of words to use describing them. Thanks for coming by, so glad you enjoyed the poem.

  17. June 23, 2012 at 2:31 am

    Strong piece on such a powerful force of nature…love it!

    • shanyns said,

      June 27, 2012 at 2:30 am

      So glad you enjoyed it Susie…and glad you stopped by.


Leave a Reply

