What did you do today?

What did you do today? Did you change the world?

I don’t know about THE WORLD but maybe me.

Or rather what I took the time to see changed me.

What do you mean? What did you see?

I saw a coyote eating frozen apples from a tree.

–                                                                                                       –

What did you do today? Did you change the world?

I don’t know about the world, but I did take time.

Time? Time from what? Time for what?  Time?

I took it from things to do, and standing in line.

So with this time, did you find treasures sublime?

I watched birds in flight, and sitting in a pine.

–                                                                                                         –

What did you do today? Do you mean was I busy?

Busy? No. Not really but I got lots done. Some.

I don’t understand. What did you actually get done?

Ah I know what you want – but it’s not a tally. No sum.

Okay poet, then pray tell, what did you ‘become’?

Yes! I did. I learned to fly, to jump and run as one.

#OLN for dVerse. This is what I had today, hoping to put the video link in the comments for my apple eating coyote.  Stop by and see what the other poets are serving up on their blogs!

7 Comments

  1. K. A. Brace said,

    November 27, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    Nicely penned. >KB

  2. ayala said,

    November 27, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    I love this 🙂

  3. brian miller said,

    November 28, 2013 at 12:02 am

    you know its the little things we do that will change the world. the little decisions..the time we take and how we spend it…smiles. this made me smile shanyn

  4. claudia said,

    November 28, 2013 at 5:18 am

    how cool with the coyote eating frozen apples…ha… and yeah… taking time to change the world a little bit…one step at a time…the small things we do make a difference…

  5. Rallentanda said,

    November 28, 2013 at 10:09 am

    Loved this. You understand how to live and how to spend quality time. I like watching the ants. I had no idea coyotes ate fruit:)

  6. November 28, 2013 at 11:54 am

    This sounds so nice… what did you do.. and as a poet we can learn to fly for sure.

  7. poetrypea said,

    November 28, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    There is often too much pressure to produce. I cherish time to think, or to enjoy small things.


Leave a Reply

