That Friend

_DSC0023.NEF

 

An open letter to That Friend.

We all have That Friend.

The one who always asks us

first how we are, and listens.

When we catch our breath

and ask her, she says she is

‘fine’ or ‘okay’ or ‘super’.

 

This is for That Friend.

I know you are not always

‘super’ or ‘fine’ or ‘dandy’.

I know you get lonely.

You get sad and mad too.

You put others first so

often that we sometimes

don’t appreciate you enough.

 

This is for That Friend.

The one who always is

ready with a ride, a box,

a hug or a lame joke just

so we can laugh, not cry.

The one who never seems

to need anyone, but I know

you do. I know you do.

 

This is for That Friend.

The one we forget about

and sometimes ignore.

The one who always

says ‘yes’ when we ask

‘do you have time to talk?’

 

This is for That Friend.

The friend I want to be.

The friend I want to be

for you, That Friend,

so when you need me

I can be That Friend

for you.

 

This is for That Friend.

Who always stops to pray.

Who asks us to look a

bit past ourselves and

hopefully helps us see

that there is more in

blessings than we know.

 

This is for That Friend.

Wherever you are,

I am holding you in

my heart and my

prayers. Because you

are just that kind of

friend. Thank you,

for being you.

 

We all have that friend, That Friend, who answers our calls, listens to our drama, finds us a box or a ride, and yes we should all try harder not just to be That Friend but also to thank our friend. She or he is a blessing we don’t always count, and maybe we should.  After all Jesus was That Friend first and showed the way.  To those who are That Friend to me – thank you!

11 Comments

  1. June 24, 2013 at 1:03 am

    We all have those friends we don’t tell how much we appreciate them. Lovely piece.

  2. Zoe said,

    June 24, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    that is lovely, Shan but I think you must be describing yourself, even though you don’t realise it. 😀 Anyone who has you as a friend is blessed beyond belief. Thank you for being that friend. xxx

    • shanyns said,

      June 25, 2013 at 3:52 am

      🙂 well aren’t you just the sweetest! Thanks Zoe! You are That Friend too!

  3. June 25, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Beautifully expressed.. I really like the part were you point out that we forget that special friend.. take them for granted. Thank you for sharing this… we need those friends, and we need to be those friends.

  4. brian miller said,

    June 25, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    smiles…remember this one from the other night….and we do all have those friends….and love the sentiments you have in the end as well..holding them close no matter where they are….these friends are special…

  5. Mary said,

    June 25, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    I could have sworn I commented on this the other day, but I don’t see my comment. Maybe I am mistaken. If we have ONE such friend we are blessed indeed. If we are that kind of friend, we bless others greatly. A beautiful write.

  6. June 25, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Really lovely! I thought about this in relation to my husband the other day–he makes me a better person

  7. ayala said,

    June 26, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Great ode to friendship.

  8. Truedessa said,

    June 26, 2013 at 1:59 am

    a lovely ode to a friend..

  9. annotating60 said,

    July 4, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    I wanted tro stop by and see your site, but most of all to thank you for following me. I hope it remains of interest to you.>KB


Leave a Reply

