Serenity Prayer Failure

_DSC0015.NEF

 

The writing is on the wall.

In English and Ukrainian.

Apparently the only two

who would happily

forget they were in

air full of combustible

explosive dust whilst

they enjoyed a smoke.

 

The writing is on the wall

of my heart and soul.

I confess this to be

true. I am a Serenity

Prayer failure of the

highest order. It seems

I cannot let things

go as easily as faith

would require it of me.

 

The writing is on the wall.

On the sky as Icarus smokes

all the way back down to

the sodden hard earth.

We should bow to his

ashes though, can’t you see?

In order to fall first you have

to rise. In order to fall

from the sky you have

first to fly. Fly. Fly. Fly.

 

The writing is on the wall.

The abandonment begun

so many years ago is

finally complete and done.

You have chosen a path

I won’t travel down.

We three will remain

on the path we have

chosen. The one less

travelled by.  The one

with the writing on the

walls of our hearts.

 

Inspired by so many things.  Reading and reviewing a wonderful new book by Jo Ann Fore (When A Woman Finds Her Voice), discovering a quote by a poet whom I am now devouring the words of (Jack Gilbert) and realizing that some people leave you, they just take their sweet time doing so. But knowing they are gone leads to a kind of freedom you can’t imagine.  Linking up with the wonderful poetic voices and pub-masters at dVerse for Open Link Night.  Won’t you stop by?

10 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    September 4, 2013 at 11:54 pm

    oy, people leaving is never easy…and them taking their time…that hurts like hell all drawn out…but there is a bit of freedom on the other side….jack gilbert…ok, gotta check that one out. like the icarus stanzas…tru on the rising and falling…

    • shanyns said,

      September 5, 2013 at 3:45 am

      It is true, but once they are gone you are free to burn bridges and THAT feels pretty darn good! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it my friend, and yeah that line of his has me eating up his poetry.

  2. margaret said,

    September 5, 2013 at 12:47 am

    It seems
    I cannot let things
    go as easily as faith
    would require it of me.

    That is an awesome truth… Jack Gilbert – I’ll have to check him out. Thanks.

    • shanyns said,

      September 5, 2013 at 3:46 am

      Thanks Margaret. I am learning it still, some days hard and some days easier. Let me know what you think of Jack Gilbert.

      • margaret said,

        September 5, 2013 at 8:02 pm

        Do you have a favorite poem or book of his? I looked up a few – but didn’t care for the two I read. Of course, that does not in anyway give me an idea of him… I’d like to get a book from the library.

  3. September 5, 2013 at 3:40 am

    Enjoyable read…you’ve given us a wall with much to read and learn! ~peace, Jason

    • shanyns said,

      September 5, 2013 at 3:46 am

      Thanks Jason. I do tend to fill up those walls! 🙂 Glad you like the read.

  4. September 8, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    I truly believed that all words are essence of soul and God..as one and ALl and us as one..i

  5. September 8, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    Believe that IS as the Pleasure of Presents of Presence in NOW my FRIEND


Leave a Reply

