Zhuihitsu: Foggy Morning

Blue skies arch over our heads, and yet behind races the storm.

Faster than we think, looming dark, eating blue sky and light.

Safe at home, bringing dogs in between lightning bolts.

Hearts racing as wind blows through open windows.

Low rumble becomes a shattering bang, then light.

Wind, rain, thunder and lightning hammer us.

Rain becomes lighter, nourishing, not hating.

We wake to deep fog, fog that leaves trails

of moisture on the windows and gives

the storm broken trees a sense of

being ghosts as the cattle walk

through to come into the

growing sunlight.

Foggy morning.

 

For the With Real Toads Challenge, Mr. Linky is not working today, check the comments to find the posts by other amazing poets!

22 Comments

  1. August 2, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Sounds like you had quite the storm there. Loved all the imagery, bet it can be quite scary though, when the storms are really powerful.

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:49 am

      We have had some real bang up storms, and while it can be scary, it is also a pretty good reminder of how ‘not large’ we actually are! I love a good storm, as long as there are no funnel clouds!

  2. brian miller said,

    August 2, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    nice…you really make the morning come alive…crisp visuals…i get the sense of calm after the storm as well…

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:50 am

      After that storm, seeing the fog, was like being wrapped up in a blanket of calm. It was really neat. Thanks for stopping by Brian.

  3. toseekhimwithallofmyheart said,

    August 2, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Shanyn — I don’t live in what could even be remotely considered the country. I don’t even think you could call it a residential area, but not quite the city either. Whatever you want to call it, the words of this poem of yours brought me right into YOUR land. God’s country. So thank you. Much appreciated, my friend. This is beautiful!!!!

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:51 am

      I am SO pleased you were able to join me in the country, it is amazing to experience something like a storm, and fog, in the country. Thanks so much for sharing, and of course, for stopping by.

  4. August 2, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    Oooh this is wonderfully atmospheric. I love the sturdy presence of the cattle amid the turbulence of weather.

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:52 am

      Kerry – thanks! πŸ™‚ They really are amazing, so often I know what the weather will do just by how they behave. The storm is passed when they come out from their chosen shelter. So glad you enjoyed the poem.

  5. August 3, 2012 at 12:06 am

    This is beautiful. You took me right there. I so loved all the foggy mornings at the beach, when I lived there.

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:52 am

      Sherry – I love foggy mornings, and beach ones would be so magical! Thanks for coming by, great to see you here!

  6. August 3, 2012 at 1:12 am

    Oh, very much like a diary entry…very personal and captured with an intensity that draws your reader right in!! I loved this Shanyn!!

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:53 am

      Thanks Hannah – glad you enjoyed it! πŸ™‚ Great that you stopped by, you always leave me with a smile!

  7. Subhan Zein said,

    August 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Hi

    You write good poetry up here, so please keep penning and keep inspiring! πŸ™‚

    I would like to thank you for following my blog. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you and that your visits in my blog have been and will always be a joyful ride.

    Thank you again and I wish you a lovely day! πŸ™‚

    Subhan Zein

  8. Susan said,

    August 3, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    “We wake to deep fog, fog that leaves trails
    of moisture on the windows and gives
    the storm broken trees a sense of
    being ghosts as the cattle walk”

    Life and death in a fog after the drama. Wow.

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:54 am

      It really was Susan. We had no damage near our house, but looking out in the trees we could see where they fell. It was so cool.

  9. August 4, 2012 at 12:33 am

    I loved this, Shanyn. I could feel it happening…”bringing dogs in” made it seem so real…just wonderful. (My dog would approve, too.)
    K

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:54 am

      Kay – so glad I got a paw of approval from your pup! Mine send tail wags back! πŸ™‚ Thanks for coming by and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  10. Ella said,

    August 4, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    Shanyn,
    I loved how I felt reading your poem~ So reminds me of my Maine..
    We always use to laugh about changing our town’s name to Fogport…
    You would drive 6 miles in either direction, there would be no fog. The fog loved to settle in the cove’s neck by the bay~ I loved listening to the foghorns at night~
    Wonderful!

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:55 am

      Fog horns would be so neat to hear! I’d love that! Fogport, sounds like a great name to change to! Ella – thanks for coming by and leaving your thoughts. They are cherished and appreciated!

  11. Margaret said,

    August 8, 2012 at 12:08 am

    nourishing, not hating… mother nature has quite the mood swings!

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:56 am

      She does have a temper, that is for sure! Thanks for stopping by Margaret!


Leave a Reply

