Winter Ride

Take me lady, take me on a winter ride.

Dance with me over snow and ice.

Blow me in with storms of you.

Take me lady. Take me.

~

Take me lady, take me on a winter ride.

Race with me! We have miles to go.

Saddle me a wild blue eyed mare.

Take me lady. Take me.

~

Take me lady, take me on a winter ride.

Chasing down dreams of springtime.

Running against the cold night.

Take me lady. Take me.

~

Take me lady, take me on a winter ride.

Kicking at winter. Breaking the cold.

Making a wild race to spring time.

Take me lady. Take me.

~

Take me lady, take me on a winter ride.

Ride with me until spring sun shines.

Ride with me until we are wild again.

Ride with me, lady. Oh ride.

 

For dVerse,we are thinking song lyrics. And I’ve been stumped. So in the spirit of riding wild horses across the plains in the pursuit of spring I give you this.

15 Comments

  1. February 7, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    Lovely – it has a “Wildfire” feel to it, and works very well. Kudos Shanyn. I hope you find the melody. Maybe you can hum it into a mic and then let someone translate it into a score for you. Nice work. Thanks.

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:52 pm

      Thanks Gay. I used to love singing that song when I was younger! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll work on the melody. Maybe my son can help me with it.

  2. brian miller said,

    February 7, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    hey if the ride is heading toward spring, i will jump on board as well…a fun rhythm to this one shanyn…looking forward to a little wild as well…

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:52 pm

      It’s a wild ride to spring this year. And I’m looking forward to spring getting here soon! Glad you enjoyed this one.

  3. billgncs said,

    February 7, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    I remember saddling up a wild eyed mare on a cold day in the mountains – each breath out of her nostrils a cloud of mist, and how she quivered as we tightened the cinch, led her in circles to work the kinks out – and then looked back with that wild eye as I stepped up ( holding my breath, ready for anything hoping for the best. ) She crow-hopped twice and then gentle lady she was we were off.

    thanks for bringing up that memory.

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:53 pm

      Glad she just crow-hopped. I love when they put on a good act and then just settle down for a nice ride. Grateful that you shared that memory here. Thanks!

      • billgncs said,

        February 9, 2014 at 11:37 pm

        yep, she was just a fine lady with a kink in her spine. Much more and I’d have been a spectator, but I’m sure she wouldn’t have run away. She would have just waited patiently wondering what was wrong with me ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. February 7, 2014 at 10:03 pm

    This has such a happy hopeful beat to it… love the thought of riding to meet the spring…

  5. Mary said,

    February 8, 2014 at 1:08 am

    Beautiful, Shanyn. I like the kind of ride that ends with the spring sun shining!!

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:54 pm

      I think we all do! I wonder if we all ride together if we can round up spring and bring her home? ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. claudia said,

    February 8, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    ah nice…i def. would love to join that ride…sounds like much fun

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:54 pm

      It would be fun, and enjoyable if we all were riding! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. February 8, 2014 at 10:57 pm

    Used to love riding horses; my sister raised them, until she got thrown by her favorite Arabian, broke her back, & has some OBS from it. That will never happen to a horsewoman such as yourself; God forbid.

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:56 pm

      Oh I am so sorry to hear about your sister’s accident. It can happen that’s for sure. I’ve had my share of wrecks, and I’m pretty sure one day I’ll wish I had taken better care of myself when those come back to ache and remind me of the falls! Ride safe as you can in life, that’s all we can do. Ride on faith and ride safe.


Leave a Reply

