Wedding Dance

We used to dance. All night.

First song to the last song.

Concerts, the bar, in a hay field.

We used to dance. All night.

 

First song to the last song.

We knew our favorites so well.

Didn’t have to think, just move.

First song to the last song.

 

We knew our favorites so well.

The songs hold your memory.

I miss the dancing though.m

We knew our favorite so well.

 

The songs hold your memory.

I see couples dancing together

and I miss dancing with you.

The songs hold your memory.

 

Was at a wedding dance this weekend, and had a great time.  No doubt about it but I did miss my old dancing partner and friend Kelly.  We really could cut the rug and move the floor!  Miss you Kelly.

13 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    August 8, 2012 at 3:31 am

    smiles…i love to dance…and i def know those songs where they just take you and you dance without even thinking about it…smiles.sorry you dont have your friend…

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 3:34 am

      Smiles back my friend! My friend has been gone since ’91 and mostly the hurt has been replaced with good memories, but when it comes to dancing I will always miss dancing with him! 🙂

  2. jenneandrews said,

    August 8, 2012 at 4:10 am

    This has a beautiful simplicity to it, Shanyn– the repetition works well for you here…xxxj

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:47 am

      Jenne – thank you! I so appreciate that, and am so glad you stopped by.

  3. August 8, 2012 at 4:17 am

    The repeated and last line “The songs hold your memory” holds all the emotion pent-up throughout the poem. A memoir in miniature.

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 5:47 am

      Thanks for coming by – it truly is a memoir in miniature. I love those four words. 🙂

  4. ManicDdaily said,

    August 8, 2012 at 11:29 am

    The repetitions here work very well with the dance, as does the rhythm. So sorry about your friend. k.

  5. Leo said,

    August 8, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    Agree with K.. repetitions strengthen the memories part, and makes it more vivid to us. Beautiful poetry this. Perhaps, your friend still dances with you through such memories.. 🙂

    ~ Leo @ I Rhyme Without Reason ~

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Leo – I love this! I’m sure he does still dance with me in my memories. Thank you so much!

  6. Serena said,

    August 9, 2012 at 4:14 am

    I love to dance and you reminded me why… I can remember dancing all night, once all alone. I didn’t care, i couldn’t stop, but I miss those times dancing with friends with lovers and also with myself.

    • shanyns said,

      August 9, 2012 at 11:18 pm

      Serena – dancing is all good, but sometimes it is so much better to have a partner to share it with. I’ve danced many hours alone. Keep dancing!

  7. Susan said,

    August 9, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    I believe you: the meter, the repetition, “The songs hold your memory.” Indeed! It’s true enough with one song, with many– as with dancing–how much more missing!


Leave a Reply

