poetry in the stacks

20131003_151013

I want to spend these days with you.

it should be doubted

Raising Godly kids

by someone feeling less than

A child of ghosts

who wandered faded through a life on

wings of glass

flying, as always,

a false flag

Betrayal at the Louvre

makes as much sense as

God, me and sweet iced tea.

A troubled sea

bringing us to the sinking point so we must

invent to learn

to be good people

with secrets

Mayan secrets

with stories needed

The dig.

 

20131003_151050

 

The money bird

and of course

the laundry man

riding the smoke from a

paper phoenix

singing the old refrain

no deed unpunished

a deadly tally

reminds me of Vegas

Hot Sinatra

The dVerse Anthology

Taste and See

not exactly a

School of Assassins

or even

Enemy Agents

and yet they offer some

Resistance

not just to your order but to

dirty work.

An interesting, and totally fun, cool and awesome prompt for the poetic and literary types at dVerse! Β While I am sad that I don’t have a close bookstore or library to pillage, and my own vast library is currently packed away in unreachable boxes I did find some titles worth playing with on my beloved Kindle Cloud. Β These are some of my favorite authors as well – and some great reads. So if you search the titles I would suggest you read them. Β Have fun with this. Come by to read poems, Share your own. And leave love!

42 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    October 3, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    god, me and sweet ice tea….ha….a deadly tally reminds me of vegas…lol…some cool lines in this shanyn…you wove them well…on the kindle at random def does not make it easy…

    linked you in…

    • shanyns said,

      October 3, 2013 at 9:40 pm

      Thought you would enjoy that random set of stacks, and thanks for linking me in. Was too excited to see what everyone else was doing I guess!

  2. Gabriella said,

    October 3, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    There is indeed poetry in your stack Shanyn! “bringing us to the sinking point so we must / invent to learn / to be good people” – a very nice combination and I also like “God, me and sweet iced tea”.

  3. Grace said,

    October 3, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    I should have thought of using my cloud as I have some good e-books ~

    Good fun here Shanyn ~ Creative weaving all to the end ~

  4. aprille said,

    October 3, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    Oooh, you made bridges linking them. How nice to see that turning into proper but unexpected poetry.

    • shanyns said,

      October 3, 2013 at 11:30 pm

      I did, it was my little rebellion because I couldn’t put them in an order other than random! Glad you liked it!

  5. October 3, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    Looks like you had a lot of fun with this prompt. I know I did :). Great work!

  6. Laurie Kolp said,

    October 4, 2013 at 12:22 am

    The dVerse Anthogy’s included… wow!

  7. October 4, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Your poem is so much fun to read……what a totally COOL prompt this was! Yay Samuel!!!!!

    • shanyns said,

      October 4, 2013 at 3:01 am

      It was truly an amazing prompt! And fun to compose.

  8. Truedessa said,

    October 4, 2013 at 1:06 am

    This was fun to read so many titles..I didn’t think of looking at the titles on my nook..

    • shanyns said,

      October 4, 2013 at 3:02 am

      It was fun, wasn’t it? And we all get a peek into the libraries and book stacks of our poetic friends.

  9. nico said,

    October 4, 2013 at 1:51 am

    I really enjoyed that first one–invent to learn to be good people.Very nice!

  10. Mary said,

    October 4, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Very nice, Shanyn. Your books express YOU poetically very well. (And raising godly kids is far from easy, isn’t it?)

    • shanyns said,

      October 4, 2013 at 3:24 am

      It is far from easy, that is true, and yes I guess my books are very ME. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the love Mary!

  11. claudia said,

    October 4, 2013 at 4:10 am

    God, me and sweet iced tea….ha..that sounds interesting – and i like that you even wove the anthology in … very cool… you have a nice ebook shelf shanyn

    • shanyns said,

      October 4, 2013 at 4:17 am

      πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to that book. Yeah I did have that in the frequently read row. Thanks I love my ebooks! πŸ™‚

  12. Ella said,

    October 4, 2013 at 5:07 am

    I love God, me and Sweet iced tea! Fun to read yours-so clever!

  13. October 4, 2013 at 10:47 am

    Ah you found a way to include your ebooks.. great work Love flying on wings of glass

  14. ManicDdaily said,

    October 4, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Your wonderful sense of humor shows up here as well as lyricism. Thanks. K.

  15. October 4, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Very clever, love the compilations.

  16. Tony Maude said,

    October 4, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Giving yourself the freedom to fill in the gaps and smooth out the bumps has resulted in a really interesting poem – and kudos for getting the dVerse anthology in there. Now why didn’t I think of that?

    • shanyns said,

      October 4, 2013 at 9:55 pm

      Thanks Tony! πŸ™‚ So glad you enjoyed them, and yes I did get the Anthology in there. I missed being IN it, but it got IN my poem. ha ha

  17. Beth Winter said,

    October 4, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    oh my goodness. This is wonderful.

  18. margitsage said,

    October 4, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Beautiful imagery. I especially love “Wings of Glass”. It’s interesting how you interspersed your own verse between the titles. That’s a nice idea.

  19. Poet Laundry said,

    October 4, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    “Raising Godly kids

    by someone feeling less than

    A child of ghosts”…oo that packs an emotional punch! Great work!

  20. Rowan Taw said,

    October 5, 2013 at 1:16 am

    Good to see the Dverse anthology in there 😊

  21. becca givens said,

    October 5, 2013 at 1:56 am

    Shanyn, thank you for leaving a breadcrumb … I hadn’t thought of using my Kindle or Nook … then again, I needed to “handle the books”! πŸ˜€ I have been wanting to try this form for over a year … just plunged in — but almost missed the deadline!

  22. October 5, 2013 at 3:50 am

    Fantastic! You’ve got at least two innovations to add to the sorted-book poetry scheme: first, using your electronic library, and second, building bridges of your own work between the titles – a very cool innovation because of the limitations of the medium (you can’t fully control the positions of the books in the Kindle framework.) And the work itself – beautiful! Bravo!

  23. Louise said,

    October 5, 2013 at 8:00 am

    Very cool! I love how you’ve put this together πŸ™‚

  24. janu said,

    October 5, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    Nice idea to include ebooks…wonderful.


Leave a Reply

