Sixty Second Poet

 

Do you have a minute to spare buddy?

How about 59 seconds of your time?

If I can write it in a minute, will you

read it and tell me in under two?

 

Change lanes, change channels.

Follow up or follow through.

Table for five with visible

seating for four please.

 

sssssssscccccccccccccccrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeetttttttttttttcccccccccccccccchhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

NO INPUT

SELECT MENU

 

Where have the tones and test patterns gone?

Where is the static man, I miss the sound!

Shhhhhhhhhhhh…turn that off it’s too late

for them to broadcast. We are gonna be

busted so bad if Mom wakes up now!

 

Time. Time. Time. Time.

If you used all you had

instead of lamenting

the moments you lost

how would the world

have changed by now?

 

Sound bytes. Popcorn bits.

Gritty stuck in your teeth

or so sticky sweet you’ll

be sick tomorrow for sure.

 

Get the main point, thank you.

I have no time for a story,

just give me the take-away

message so I can get on

with rushing about looking

busy for those who whorship

the godling of static treadmills.

 

Each stanza here done in sixty seconds or less. I’m hoping you enjoyed them for longer than five minutes!  Linking up at dVerse Poets. Thanks Brian for another great bartending.

19 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    January 27, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    oy we have become so fast paced a world…i think in the process we have lost much as well…i do remember the test patterns though, ha and fearing getting caught up late watching tv…time to slow down a bit…smiles. really like the creative way you brought this together…

    • shanyns said,

      January 27, 2013 at 6:44 pm

      Thanks Brian! I was thinking about TV just the other day. We had two channels, if the wind wasn’t blowing, and neither was 24 hours. It was antennae farmer vision all the way. Now we have HD and 1080p LOL What a change. Glad you enjoyed the poem, and thanks for coming by with your memories and smiles.

  2. Ruth said,

    January 27, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    great write, Shan – i’m impressed by the 60 s (or less) per stanza – came through really well, very reflective of our times

    • shanyns said,

      January 27, 2013 at 10:11 pm

      Ruth! I’m so pleased you enjoyed the poem. In the country our TV really didn’t advance very quickly from farmer vision! I remember those moments well.

  3. Sabio Lantz said,

    January 27, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    Arrghhhh, when poetry hits me like media — with flashy expressions,
    short lines where I have to scroll and scroll and incoherence,
    I have to say — why the heck do I read these
    I could just watch movie trailers all day! 😉

    You conveyed the irritation well!

    • shanyns said,

      January 27, 2013 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks Sabio. I know what you mean about watching movie trailers. Sometimes they end up being better than the movie! Great that you stopped by.

  4. ManicDdaily said,

    January 27, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    Really well done, Shan. I really enjoyed this. This hit me especially:

    Time. Time. Time. Time.

    If you used all you had

    instead of lamenting

    the moments you lost

    how would the world

    have changed by now?

    My biggest problem I fear. k.

    • shanyns said,

      January 27, 2013 at 10:14 pm

      Ah yes…it is a problem for us all. I wonder if we are being taught that in a subtle media driven way? Thanks for coming by.

  5. Mary said,

    January 27, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Shan, this is well done. You have done some good writing in so little, time, time, time.

  6. Laurie Kolp said,

    January 27, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    haha… staying up late and trying not to get caught watching TV made me smile.

    • shanyns said,

      January 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm

      One of our two channels would do movie marathons and if you forgot to turn off the TV before the channel went off air you were so busted! 🙂 Thanks for coming by. So glad you enjoyed the poem.

      • Laurie Kolp said,

        January 28, 2013 at 7:10 pm

        Your welcome!

  7. January 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    It’s true that we expect everything right this second. If our phone freezes for a split second, we are ready to either throw the phone or buy a new one haha. It is pretty crazy.

    • shanyns said,

      January 27, 2013 at 10:24 pm

      Gretchen! So glad you came over. And yes, it is sad how immediate our satisfaction has become. What about waiting for somethings? Alas our media driven culture would rather have us be slaves I guess! Great that you enjoyed the poem.

  8. Grace said,

    January 27, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    I like the fast paced writing ~ I can only do this when I am really inspired but then I end up re-writing and re-writing it ~

    I agree, everything nowadays is fast pace, no time for intimacy and deeper connection ~ Happy Sunday ~

  9. Tony said,

    January 27, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    There’s an old Russian joke about growing up with 2 TV channels: Channel 1 was prpoganda, while on channel 2 a man shouted at you to turn back to channel 1 🙂

    I remember 3 channel TV in the UK when I was growing up – and I remember the testcard too. Different times – maybe Orwell was right after all.

  10. claudia said,

    January 28, 2013 at 4:20 am

    funny…now that you mention the test pattern, i remember them as well.. oh my..that were good times when there was a break on tv..sometimes i think everything has become so breathless..kinda..

  11. wolfsrosebud said,

    January 28, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    so do like the popcorn bits


Leave a Reply

