Miscreant

“Well, yes mate. See, I’m dishonest. And a dishonest man you can always trust to be dishonest. Honestly. It’s the honest ones you need to watch out for, because you never know when they’re going to do something incredibly… stupid.” Captain Jack Sparrow

 

Miscreant! You. Yes you.

Thought I didn’t know?

Of course I did!  I know you.

After all, it’s not a secret

that I can see through you.

Your honest face hides it well.

Looking innocent and sweet.

 

Miscreant! Me. Yes me.

Pirate at heart, free spirit.

Thought you knew, but no?

I care not for your rules

and your transparent lies.

Your face looks surprised.

Looking all shocked and ill.

 

Miscreant! You. Me. All!

Who decides our labels?

Thought you knew. I do!

You give me mine when I

am not what you want.

Your face, oh, what joy.

To see you crumble now.

 

Miscreant! Jolly good.

I’ll take two, thanks.

With a side of saucy.

And a dash of ‘just me’.

You look so cute, being

all discouraged and blue.

Off the edge of the map.

 

Miscreant! I like it. It fits.

Your rules don’t suit me.

Neither does your will

to create all square pegs.

Leave us be who don’t fit

yer blasted holes! Let us be.

We be miscreants, proud.

 

Miscreant! Fly that flag.

Sail those seas, to the edge

of the map where monsters be!

You’ll never catch us

bound up in rules and in law.

Better leave the wildness

to those who truly are – wild.

 

For With Real Toads, A word with Laurie who chose Miscreant, which works well as I am watching Pirates of the Caribbean with my son and relishing some pirate attitude, sword fighting and general  miscreant adventure and fun!  I’ll never fit in, glad for that I admit.  Who’s gonna join me?

13 Comments

  1. Laurie Kolp said,

    August 11, 2012 at 1:49 am

    How perfect for the prompt. We love watching Pirates of the Caribbean, too. I especially like:

    I’ll take two, thanks.

    With a side of saucy.

    And a dash of ‘just me’.

    • shanyns said,

      August 11, 2012 at 2:26 am

      Thanks Laurie I had to do a pirate theme with that prompt, and while we watched Jack and the crew have fun! So glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Mama Zen said,

    August 11, 2012 at 2:27 am

    I love that third stanza! Awesome!

    • shanyns said,

      August 11, 2012 at 2:30 am

      So cool, glad you enjoyed it! And found some awesome there too!

  3. Susan said,

    August 11, 2012 at 5:41 am

    “Pirate at heart” an outsider by choice–I love how this playing on miscreant moves in opposition between two who know all of the games. I hope they travel together to the edges ’cause it can get lonely out there.

  4. August 11, 2012 at 7:04 am

    Loved the movie quote (and the movie). This is my favorite line of your poem: “Leave us be who don’t fit”

    Yes, we are all miscreants in one way or another.

  5. August 11, 2012 at 10:19 am

    Nice being a bit of a rebel, isn’t it. 🙂 I don’t like wearing labels either, and have never tried to fit in, who is anyone to judge another but, if you do me wrong, I may live up to the name then…hehe
    Really like this Shanyn ..Although I would not enjoy being a pirate, too much like hard work..haha

  6. brian miller said,

    August 11, 2012 at 11:05 am

    nice…i like me some pirates…the last stanza is my fav…you build well to it….leaving the wildness to those that are truly wild…smiles….i like a little rebel flair…

  7. Teresa said,

    August 11, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    I do love this! You turn being a miscreant into a badge of courage!

  8. August 11, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    I could sense something in the rhythm of the lines, but couldn’t identify it until “fly that flag, sail those seas” — a rollicking tale, Shanyn, perfect for the prompt.
    K

  9. August 11, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    You had fun with this, and I had fun reading it:)

  10. Margaret said,

    August 13, 2012 at 12:49 am

    Leave us be who don’t fit
    yer blasted holes! Let us be.
    We be miscreants, proud.

    Perhaps this should be used in Pirates of the Caribbean 4? 🙂

  11. August 16, 2012 at 4:58 am

    I too love that third stanza…Who gets to choose the labels and why should I wear one….well, I wear weird well. 🙂


Leave a Reply

