Watching over me

20130731_182000Sometimes I need a sign.

Not a street sign saying

my name. Not that.

Not even a “Men at Work”

sign.  Only men put

up signs saying they

are working. ha ha

 

Sometimes I need a sign.

A sign that God is there.

Watching over me.

Over us. You and I and he.

Something to make me

look up and see Him.

 

Sometimes I need a sign.

“Mow the Lawn” is not

it. I know I have to do that.

So I mow. Going slow for

baby frogs and salamanders.

Dodging little critters.

Taking a lot of time and

I’m singing and praying.

 

Sometimes I need a sign.

And I get one. BAM. THERE!

I wasn’t going to mow that

part. It didn’t seem that long.

Didn’t really ‘need’ it. I was

tired and sore. But I went

over and did it anyway.

 

Sometimes I need a sign.

“Good job” works. And

“Thank you!” and always

“I love you”.  Tonight I

got two signs for me and

little he.  Feathers, one each.

Right where I didn’t want

to go. Didn’t want to mow.

 

Sometimes I need a sign.

God knows this, and is

everlastingly good to me.

He sends me birds and

feathers when I need

a sign most. Like an angel

just dropped a little

feathered reminder

where I could see.

 

Sometimes I need a sign.

Feeling down, discouraged.

Trying to be strong and

really just wanting to

give it up and hide at

the beach. In the sand.

With a book and an

iced coffee and tunes.

Instead I mow, and I

dodge the baby frogs.

 

And add another sign.

Another feather to my

collection of reminders

that God doesn’t break

His promises. To us, or

to sparrows. Not one

ever falls without Him

knowing and caring.

 

Sometimes I need a sign.

That I am worth more

than a sparrow. Or an

eagle, hawk or owl.

Raven or vulture.

Hummingbird or wren.

Sometimes I need that.

 

I’ve always been fascinated by birds and flight, and while early life discouraging words (disguised as wisdom – HA!) said I’d be dumb to ache for flight as i would be mistaken for a fat duck and shot were ignored, I started to collect feathers. Reminders of these verses: Luke 12: 6-7 where God promises that of all His creation, He does not forget a single one. Ever. Every feather. Every hair. Wow!

 

20 Comments

  1. kaykuala said,

    August 7, 2013 at 9:12 am

    One looks for signs which are there but not apparent. Providence deals it a fair share for everyone. Those chosen ones will see the sign easily. That is true, MM! Great write, simple but great!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      August 7, 2013 at 9:34 pm

      Thanks Hank. 🙂 appreciate your thoughts, and am so pleased you stopped by.

  2. MarinaSofia said,

    August 7, 2013 at 10:30 am

    This made me laugh in recognition:

    Sometimes I need a sign.

    “Good job” works. And

    “Thank you!” and always

    “I love you”.

    • shanyns said,

      August 7, 2013 at 9:35 pm

      So glad to bring you some smiles! Great to see you here.

  3. brian miller said,

    August 7, 2013 at 10:41 am

    there is great encouragement in those verses…and there are times we do all need a sign that we are loved and worth it…my go to passage is to re-read the first chapter of Ephesians and pick out all the adjectives that are used to describe us when i need that pick me up…smiles….cool on the connection to birds too shanyn….

    • shanyns said,

      August 7, 2013 at 9:35 pm

      Oh yes the first chapter of Ephesians is really a great place to go too! Thanks for coming over my friend, glad you enjoyed the read.

  4. Mary said,

    August 7, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Oh, this is truly beautiful. I guess we are all human in our need for signs. Sometimes we don’t see them when we really need them…and that is hard. We keep waiting, and then SOMETIMES they appear and then we know that our needs ARE heard. Blessings to you today.

  5. August 7, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    Love this!

    I didn’t read it until a few minutes ago, but earlier this morning as I was sitting out back with my coffee and books, a feather floated down and landed beside me. And yesterday, a hummingbird appeared for a super quick visit (we live in an urban area, so the fact I would even SEE one is a miracle in itself!) I, too, am always looking for signs from God. Not big, explosive, concert arena-sized signs and wonders. A few small reminders of His love and presence will do. And when He sends them — WOW!

    Fat duck?! BAH…never! How about a red feathered swan? Imagine that. 🙂

    Lots of love, my beautiful friend.
    Pam

    • shanyns said,

      August 7, 2013 at 9:36 pm

      Aww so VERY COOL! The small wonders, to me, are the best ones! They are the ones we have to look for, and seem to appreciate most. Thanks for coming by sweet friend.

  6. Ruth said,

    August 7, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    yes, we do seem to need those signs… but we have to be open, they may not show up in the obvious place or time, or be the sort of thing we expected. Nice write, I like the humour of

    Only men put

    up signs saying they

    are working. ha ha

    – too true

    • shanyns said,

      August 7, 2013 at 9:37 pm

      Oh yes our signs aren’t always where we want them, or how we wish them to be either. You are right about that Ruth. Glad you liked the Men at Work humor!

  7. Grace said,

    August 8, 2013 at 12:38 am

    Sometimes we do need a sign of reassurance or encouragement ~ But then again the signs might be everywhere, the feather, animals, nature itself ~ Maybe we need open our eyes and listen more ~ Good one Shanyns ~

    • shanyns said,

      August 8, 2013 at 1:33 am

      I think you are so right – we need to be watching, listening and quietly waiting more. Then we would see and hear what is waiting to share with us! Thanks for coming by.

  8. August 8, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    Oh Shanyn! I mow slow to and pray, Lord do not let me harm any living thing, please! And that might be a good prayer for each day, mowing or not, I think! But this poem, just so palpable. Love it, my friend!

  9. Mama Zen said,

    August 8, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    Sometimes, I do too.

  10. wolfsrosebud said,

    August 11, 2013 at 11:57 am

    …and it’s in the quiet time we can her His voice, but it’s our choice to listen


Leave a Reply

