Do Not Pass

For some, a line, in sand.  In chalk.

A line in water on hot pavement.

Suggestion more than anything else.

 

For others, the line, demarcation. There.

A line in life drawn in blood across bone.

The reason for it all, after it nothing else.

 

You tell me, “Don’t cross me” and I smile.

Your warnings, watery and thin, mean nothing.

Sadly, you know this all to well, and still…

 

and still I wouldn’t utter the words of warning.

I don’t warn. I don’t threaten. I am. Just that.

Know me by my words, my life and take it in.

 

Soft hearted, yes I know I am, and yet not.

My heart is my own, but what it would

bleed for is business not of yours, know or judge.

 

Stare you down, cold eyed, and watch you walk.

Prayers for your soul, and for your going away.

Do not pass here. Do not cross that line you see.

 

It lurks there, the guardian, and only those who

have the ears to hear and the eyes to see know it.

Shiver and shudder, turn and go back. Do not pass.

 

You think you know me. You know nothing of me.

You’ve never seen the other side, lucky you.

Pray that line never gets crossed.  I pray it. Daily.

 

Once you thought you could dish it out.

Once you thought I had no choice but to eat.

Bitter cup washed it down. No more. Never.

 

In spite of you, not because of you, we live.

We drive it back, the darkness and the pain.

We seek light and defend it too. Here. Now.

 

Sure I laugh. I cry too. I share all those things.

Emotions.  Hearts on sleeves. Dangling raw.

Hands behind backs, eyes hard a stare. At you.

 

Do not pass. You should know better by now.

There is no mistaking when you hit the line.

The line is armed, and we hit back. Hard.

 

For with Real Toads, a late entry into the Demarcation challenge, and shared for both Real Toads and dVerse Open Link offerings this week.

18 Comments

  1. Laurie kolp said,

    July 11, 2012 at 1:40 am

    Someone once warned me never to piss her off or there would be hell to pay. This reminds me of her. Great piece!

    • shanyns said,

      July 18, 2012 at 1:12 am

      Laurie – I LOVE that! 😀 So glad you enjoyed it, and I’m so glad you chose that word for the challenge.

  2. butterflybiblestudies said,

    July 11, 2012 at 1:51 am

    Whoo Hoo Shanyn! Them thar are purdy strong words! Such Emotion and Passion! I love to read the Flow From Your Heart Girl! Pam Mosher

    • shanyns said,

      July 18, 2012 at 1:11 am

      Pam – thank you! You encourage me so much. Bless you!

  3. Margaret said,

    July 11, 2012 at 2:42 am

    “It lurks there, the guardian, and only those who
    have the ears to hear and the eyes to see know it.”

    All the warning anyone needs!

    • shanyns said,

      July 18, 2012 at 1:11 am

      Margaret – thanks! 😀 So glad you enjoyed the poem.

  4. brian miller said,

    July 11, 2012 at 3:18 am

    smiles…it iss good to have those lines…because there are many that will think nothing of crossing them…i have them for sure…and i am def not afraid to pop if i need to…smiles…

    • shanyns said,

      July 18, 2012 at 1:10 am

      Brian – you are so right! Too many don’t respect the lines – their own or others. We need the lines, and the warnings! 🙂 Glad you came by my friend.

  5. July 11, 2012 at 11:05 am

    I’m very glad you took Laurie’s word suggestion and wrote it up into this poem. It is a potent anthem of self-possession and awareness and is such an inspiration to read.

    • shanyns said,

      July 18, 2012 at 1:10 am

      Kerry – love your comment! Thanks for coming by.

  6. Marian said,

    July 11, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    very, very nice, Shanyn. whoosh!

  7. Zach Payne said,

    July 11, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    Shanyn, as somebody who’s taken far too much crap from far too many people over the years … I love this. Absolutely love this.

    • shanyns said,

      July 18, 2012 at 1:09 am

      Zach – you and I both know the power of that line. Great that you loved the poem. So glad you came by.

  8. July 12, 2012 at 1:58 am

    There is power here, as palpable as a line in the sand.

    • shanyns said,

      July 18, 2012 at 1:08 am

      Thank you! I am so glad you liked the poem and that you stopped by.

  9. kaykuala said,

    July 12, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Strong expressions with power in there, Shanyn! There’s nothing like facing it all together!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      July 18, 2012 at 1:02 am

      Thanks Hank! 🙂 Appreciate you coming by and sharing.


Leave a Reply

