One more hand

~

Preamble: on Saturday Mary had us thinking about ‘the other hand’ for Poetics at dVerse (check it out here). I missed getting my post in before the linky closed, so I am sharing a poem with that prompt for dVerse Open Link Night (#OLN). Enjoy!

~

Tevye sang on the other hand until I lost count of the hands he needed.

One thing and another.  On the other hand. Or was it the other other hand?

Pick one. Pick a favorite. How I wish I could.  On the other hand, maybe not.

The winter is cold and drags on. On the other hand we don’t get hurricanes!

Tweeting about talking today. On the other hand maybe someone will talk.

My muse is out in the cedar tree with the birds. Singing out of sight.

Some things can’t be captured, they are meant to be enjoyed.

Balancing options, evaluating paths. What about this. Or that.

Soon I run out of on the other hand and know I have to choose.

 

Scratch that! I won’t throw away the words. Don’t offend the muse.

On the other hand, is bad poetry still poetry? Suckage is relative.

Did you know that 80’s rock isn’t very good for original poetry?

On the other hand, it is awesome for dancing and singing to!

I don’t know where we are going, or when, limbo is so strange.

On the other hand, I wouldn’t miss this adventure for anything!

Praying for broken hearts and praising in the hallway.

On the other hand we have much to be thankful for.

Thankful for what makes us stronger, what passes us by.

On the other hand I fight against that which I can’t change.

It’s futile, I know, running back to a closed gate.

On the other hand sometimes I can be a hard learner.

We are told to praise in the hallway, waiting can be so hard!

On the other hand He never said not to make windows.

 

26 Comments

  1. hisfirefly said,

    January 28, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    “It’s futile, I know, running back to a closed gate.”
    but we try, again and again, we try.
    love the hope you end with, the windows

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 2:58 am

      Ah thank you so much. I was really unsure about posting this one.

  2. Mary said,

    January 28, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    Shanyn, I absolutely LOVED your “on the other hand” piece. I am so happy that you shared it for OLN. I found a few of the ‘on the other hands’ very interesting. One was the one about 80’s music…yes, music doesn’t need to be poetic for it to be danceable. And even if we don’t know where we are going, it seems we just don’t want to get off this train called life any sooner than we have to.

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:01 am

      Oh Mary thank you so much! I really wasn’t sure about putting it out there, kinda like a bad hair day! I love listening to it but it doesn’t really help write poetry, good for dancing though. 🙂 I wanna ride to the end too!

  3. Grace said,

    January 29, 2014 at 1:07 am

    Well this is one prompt I will have to write to ~ Enjoyed this Shanyn specially running to a closed gate, we have much to learn ~

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:01 am

      I can’t wait to see what you do Grace, make sure to message me with the link. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed this.

  4. January 29, 2014 at 1:19 am

    Poetry, as art, like art, either resonates with the reader, the viewer, or it doesn’t; so like watching a movie, my “good” movie turns out to be your “bad” movie; one of the strongest things about the dVerse gang, is that whatever each of us writes, there will be some amongst the pack that dig it, other who don’t; it’s all so relative, but on the other hand, when I personally like a poem, it becomes a “good” one.

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:13 am

      Profound my friend, profound. And of course I would never bet against one that you liked! 🙂

  5. grapeling said,

    January 29, 2014 at 1:25 am

    ha! suckage is relative. grins, Shan ~

  6. claudia said,

    January 29, 2014 at 4:47 am

    smiles… sometimes a window is what we need… never tried to write 80’s poetry… and art/poetry “goodness” is always relative…

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:14 am

      For me it’s like writing 80’s pop music – really fun to listen to, not so much to write!

      And yeah a window, where is my chainsaw again? *Smiles*

  7. kaykuala said,

    January 29, 2014 at 10:07 am

    It’s futile, I know, running back to a closed gate.
    On the other hand sometimes I can be a hard learner.

    That is true Shanyn! Regretting is not the best of options..It’s no point going back on what had transpired. It may not be to one’s liking and getting agitated over it for some reasons is not good. One just have to take it! Good write!

    Hank

  8. MarinaSofia said,

    January 29, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    What a fun way to handle the prompt! So 80s rock is not good for writing poetry? – neither is music in French, I find… although it helps me with prose in English.

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:16 am

      I would think so Marina! I must try different language music when I’m working on prose. Thanks for coming by.

  9. January 29, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    Love how you did it..,and now I want 80s music to sing and dance.

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:16 am

      I love our 80’s station here, Bob 96.1 (you can listen online, which I do)…very good stuff. Thanks for coming by. Glad you enjoyed this.

  10. brian miller said,

    January 29, 2014 at 5:39 pm

    what makes poetry bad? is it not a judgement call of the reader? i am glad you did not throw the words away…if we wrote it, it meant something to us, right…and it so wont it mean something to someone else, even if some dont appreciate it?

    ha, i love 80s rock…smiles.

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:17 am

      Huh, I never looked at it that way Brian. Thanks for the change of perspective and the encouragement. My friend, I LOVE 80’s rock too!

  11. poetrypea said,

    January 29, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    No poetry is bad. Brian is right, it’s the perogative of the reader to decide. In this case I decide good.

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:18 am

      Ah and I thank you for that decision! 🙂 Great that you stopped by.

  12. billgncs said,

    January 30, 2014 at 3:15 am

    bad poetry is like wine — there is even a place somewhere for pear ripple.

    • shanyns said,

      January 30, 2014 at 3:19 am

      Yes I suppose there is…thanks for the smile, and for coming over.

  13. lynndiane said,

    February 4, 2014 at 1:52 am

    “Suckage is relative” makes me laugh…and the futility of “running back to a closed gate” happens on our farm often (gotta check if the gate’s shut)!

  14. emangster00 said,

    February 7, 2014 at 12:05 am

    Oooh i really like this! It made me laugh!! 🙂 The light humour is appealing.


Leave a Reply

