Morning People

I think I’ve discovered a universal truth.

Morning people are team players.

They awake, ready to tackle the day.

Cheerful faces and loud noises.

They say, “Good morning God!”

 

We, the night owls, are more solitary.

Moving quietly we enjoy the darkness.

We let them sleep, slumber in their beds.

Silent smiles and low volume, key tapping.

We say, “Good God! Morning?” and He smiles.

 

I live with two morning people, one who wakes singing almost every single day.  I am out numbered and outgunned by their team spirited early morning energy.  I am, however, a dedicated night owl and will quietly move through the night as often as I can when I don’t have to surrender to the morning insanity! 🙂 

12 Comments

  1. Sherry Marr said,

    November 15, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    I love this, Shanyn! Especially that someone wakes singing every single day. Now THAT is Happiness!

    • shanyns said,

      November 16, 2012 at 3:00 am

      My son wakes every day singing, he is a very joyful morning person. Which is the only reason I can do mornings! That and coffee! Glad you liked it Sherry.

  2. brian miller said,

    November 15, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    hahaha good god morning…smiles….gimme my coffee and i will be ok…just dont talk to me before then….smiles.

    • shanyns said,

      November 16, 2012 at 3:00 am

      Brian I hear ya, coffee is a life saving device in our house! 🙂

  3. November 16, 2012 at 3:57 am

    I am both , Shanyn! Love this poem!

  4. November 16, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    I Love this!! Your last line made me chuckle…love the same phrase turned…so humorous!! I, too, am a night-owl!! ♥

    • shanyns said,

      November 16, 2012 at 11:29 pm

      Night owls rock! 😀 and I don’t mind quiet morning people! ha ha

      • November 16, 2012 at 11:34 pm

        Yeah, I’m not much for talking in the A.M. and the three guys in this house are loud!

  5. November 16, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    Smiles. What about us insomniacs?!

    • shanyns said,

      November 16, 2012 at 11:29 pm

      🙂 Well I’m not sure where you fit in actually…ha ha good point though! Thanks for coming by.

  6. November 17, 2012 at 4:13 am

    This is my life too 🙂


Leave a Reply

