Rain during harvest

20130920_192427

 

Thousands of acres to go.

Wheat. Barley. Oats. Flax. Canola.

I understand this life so.

We dance the dance of farming.

 

Thousands of grains they sow.

Forage, grains, oilseeds and more.

Sweat, tears, diesel fumes all go

into making this life you enjoy.

 

Thousands of wives work and know.

Driven by those they love.

This life they bleed for, making it grow.

Each one wishing for rain days.

 

Dark eyes crinkled in dust know.

He sees my lust driving me to bake

wishing he could see me naked so

I dance with the clouds for rain.

 

We can’t admit it, you know.

Farming comes first, so pray for clear

skies and good nights, help them go.

And quietly we wish for rain.

 

Not so much rain, not stop just slow.

Give away my widow’s weeds for a day.

Let me love him, smelling of fields. Oh!

I’m a ready field, awaiting my harvest.

 

You learn to love it, watching them go.

Knowing each round brings him closer.

And further away, in dust dreams stow.

Yearning for an early night, rain too.

 

Rub the shoulders, learn the lingo.

Understand moisture and yields by field

Whispering, pulling him in, low.

Dear, I love you, let the harvest go.

 

Arms twined, one leg over just so.

Listening to rain, and the snores beside.

It’s not a bad thing, so you know

loving while it rains during harvest.

 

The ache returns and he has to go.

Fields are calling, wicked mistresses.

Combines and tractors! I know!

He is always ready for sunny days.

 

I love him. I love him so.

I can’t help but hate the long days.

I want him. I want him so.

I can’t help but wish for rain during harvest.

 

Trying something new for Victoria as she hosts at the dVerse Pub – and it’s true too. I love my farming husband, and our life. Bu sometimes I miss him so during the busy seasons – seeding and harvest. ย I wish for some rain days, so we can linger together. ย I think we call can relate, no?

32 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    September 27, 2013 at 3:51 am

    its hard when it takes every bit of energy and time to bring in the harvest….so much to do…this season as with all will pass…and he will be home soon from that hard mistress…smiles…nice rhyme scheme in this shanyn….

    • shanyns said,

      September 27, 2013 at 4:08 am

      Thanks Brian! It’s been quite a fall for our farmers. I miss mine, and that hard mistress has to get him go on rain days! Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you enjoyed the poem.

  2. September 27, 2013 at 4:52 am

    If only we didn’t have to work so hard hey…or our men go off…really enjoyed this had a lovely old time feel that gives a warm feeling. Very nice indeed!

  3. MarinaSofia said,

    September 27, 2013 at 8:04 am

    That has a timeless quality to it – I come from a long line of farmers and shepherds, so this spoke directly to my blood. This has a wonderful song-like feel.

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:16 am

      Marina – I am so happy that you enjoyed this, and I love that it spoke to your blood and history. Love that you liked the ballad form.

  4. Laurie Kolp said,

    September 27, 2013 at 11:04 am

    Fields are calling, wicked mistresses

    I love that and can relate. For my husband, it’s the sea (not that he goes out for months at a time, but his work involves maritime and it can get so busy b/c it a round-the-clock job).

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:17 am

      The sea, the road, the dirt and the field – it calls our men. And wait for them. So pleased you loved this Laurie. That means a lot.

  5. nico said,

    September 27, 2013 at 11:57 am

    This is beautiful, such honest emotions. For 20 yrs. I worked construction, and I know the dilemma of wishing for rain days but fearing the loss of income. Excellent!

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:18 am

      Nico – thank you so much. I appreciate you coming by. Construction needs you as much as farming, and we’ve done it too. Rain days are good, and yet at the wrong time they are not so much. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Marya said,

    September 27, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Shanyn, I sang that — so beautiful! I love the metaphors too. Such longing and love…

  7. Mary said,

    September 27, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    Shanyn, I do understand your sentiments well…and your wish for rain, early nights, and a bit more time with the man you love. I am sure that right now is a very busy season; and I hope it will slow down a bit for him in winter. Beautifully penned poem, Shanyn. I am sure many CAN relate.

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:19 am

      Thank you Mary. It is raining and he is home. Bliss for me, and yet I feel bad for those who are wishing they were still getting the fields done. So glad you enjoyed this, and as always it’s great to see you.

  8. September 27, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Shanyn, this is exquisite. You’ve done such a good job sowing sensuality,love and the landscape into a wonderful vision of farming life. It seems as though both the land and the man are as one with you.

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:20 am

      Thank you Victoria – that is what I was aiming for. They are very connected, and I cannot love one without loving the other. So pleased you enjoyed this.

  9. September 27, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    You brought so much with this piece. the bad conscious to wish for rain during harvest… and the love and dread of farming combined… like living on the edge…

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:20 am

      It very much is like living on the edge, you have that right Bjorn. So pleased you enjoyed this.

  10. howanxious said,

    September 27, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    That is so beautiful. Farming isn’t an easy job… a lot of time has to be devoted but the important thing is that farming is the basis of our survival.
    That wish of rain during harvest… touched my heart. Vivid, lovely… full of the aroma of farming fields.

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:21 am

      ๐Ÿ™‚ it isn’t easy but it is pretty amazing! So pleased I touched your heart – your comment brought me a smile on this rainy night.

  11. September 27, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    How elegantly you phrase the love of a couple and their relationship to the land – so elemental, so primal, so much required. We all have the sense that life as we know it would end without one man loving one woman and they working the land. Beautiful!

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:22 am

      Gay your comment is just beautiful. I love it. Thank you for it, and I am so pleased that you loved this piece.

  12. ManicDdaily said,

    September 27, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Ah lovely. I do not know what form you used but it was beautiful. K.

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:22 am

      ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a modified ballad form, with my own twist, so glad you enjoyed it!

  13. kaykuala said,

    September 28, 2013 at 12:05 am

    You learn to love it, watching them go.
    Knowing each round brings him closer.
    And further away, in dust dreams stow.
    Yearning for an early night, rain too.

    A lot of wisdom and lots of yearnings, here! The further and longer he goes the nearer he is. That’s a nice feeling MM. Great write!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      September 28, 2013 at 2:23 am

      Thank you Hank. It was a timely write as I was missing my husband. Glad you enjoyed this.

  14. grapeling said,

    September 28, 2013 at 12:06 am

    good write, Shan. Hey, a few weeks back LaTonya shared a blog (blogs over easy series she does) of ken-inatractor on the blogger site. worth looking at.

  15. September 28, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Simply beautiful.


Leave a Reply

