Choices

20130721_120642

 

I think we have our wires crossed, she said.

He tightened up around the post in silence.

I think we have to loosen up and try again.

He pounded the staples deeper into the post.

 

I think we need to have some time, she said.

He leaned on the post, looking away to the fields.

I think we have to check the whole fence, together.

He braced the post, tugged the wire, walked away.

 

I think we can do this, together, she said.

He thought about choices, unable to choose.

I think if you choose it will work out fine.

He couldn’t choose, instead chose to blame her.

 

I think that we are like this corner post, she said.

He stared down the straight fence line, nodded.

I think without a strong anchor the fence falls.

He reached out and held tight to her, his anchor.

 

I think I talk to much, she said, and tried to go.

He moved to hold her, and whispered stay.

I think you’d be better off free, without me.

He held on to her like she was his last breath.

 

I think we can make it. I believe in you, she said.

He shook his head, her faith too big and not enough.

I think I don’t know what to think anymore.

He felt her tears, bitter and hot, soak his shirt.

 

I think I could be a quitter, if I tried, she said.

He laughed, her the patron saint of lost causes.

I think I could walk away, really but no not me.

He touched her face and finally found the words.

 

 

34 Comments

  1. July 24, 2013 at 2:08 am

    Oh, lots of feeling. I think I could be a quitter if I tried…love that. Beautiful, salty sweet, Shanyn!

  2. brian miller said,

    July 24, 2013 at 2:29 am

    i am glad he finally found the words…i dont know why its so hard for us guys to find them at times…and i know they can make it…if they want…we did…smiles…familiar convos….

    • shanyns said,

      July 24, 2013 at 3:43 am

      They always come in time. Glad you made it! πŸ™‚

  3. July 24, 2013 at 2:45 am

    I think…we’ve all felt like this at times. This has just the right amount of tension…and the fence works so well on both levels.

    • shanyns said,

      July 24, 2013 at 3:44 am

      Victoria – thank you! Glad you enjoyed the read, and pleased you stopped by.

  4. Waltermarks said,

    July 24, 2013 at 2:45 am

    He was just dumb as a post, but she brought him through. Thanks

    • shanyns said,

      July 24, 2013 at 3:44 am

      Mute as a post perhaps, and they did come through together.

  5. ManicDdaily said,

    July 24, 2013 at 2:58 am

    Moving, beautiful poem–really well done and very poignant progression–I think there is one typo–I’m sorry — I say this because it is such a super poem–the “I think I talk too much ” ==

    It is a wonderful poem, Shanyns. k.

    • shanyns said,

      July 24, 2013 at 3:45 am

      You caught it! And I lose the formatting to go back. Thanks for pointing it out, and so pleased you enjoyed the poem so much.

  6. claudia said,

    July 24, 2013 at 3:54 am

    not too long ago i was about to walk away and it’s good when they finally find the words and try to get things back on track again…it can work…

    • shanyns said,

      July 24, 2013 at 4:01 am

      So very true. We stand waiting, and wondering, and then the words come.

  7. July 24, 2013 at 6:03 am

    Beautifully written, we all need an anchor and so the words were found and loved your use of the fence and how he finally found the words. I used a fence today too only not as beautifully as this one. πŸ™‚

  8. kaykuala said,

    July 24, 2013 at 10:23 am

    He touched her face and finally found the words.

    He finally did! How come not earlier! Men can be so mysterious! Nicely Shanyns!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      July 30, 2013 at 10:54 pm

      You got that right my friend. Thanks for coming by! Great to see you.

  9. Mary said,

    July 24, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Oh, this is so very realistic and so very touching. Sometimes words are hard to come by but worth waiting for when they finally come.

    • shanyns said,

      July 25, 2013 at 2:06 am

      Thanks Mary – and you are right. The ones we wait for are often the ones we need the most.

  10. wolfsrosebud said,

    July 24, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    loved how the piece fit so well with the picture

  11. cloudfactor5 said,

    July 24, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    These were my favorite lines:
    “I think I talk to much, she said, and tried to go.

    He moved to hold her, and whispered stay.

    I think you’d be better off free, without me.

    He held on to her like she was his last breath.”
    Then this:
    “I think we can make it. I believe in you, she said.”

    and of course the last line is the delicious frosting !!!

    • shanyns said,

      July 25, 2013 at 2:07 am

      Thank you for sharing your favorite lines! πŸ™‚

  12. Gay said,

    July 24, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Usually true love triumphs – but some times and some events cut off communication and usually it’s the men who can’t bridge them with any words at all..for a time, and in some cases forever. Beautifully expressed.

    • shanyns said,

      July 25, 2013 at 2:08 am

      Thank you Gay. It is hard to wait for them to find the words, but when they do it is so special.

  13. Grace said,

    July 24, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Don’t we all feel this way one time or another ~ Don’t we all want to quit and take the easy way out ~ Relationships take a lot of work and time and energy ~ I can totally relate to your post ~

    • shanyns said,

      July 25, 2013 at 2:08 am

      We do indeed! They are hard work, but worth it I believe.

  14. July 24, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    Interlocking LIves

  15. Nina Roesner said,

    July 25, 2013 at 1:27 am

    I love this. πŸ™‚ Beautiful.

  16. July 25, 2013 at 9:53 am

    Wonderful capture of see-sawing emotions – till the final connection.

  17. Ed P said,

    July 26, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    mending fences, very nicely done.

    • shanyns said,

      August 3, 2013 at 5:20 pm

      Thank you Ed. Fencing seems to be the time when we do our best talking – something about doing the work makes it easier to speak our hearts.


Leave a Reply

