Help I need somebody

Fireblossom at With Real Toads has a neat challenge today. I’m taking it to the extreme of word association by using all the words, and hoping for something fun.  I’m not editing, I’m just writing responses to the words on the list. Enjoy!

 

dignity none to be found in winter gear
woven into my thoughts are dreams
innocence that I lost so long ago to a
desire that was not my own cutting short
exploring thoughts of a tropical get-away.

tangible things – frozen gloves and eyelashes
sweltering under my winter gear, I’m faint!
questions arrise about my sanity, or lack thereof
simple tasks become so hard in a blizzard
flicker there goes the power – no heat, no lights.

clamp down on the panic, generators come on-line!
assaulted by the forty below blues, I wonder if the
projector will show Star Wars on the wall again 
scorpions made of Lego stab my bare feet in the dark.
served again a bowl of cold humble pie. Cows can be

merciless in their needs and desires. Farms don’t have
sidewalks to chalk, pavement to pound, but there are always
secrets to keep, whispered into soft equine ears, never needing
permission to share, and always keep their secrets, even when
enticed by apples and carrots and things sweet and crunchy.

otherwise I don’t know what I would do, maybe a double
shot of espresso to keep me awake and not playing
opossum on the couch, wondering about warm days
missed thinking about spring instead of playing in the snow
giving rise to doubts about this farm life we love.

prayed oh I’ve prayed.
packed and repacked, somethings packed to stay.
bulldoze those crazy notions,  don’t be so
nervous about the future. It will be
exactly as God plans. And He makes good plans!

20 Comments

  1. Helen said,

    February 7, 2013 at 5:53 am

    The definitive ultimate word association game … brava!!

  2. February 7, 2013 at 8:19 am

    Oh my gosh, you managed all the words! Bravo! Like I said before I admire all you do in farming….such a hard job.

    • shanyns said,

      February 7, 2013 at 3:07 pm

      Susie – thanks! So glad you stopped by, and that you liked the poem.

  3. coalblack said,

    February 7, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    I’m really impressed by how imaginative the Toads and Toad followers have been with shy girl’s word list! This is a really original approach, and worked quite well!

  4. February 7, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    I like how you used the words in your poem!! I’ve stepped on those scorpions made of Lego and they do hurt!

    • shanyns said,

      February 7, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      Lego is a very good foot killer! 🙂 Glad you stopped by and am so pleased you enjoyed the poem.

  5. Mary said,

    February 7, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    Wow, Shan! This is very, very clever. You definitely worked hard at this. My favorite stanza is the last stanza…’exactly as God plans. And He makes good plans.’ Perfection.

    • shanyns said,

      February 7, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      Mary – thank you so much! Thanks for your encouraging comment and I’m so pleased you enjoyed the poem.

  6. Marian said,

    February 7, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    interesting! feels like i just learned a bit about you 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      February 7, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      Ah yes, you did learn a bit 😉 thanks for coming over.

  7. claudia said,

    February 7, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    ah he surely makes good plans..and playing
    opossum on the couch…sounds not like such a bad thing at all..smiles

    • shanyns said,

      February 7, 2013 at 9:26 pm

      Opossum on the couch can be very good. Thanks for stopping by Claudia.

  8. Daydreamer said,

    February 7, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    Excellent job!

  9. brian miller said,

    February 7, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    i like your reassurance through your faith in the end that this is all part of a greater plan…and life goes smoother when we let that plan happen…

    • shanyns said,

      February 7, 2013 at 9:27 pm

      Thanks Brian, and I have learned that the hard way. When I yell, over my shoulder, “Lead me!” things do not go well! Glad you stopped by.

  10. Tino said,

    February 7, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    Amazing what you have managed to do with that little lot. i doubt I could fit all that into one piece. Somehow though, it works and works well.

  11. Margaret said,

    February 9, 2013 at 1:28 am

    Truly impressive. You kept it focused and pleasant to read. NOT easy with a word list, let alone keeping it in the same order!


Leave a Reply

