Devil you know

“Better the devil you know.”

This passes for wisdom.

That smiling demon

says, “love” and kills.

The devil you know.

Makes no sense to me.

There is no devil to know.

They are lies. They are pain.

They haunt and torture.

Friend, family and lover

can be a ‘devil you know’.

They are still a devil,

you know?

 

“Better the devil you know.”

Oh yes, that makes sense.

No, not really. Not at all.

One demon you know

does not make you

invisible to others.

One devil in your life

doesn’t make you safe.

 

“Better the devil you know”

I do know you.

I flee from you.

Walk, run and hide

from your sweetly

dripping false face

with killer heart

full of lies. Lies.

 

“Better the devil you know”

If this is wisdom, let me

be the fool who says,

“No, I”ll chance a new one.”

This one I know, and wish

to have nothing more of.

This one can pass me by.

Keep on walking, dragging

that tail of sulfur and lies.

 

“Better the devil you know”

means nothing to someone

who has faced her demons.

It is a cowardly way, falsely

safe and cruelly sane.

Call me crazy but when

I know it is a devil,

I pray the hedge and

then I run away! I walk.

Crawl. Dive. Dodge.

 

Devils you know, know you.

They can  find you again.

Don’t leave the door open,

not so wide. Windows either.

Shut them out, in any form.

There is no ‘better devil’ to know.

Keep it easy, them and us.

 

For With Real Toads Friday challenge with Fireblossom.

17 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    July 22, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    nice….dont leave the door open…i hear you…prayed the hedge before myself…there is no better devil, true….

    • shanyns said,

      July 23, 2012 at 1:07 pm

      Brian – I thought you would understand this one! Thanks for coming by and leaving your thoughts my friend. Great to see you.

  2. kaykuala said,

    July 23, 2012 at 6:41 am

    Friend, family and lover
    can be a ‘devil you know’.
    They are still a devil,
    you know?

    Sometimes it’s sad that those close to us are the ones who let us down. For others we need not bother. But those close to us we have to help, to support but they failed us.
    Nice write Sharyn.!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      July 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Hank – thanks for your thoughtful comment, and I agree completely. Great to see you here. Thanks for coming by.

  3. July 24, 2012 at 11:53 am

    “Keep on walking, dragging

    that tail of sulfur and lies.”

    Love this and I love pray the hedge…

    “I pray the hedge and

    then I run away! I walk.

    Crawl. Dive. Dodge.”

    Love that portion lots!!!

    So good to see you Shanyn!!

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 6:22 am

      So glad you enjoyed the poem Hannah. Great that you stopped by! Always good to see you here.

  4. ManicDdaily said,

    July 24, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Hi Shanyn – I found the end of this especially powerful – the idea that the devil you know knows you. Yes, that’s so true. Very well expressed. k.

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 6:22 am

      I thought you might like that. It is the part that always gets me too, knowing that the devil I know knows me as well.

  5. Bodhirose said,

    July 24, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    We can only hope we have the awareness to know these devils when they show up in our lives. I’ve been stung a few times…but then, who hasn’t..right? You made the devil so common here…always needing to be on guard… Really like this.

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 6:23 am

      Thanks! I truly believe that we can be lulled into a false sense of safety because we presume things about the ‘devil we know’. It can be deadly.

  6. July 24, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    ooh, `dragging that tail of sulphur and lies’ – wonderful writing. Also, I love your site. The sunflower is my favorite flower.

  7. Susan said,

    July 24, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    I reject that folk-ism too. Is there no where safe?
    I like how you build your argument–from the very nature of devils to knowing means knowing the truth to
    “If this is wisdom, let me
    be the fool who says,
    “No, I”ll chance a new one.”
    to
    “Better the devil you know”
    means nothing to someone
    who has faced her demons.”
    and then the amazing last stanza of action for safety.

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 6:24 am

      Susan – thank you! 😀 Thank you so very much for this thoughtful comment.

  8. zongrik said,

    July 25, 2012 at 3:15 am

    just freaking out over imaginary beings does not make for a productive happy live

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 6:25 am

      You are so right, and ignoring real life devils does not make for safe one! Great that you stopped by.


Leave a Reply

