Outside my window

20140112_120732

 

Outside my window winter lingers long.

Birds eat and rest, fluff and bring me song.

Outside my window the wind blows strong.

We stay inside, warm and safe where we belong.

Outside my window adventures and chores come along.

We bundle up and brace ourselves – oh be strong!

Outside my window a warm day temps invisible long.

We dress up and head outside to laugh to the wind song.

20140112_100146

 

th Charge the batteries, and get the quad going strong.

Tie the ropes to to the hood, hold on boys, we gone!

Charge the batteries, and get yourself going along.

Roll in the snow, dance in the drifts and sing a fun song.

Charge the batteries, and get past the windows long.

Get outside and find out where in the winter we can belong.

Charge the batteries, the sun is hiding but warmth is on!

Wind may blow but cheeks will glow, we love this winter song.

Charge the batteries, get fired up to play along.

We are gonna be wet and cold and happy, c’mon!

I’m hosting at dVerse for #Poetics, and we are writing about what we see outside our windows. I’m late linking up due to technical difficulties last night, and the temptation of a warm day to play outside today! 🙂 Forgive me for being tardy, I’ll be by to visit your posts. Thank you for coming to visit mine!

17 Comments

  1. claudia said,

    January 12, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    smiles… that sounds like you had a lot of fun… it’s just so cool to play outside in the snow… the fresh air – even if so bitter cold – it def. recharges the batteries again..

  2. Morgan said,

    January 12, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    This is so lovely and inspiring. Thank You for brightening my day 🙂

  3. January 12, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    Beautiful poem, Shanyn, and I actually remember some of these things form when I was a kid. Uncle Sid used to pull us around the frozen snow-covered pasture in an old pickup hood. That was in the Texas panhandle, and you couldn’t get me up there in the winter for love or money these days!

  4. brian miller said,

    January 12, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    smiles…so fun…lol….we used to hook th hood to the powerwagon…and everyone had to wear motocross helmets…smiles…i love the snow…i wish we had some so i could be out there playing with you….

  5. January 12, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    There are a lot of cool activities going on outside your window…I like it.

  6. January 12, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    How essential it is to get to the other side of the window and embrace the elements…truly a way to charge the batteries.

  7. January 12, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    Ha.. wonderful once you get the right type of winter to recharge the batteries.. personally I’m waiting for ice to bring out my skates…

  8. Mary said,

    January 12, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    Better to bundle oneself up and get outside in the elements, I think, than to sit inside and look out. I like your attitude about being wet and cold and happy.

  9. January 12, 2014 at 10:41 pm

    How fun. I’m now enjoying 70 degree (F) weather, but wishing for rain. Send us some of that precip if you will!

  10. January 12, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    Oh, I remember the days when my son was small, going sledding at the country club, home with rosy cheeks to hot cocoa & marshmallows! Now I see snow predicted and hope it falls not on a workday! Lovely captures, both!

  11. kkkkaty said,

    January 12, 2014 at 11:29 pm

    Love the photos of the kids playing…brings back memories…also love the rosy cheeks on that young man!

  12. Grace said,

    January 13, 2014 at 12:51 am

    Sounds so much fun ~ I am more of an inside person though, and prefer the warmth of the house ~ Thanks for the pictures of your window & family ~

  13. January 13, 2014 at 1:59 am

    Such fun in the snow. I prefer fun in the sun:)

  14. Imelda said,

    January 13, 2014 at 3:15 am

    The second poem has a marching rhythm to it. 🙂

  15. January 13, 2014 at 4:59 am

    Wonderful poem and what a great day with your kids…it must be so much fun in the snow. As I sit here in the heat I can’t even begin to imagine it but your poem certainly helps…yeah go on keep having fun and recharge those batteries…brings a smile to my face 🙂

  16. Akila said,

    January 13, 2014 at 9:04 am

    beautiful! so much for the lyrical effect of the cold winds blowing a tune of their own. Stay warm in your spirit!

  17. tigerbrite said,

    January 13, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    There’s no better fun in childhood than playing in the snow:)
    And return refreshed to the house and fire.


Leave a Reply

