I miss you

I Miss You I

 

I miss you, with your consistent heat.

Always just right for rising up.

For toasty warm or broiling hot.

Never off the numbers, just so.

I miss you oven dear. I truly do.

 

I Miss You II

 

Hands rest lightly on greying head.

Ears of velvet twitch lightly.

Eyes clouding, still full of love.

Moving slow, but always loyal.

Steady as she goes sweet one.

You’ll never be alone.

When you are gone,

I will always miss you.

 

I Miss You III

 

Missing you. I think I miss you. Maybe.

Maybe I miss the idea of you. I think.

No, I miss you. I’m sure of it now.

But silently I wait. I can’t ask

Do you miss me too?

I wonder, alone.

Sure of it now.

Missing

you.

 

For dVerse and Stu’s interesting prompt.

14 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    December 1, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    Ha, we do often wonder, don’t we, whether the person WE miss also misses us as intently. I liked all three stanzas…but the third was my favorite.

  2. brian miller said,

    December 1, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    interesting…three very different ways of looking at missing you…the middle one carries a lot of emotion…esp on the heals of the first…missing your oven…made me smile at first but i would miss mine too…

  3. December 1, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Clever rift on missing and who misses the most

  4. December 1, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Aww… the second stanza (I’m guessing) is for a much loved pet?
    I sometimes wonder if people miss me too that I’m not longer in touch with.
    Very poignant Shanyn.

  5. December 1, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    ha nice..you had me going through all kinds of emotions while reading these…smiled at the one with the oven and deeply felt second one..the insecurity in the third…nicely done

  6. poemsofhateandhope said,

    December 1, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Great takes on the prompt. Really enjoyed the emotion of the last two… But also the first…amazing how those everyday things are so important, and how we would miss them! Very clever and creative! Loving your poetic brain!

  7. Laurie Kolp said,

    December 1, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    I guess the second one is about your horse. These are all lovely.

  8. December 1, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Love the different versions of missing something, or someone ~

    I like the going back and forth of the third one ~ Nice to see you ~

  9. December 1, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    I like your 3 different looks at missing. Something for everyone, lol. I like the last 2 the best and not because the first wasn’t well written, just I’ve never missed my oven.

  10. December 1, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    I love the way these three sit together. The oven one particularly made me smile!

  11. December 1, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Oh, these play off each other so nicely. Wonderful poetry here.

  12. ManicDdaily said,

    December 2, 2012 at 12:04 am

    Well done = all the different formats. k.

  13. wolfsrosebud said,

    December 2, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    did feel the compassion in your lines


Leave a Reply

