error: cannot post comment

[error: cannot post comment] thank you, I noticed that almost right away.

The white screen, with the glaring grey box, gave it away.

[enter title: _______________________] blank line stares.

cursor blinks. | | | | and I wonder. [page not found, return home?]

Ah I am home, thanks, but return to that [home] would be a bad idea.

[media not recognized] usb, sim card, usb stick all loaded. And yet

the system remains oblivious to the photos waiting for me to edit.

Dancing around the subjects [load easy conversation] and when it

[file failed to load] I’m facing the music. Expected to dance to a tune

baroque played by a drunken polka band. [please enter password]

It’s me I want to SCREAM and still I get a blank, a blinking cursor.

[add new post] and what I really want is to erase. [delete file failed]

Dancing barefoot on broken Lego. [404: page not found] bleeding.

Words cut, angry red underlines shout [words misspelled] and I

see red pens, blue proofing pens. [content not recognized] when

form, grammar and spacing replaces the heart of the words. The

soul of creative sparking dies, choked on the fumes of the unwilling.

[F drive: not accessible] what the F? Okay how about H? or G?

C drive are you listening, D drive are you out there? [command prompt:]

I think it is the change in the sun’s angle that bothers more than the

shortness of the days, the longness of the nights. [summer not found]

Reading poetry. Leaving love. Trying to. [page failed to load] Grrrrrr

[loading true self] and I wonder, who really is interested in this file?

[not enough room on disc for file: true self] and I think I’ll fade away.

A byte, a bit, and tear drop in the ocean. [file could not be found]

Trying not to shout [speakers not found: update drivers?] and wishing

to be heard. Wondering where the update is for changing and being

seen. [device is working properly] I know it is not me, but still it feels

like it is. [indexing folders, may result in longer search times] Who

has time to keep searching for such an elusive file? An elusive soul?

[load coffee] there isn’t a big enough cup in the world for this hurt.

There isn’t a big enough cup in the world for this hope. [load chocolate]

Bitter and sweet goes together like growth and pain. Healing and

shedding shame. [device working properly] and finding the message

[drivers are up-to-date] and knowing what you thought you lost

was only [uninstall unsuccessful: move file to cloud] stored on the cloud.

I can handle being stored on a cloud, I think. It’s a poetic place to rest.

[load hope] and [re install faith] and [update drivers: humor] and we’ll be

okay. Maybe for this moment, and maybe for a while. But if we can just

find our way to the [search windows] then we can find what needs to be done.

[are you sure you want to remove folder?] oh yes remove that sucker.

Empty that trash. Old photos, drag me down memories. [trash: empty]

Freedom is in finding your voice, and being free to use it. Freedom isn’t

really free [free upgrade expired: purchase upgrade?] but you know that.

Dancing on bruised feet, with heart bleeding, I’m going to sing anyway.

[network not found] I’m good with that. [username and password do not match]

Good with that too! New username and new password for me. It’s spelled:

[username: FR33; password: FR33d0M) and I don’t mind if I share either.

Hashtag your life, and [reject command] until you find [file transfer] is

successful and you are [free to resume normal usage] thank you for

sharing your thoughts [click to respond to survey] with those who

care to hear, choose to listen and wish to know. [click to restart]

 

Thinking again about this form, and with the things that have been going on the past few days it seemed to fit.  Enjoy this, and the rest of the poetry on dVerse for #OLN.  Join in! Read poetry! Leave love!

23 Comments

  1. Poet Laundry said,

    November 12, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    Had me laughing throughout this! 🙂 Sometimes restarting is the best thing to do!

    • shanyns said,

      November 12, 2013 at 10:57 pm

      If restarting things with people were as easy as a computer! 🙂 Thanks for coming by.

  2. eviens said,

    November 12, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    haha I feel this way about my computer on most days. this poem made me so happy.

    • shanyns said,

      November 12, 2013 at 10:57 pm

      Glad you enjoyed the computer aspect of the poem.

  3. claudia said,

    November 12, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    I can handle being stored on a cloud, I think. It’s a poetic place to rest…haha…oh it is..it is… fun write… those computers can bring us to the edge…and sometimes we find a glimpse of ourselves in all those errors and failed messages as well…true..true

    • shanyns said,

      November 12, 2013 at 10:58 pm

      Yes finding ourselves in the messages and errors can be magical can’t it? So glad you enjoyed it Claudia.

  4. November 12, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    AH.. sounds like there was almost a blue screen coming up… Enjoyed the creativity here. Ctrl-Alt-Delete

  5. aprille said,

    November 12, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    Have you tried kicking the darn thing?
    I had a red screen this morning. Everything red. Turned out the room was too cold. Can you credit it?
    I’ll give it a hotwater bottle tomorrow.

    • shanyns said,

      November 12, 2013 at 10:59 pm

      Cats knocked it over, didn’t help. Restarting does, too bad people don’t have a power button to restart them! ha ha

  6. Mary said,

    November 12, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Oh, you have written my life in this!! I am so glad I have a Mac now…which means much is so much simpler (I think), and I can always gaze into the cloud! Smiles!!

    • shanyns said,

      November 12, 2013 at 11:00 pm

      I used to have Macs back in the early days! Sometimes, though, it’s not about computers. Often it is, but not always.

  7. brian miller said,

    November 12, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    ugh. ok between laughing and crying on this one…computer problems fry me…cause i am def not smart enough to fix them and having gone through two craches its not a good thing…and the new comment boxes really jarr me….ugh….smiles…ah, i need a tech break i think…smiles.

    • shanyns said,

      November 12, 2013 at 10:53 pm

      And sometimes it isn’t about computers. Smiles.

  8. November 12, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    ooooohhh have I been there… 🙂

  9. annotating60 said,

    November 12, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    I really found this quite innovative in much the same way that Glenn Butkus writes his shooting script poems. Well thought out and executed. It takes a few readings to really get the full import of what your saying but that is well worth the effort truly. >KB

    • shanyns said,

      November 12, 2013 at 10:52 pm

      I am so glad you went deeper! There are some layers to explore.

  10. November 12, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    It is called “alienation”. It means the toys we work with (read: “means of production”) is so that we develop a want for revolution. Marx said. But then again, maybe Marx was not fully aware of the power of getting rid of it by scribbling.

    I really would suggest Blogger. I have tried to make a blog on WordPress (find it | here |), but I just felt small making it.

    • November 12, 2013 at 10:28 pm

      By the way, I have pin pointed the philosophical perspective of Marx very briefly | here |.

    • shanyns said,

      November 12, 2013 at 11:01 pm

      Hmmm so if the [messages] are not only for computers, could the revolution also be more? Much food for thought!

  11. HisFireFly said,

    November 12, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    the frustration rang out clear
    I have so been there


Leave a Reply

