I Quit!

I quit farming today.

Quit ranching. Quit cows.

If it wasn’t one thing

it was six others.

 

I quit trying today.

Quit horses. Quit cows.

If they weren’t falling down

they were stuck in a fence.

 

I quit trudging today.

Quit snow. Quit winter.

If it wasn’t froze up

it was stalled out ย dead.

 

I quit with it all. Done!

Quit doing. Quit trying.

But then I’m not really

built that way, am I?

 

I quit beating myself up.

Quit that. Quit that too.

I realized cows are dumb

and one horse is clever.

 

I quit feeling so helpless.

Quit yelling. Quit crying.

We got the heifer out, and

the cow’s head unstuck.

 

No one died. Only one cried.

Nothing broke beyond

a farmer’s ability to repair.

So maybe I didn’t quit after

all except to quit expectations.

 

I quit. For a few minutes is all.

Quit with the quitting again.

I quit sometimes but never

for very long. Just not wired

that way us farm folks. Just not.

 

It was NOT a fun day – batteries dead, water frozen, cows being cows at their most clumsy and stupid, horses being a royal pain and yet at the end of the day we are all okay. A bit tired, battered and some are bloodied. ย If someone had shown up with a trailer and cash maybe I would have quit, but they didn’t so we carry on. Again. Still.

19 Comments

  1. apten0dyte said,

    February 2, 2013 at 12:21 am

    sorry about your day

  2. February 2, 2013 at 12:32 am

    Oh, boy. We had a day like that at home…not on a farm. First week of Home School and that was one great poem…I relate. If it wasn’t one thing it was 6 others and I am wondering what was I thinking! Hugsm Sister!

    • shanyns said,

      February 2, 2013 at 2:00 am

      Thankfully homeschool was the thing that went well today, and yesterday. The rest, however, was testing me in many ways. Thanks for the hugs, and here are some back! ((hugs))

  3. butterflybiblestudies said,

    February 2, 2013 at 12:50 am

    Before I even got to the (I didn’t quit) part, I knew you didn’t…because I know that You Ate Not A Quitter! ๐Ÿ™‚ Pam Mosher

    • shanyns said,

      February 2, 2013 at 2:01 am

      Pam, you do know me well! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the love girl.

  4. February 2, 2013 at 3:54 am

    Wow. You are putting my “hard,” days into perspective my friend! That’s not easy work and even more so when it’s frigid outside. Great poem and great attitude to keep going, Shanyn! โ™ฅ

    • shanyns said,

      February 2, 2013 at 3:58 am

      Thanks Hannah! โค your words and you encourage me so!

      • February 2, 2013 at 4:09 am

        You’re so welcome!!! You encourage me as well with your inspiring meditations! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. February 2, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Sorry about your day but this poem is really great! It portrays the strength of farmers who just keep on going! Nicely done ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. February 2, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    Being a farmer isn’t easy. It takes strength of mind & body. If you were a quitter, you would have quit long ago. Your poem is a great expression of the frustration you felt. You are strong & courageous.

  7. February 4, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    Perseverance comes with a price, otherwise it wouldn’t be that valuable.

  8. Laurie Kolp said,

    February 5, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    It’s okay to feel like quitting every once in awhile, but you’re right… things always seem to work out just fine.

  9. brian miller said,

    February 5, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    nice…sometimes that is what it takes..quitting that it has to go the way we want it to…and realizing that is not the end of the world…you had me wondering there for a bit…smiles….

  10. February 5, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    One of those days…but gald you didn’t quit. And so that’s life eh? Wonderful way you expressed your frustration in poetry. Your form really captured it all. ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. February 6, 2013 at 1:09 am

    I can’t seem to quit the things I should, but tend to quit the things I shouldn’t. I like your poem, hoping your tomorrow is brighter

  12. February 6, 2013 at 2:02 am

    Love it! My grandpa was a pig farmer, I can hear his voice in your poem, but of course he never really quit either- taught me to work and worked until he was 85. Thanks for sharing.

  13. MarinaSofia said,

    February 6, 2013 at 6:21 pm

    oh, bless, could so relate to that – a very strong voice and a very constructive way to handle your exasperation.

  14. February 7, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    Sorry to hear about your day…I like the quitting to quitting lines ~

    Don’t we all have those times ~ Hope things are looking better for you ~

    Grace


Leave a Reply

