Blurred Lines

Watering my flowers.

no watering another woman’s flowers

Looking at our garden.

no looking at her newly bought bounty

Moving blurs the lines

some things stay here to be hers

We built this place up

will she get to know the land and birds

Fed the birds, the toads and frogs

God let her be good to the wild things!

I’ll miss this place, our first home.

I prayed for her to find it, she did.

Lines are blurred for me.

will she know the love here?

or is it just the tears in my eyes?

 

Selling our home, our ranch, is an interesting experience.  I was watering flowers the other night and thought, “I’m watering another woman’s flowers.” and then the poem was born of that.

13 Comments

  1. Helen said,

    August 23, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    Beautiful, heartfelt poem born of sadness, loss. Nothing but positives lie ahead!

  2. August 23, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Oh it is so hard to leave a place that has been Home. I hope the next place will soon be home as well. Will it be a ranch as well? I cant imagine, if it isnt, as you and farming are so deeply entwined. May change bring continued happiness.

  3. Margaret said,

    August 23, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Oh… this is magnificent. Our previous home, my husband’s flower garden was magnificent. People walked by our house just to see it. The new owners did not keep it up…

    Selling your ranch… I wonder what life has in store for you? Another ranch…. a move to the city?

  4. Susan said,

    August 23, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    You captured a truth I’ve been through; you showed me how it felt.

  5. brian miller said,

    August 23, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    it is interesting to think about…we have moved a ton of time…double digits…selling the house is a rough experience too…at least for us….but yeah i know that feeling too…

  6. August 23, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    My heart aches for your loss Shanyn…I sure hope the replacement is all you dream it to be. God’s blessings on you and your family. ❤

  7. sreeja said,

    August 24, 2012 at 4:37 am

    This is sad and yes I can feel that…… beautifully done…

  8. August 24, 2012 at 5:43 am

    There is bittersweet joy in selling a home…I too hope the new lady will be good to the wild things. You were watering a prayer as you walked among your flowers.

  9. lolamouse said,

    August 24, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Your poem was so poignant and sad. At first I thought it was about dying, but I guess, in a way, it is. Very beautifully done.

  10. Ella said,

    August 24, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    This tugged at my heart! I know this pain and it hurts! Remember your memories dance in your spirit and they will keep you warm~
    Beautiful, sad n’ haunting! I loved how you wrote it… (((hugs)))
    I so hope the new owner will embrace the joy of nature~

  11. August 24, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    This must be in the top five of life’s most traumatic experiences: loosing one’s home, handing it over to another, moving on. Do not under-estimate the grieving process. I’m not sure which of Ella’s images you felt the strongest connection, but we can all appreciate the emotion of this poem.

  12. Grace said,

    August 24, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    Moving is hard as you leave a part of you behind….I hope that the new owners will love it as much as you do ~

    Happy day to you ~

  13. August 25, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    I love the back and forth of the different layers of emotion in this…very nice!


Leave a Reply

