Postmarked “Memories”

20130817_093644

 

 

Every time I grab my camera to ‘capture the moment’

I am sending a letter to my future self. To him. To us.

The letter, postmarked “Memories” is to remind us

that these moments need to be treasured as joy.

 

Every time I grab my camera to ‘preserve the memory’

I am sending a letter to my future self. To him. To us.

The letter, filled with memories, is holding one single

message that is needful, important so very true.

 

The most important ‘things’ in life are not things at all!

 

Every time I think of the thousands of photos saved

I smile and think of some future date when he sees.

Like a letter postmarked “Memories” he will know

without a doubt he mattered. We made the time.

 

Every first, every next, every ‘we gotta do that again’

is a little letter postmarked “This is important” and

we remember that it wasn’t an extra hour of work.

It wasn’t the things and the stuff. It was we. It was us.

 

Every time we look back and laugh, and story tell

we are reading our memories, like  packet of letters.

Faded, and wrapped in ribbon scented with our

laughter, our memories and our time together.

 

With dVerse and Mary tending bar we are talking about letters, stamps and postmarks.  I’m a bit late, but like the postal service I guess I eventually deliver! 🙂  

6 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    August 19, 2013 at 12:50 am

    So very true…. I do think that the pictures taken MAY be the ‘letters’ of tomorrow. They are so wonderful to look back at, in the same way that old letters used to be! Your son definitely will enjoy them more and more as he gets older!! Nice letter!! Smiles.

    • shanyns said,

      August 19, 2013 at 1:19 am

      Thank you so much Mary! Glad you enjoyed my take on your wonderful prompt! 🙂

  2. brian miller said,

    August 19, 2013 at 2:26 am

    smiles…def true…the pictures….they carry memories….we have a box of random pics that we go through occassionally….they are all mixed up but my boys will pull one and want to hear about it….so true that the best things are not things as well…smiles…

  3. kaykuala said,

    August 19, 2013 at 3:07 am

    Good thinking. If that was not done then all the wonderful moments would have just fizzled away! Great take Shanyn!

    Hank

  4. claudia said,

    August 19, 2013 at 6:12 am

    nice..i love how photos capture the feel and spirit of a moment and how we can re-feel it even years and years later..

  5. August 20, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    Oh those sweet photos I look at .. a letter to the future that’s a real nice thought.


Leave a Reply

