For my love

Dance with me! Step. Step. Turn. Hold me tight now.

Laugh with me! Smile. Smile. Grin. Hold me sweet now.

Rock with me! Bob. Bob. Hold on to the oldies.

Feast with me! Eat! Eat! Hold on to the memories.

Love with me! You. You. You are my best friend.

Life with you is sweet.

 

_DSC0007.NEF

 

Sam has us playing with the 55 word limit, rather like a song about not being able to go 55! 😉 I can do 55. It’s a fun break this week doing some shorter forms with some strictness. Mmmhmm, come by dVerse and see what the others are sharing! 

23 Comments

  1. claudia said,

    December 5, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    oh did you read it to him… or even better…did you sing it to him…? smiles.. i bet he loves it… sweet and warm words…

  2. Gabriella said,

    December 5, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    Very sweet poem, Shanyn! It feels like you could dance to it. I really enjoyed reading all the things you love doing with your husband and laughing is certainly not the least one to enjoy.

  3. Laurie Kolp said,

    December 5, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    This poem is what’s sweet.

  4. December 5, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    What a sweet love song.. I love it really..

  5. Margaret said,

    December 5, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    There are many ways to dance 🙂 Lovely.

  6. Mary said,

    December 5, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    What a wonderful photo, Shanyn. I can feel the love in your ’55.’ I love the mention of memories. So important in a long-time love.

  7. December 5, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    I like this a lot! I caught myself bobbing my head to the rhythm. And I love your reference to one of my favorite songs. I have a hard time with 55 (or even 65 where that’s the limit) on the road, but it didn’t seem a problem with a poem. Peace, Linda

  8. brian miller said,

    December 5, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    hey great picture of you two…smiles…i hope that love does last for you two…and i know that if you are diligent it will be…made me smile shanyn….

  9. December 5, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    How sweet ~ I hope he reads it, smiles ~

  10. Glenn Buttkus said,

    December 5, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    When love continues to deepen & grow as marital years go by, it is the most grounding of affections, fuel for the soul & heart; your words touch us all, your happiness is applauded, your poem appreciated.

  11. Nara Malone said,

    December 5, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    So sweetly romantic.

  12. wolfsrosebud said,

    December 6, 2013 at 12:20 am

    you look happy

  13. December 6, 2013 at 1:46 am

    The word limit certainly did not hinder your expression of love…and I love the picture…looking very happy.

  14. kaykuala said,

    December 6, 2013 at 3:48 am

    How so refreshing to be loved and to be in love. Some go through the marriage rituals again and re-live the joys of the young as experienced before. Great write Shanyn!

    Hank

  15. grapeling said,

    December 6, 2013 at 4:00 am

    Shan, this is great 🙂 ~

  16. MarinaSofia said,

    December 6, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    Hope you hum this to each other as you dance through life together – so cute!

  17. Mama Zen said,

    December 6, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    This is so sweet!

  18. Susan Chast said,

    December 6, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    Luscious! Go on. Action!

  19. December 7, 2013 at 7:38 am

    Lovely, lovely. It makes me wistful for such happiness with another… 🙂

  20. poetrypea said,

    December 7, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    Oh, what a wonderful verse

  21. December 8, 2013 at 12:03 am

    How can one resist such a lovesong, so sweet, so lilting, a miniature rose.

  22. Akila said,

    December 9, 2013 at 9:35 am

    awww! so sweet and even more sweeter pic! stay happy and smiling

  23. December 10, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    oh love is such a lovely treasure…


Leave a Reply

