Good enough

Measure yourself against no other but your self.

Do you best. Really try. You can do it.  You can.

That is offensive.  You shouldn’t try so hard.

 

Each thing you learn prepares you to learn more.

Don’t give up.  Keep trying.  Just one more time.

Everyone should be rewarded for being there.

 

Excellence comes from dedication and passion.

Believe in you.  Be passionate.  Don’t quit. Ever.

Not your place. Don’t encourage.  Don’t correct.

 

Encourage each other. Help someone else do well.

Nothing worthwhile comes easy.  That’s okay. Really.

It is okay to be ‘just okay’.  Don’t try too hard.

 

If you love it enough to do it, love it enough to do it well.

Do your best. Have fun.  Be a good listener.  Help others.

Don’t talk.  You say too much. You are too much.

 

When you do your best, your best is enough. Shine!

Integrity is who you are when no one is watching.

We, the good enoughs, want you to stop trying.

 

Be either hot or cold, love it or leave it.  Be more than ‘there’!

Never dial it in.  Be there fully or stay home.

Participation is enough, why do you want more?

 

There are a few things I am working through tonight (gee can you guess from the above poem?).  In three voices – the middle one more my philosophy, the bold bottom words and thoughts shared with me recently.  I am struggling with wanting to do things well and against those who are happy with mediocre, or ‘good enough’. 

 

Poem II

 

I might not be the best you’ve got.

That will always be true.

But you’ll never see a heart

bigger than mine for this!

 

I may not be the fastest or smartest.

That may too often be true.

But you’ll never see ‘try’

like mine, that is for sure!

 

I may not win, nor even place.

Time will tell for sure.

But I’ll be there doing my best

every single time for love.

 

I can’t seem to get off the bench.

The cut I don’t quite make.

But I’ll cheer you all on

no one will be prouder!

 

What’s this?  I did it! I made it!

Didn’t see that one coming, did they?

No one believed in ‘just one more’

but I did, and it took a few!

 

Dedicated to my sweet son, and my darling husband.  Love you both.

11 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    August 14, 2012 at 11:08 am

    smiles….good enough is not where i want to be…but we have to pick the things we choose are inportant to be truly excellent in….and which we choose will say much of who we are…

    • shanyns said,

      August 14, 2012 at 1:29 pm

      I agree Brian, we can’t be good at everything we do, but that which we choose to do we should do well. Little or big things. Some stuff it doesn’t matter, but you know your effort on unseen things. I love your last line: what we choose will say much of who we are! Thanks for that encouragement my friend.

  2. August 14, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Lovely message…I like to try harder because frankly, there is always someone faster and clever than us. But I believe the measure is ourselves and how we want to grow, rather than others ~

    Happy day to you~

  3. August 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    I love both poems, Shanyns, but especially the second one. The heart that goes with the trying is what makes it the best ever. Good words!

  4. August 14, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    It is always difficult to find the motivation to excel when those around one seem happy to settle for mediocre. I can feel the conflict in the first poem very well.

  5. Mama Zen said,

    August 14, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    I love this!

  6. Susan said,

    August 15, 2012 at 1:23 am

    I like the three voice poem. It’s reminiscent of being a teacher in 10th and 11th grade where peer pressure says not to raise the bar. WIth its bold print, it seems like the loudest voice, but I will be optimistic as you have depicted it balanced against 2 other voices. The second poem is more personal, as if your narrator is trying to be heard, or at least be seen for her gifts. When we are testing ourselves the negative voices ought to be quiet! How many of us are strong enough to continue anyway? It’s a good story to get out into the world.

  7. Margaret said,

    August 15, 2012 at 2:22 am

    Integrity is who you are when no one is watching &

    you’ll never see ‘try’ like mine

    Well… if everyone lived this way, the world would be a different place.

  8. August 15, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Both poems so well done, Shanyn. I agree with Margaret: I loved those same two lines, and she’s right: the world would be different if everyone tried.
    K

  9. Marian said,

    August 16, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    aw! trying…. how about just doing, or being? love the raw- and real-ness of both of these, Shanyn.

  10. butterflybiblestudies said,

    August 18, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    Well Shanyn…again, you’ve said a mouthful ~ relating to so many of us! Simply Love Your Poetry! Pam Mosher


Leave a Reply

