Sketch Poetry

 

New sketch book remains blank and so very new.

Chalk board with chalk beckons me to play.

Lego Movie song ear worm sings loud 

everything is awesome, everything is cool

Lego Movie game with wild west music

laughing boy while daddy naps in the sun

everything is awesome, everything is cool

I play in the chalk, promising not to erase 

cats chase bird shadow shows on the blinds

a dog sleeps, tongue out, dreaming dreaming 

another windchill warning day

with the sun warmly laughing at us

teasing with thoughts of spring while

the polar vortex twists us in frozen knots

I long for paints, colored pencils and flowers.

Ugh winter be gone ye shall not last 

that is truth, and in it the seed of a lie

for winter always returns, she is like that

frozen bird song as magpies eat apples

I let myself dream of things to come

and wonder is it the cold medication

giving me visions and wonders of spring

or am I really seeing an end to

cabin fever  the cows and horses

steam in the cold sunshine and look

at me like it is my fault that spring

isn’t tempering this winter yet.

Grandma would be proud of me

I feed them all, tame and wild, so

maybe our wait won’t be so hard.

everything is awesome, everything is cool

 

Claudia asked us to sketch a poem, perhaps even use a sketch of our own, and not edit or fuss at it. Just let it flow and be. This is just what I did. Enjoy. Stop by dVerse to see what the other amazing poets have contributed today. And please share your own. And leave love. Always leave love.

14 Comments

  1. claudia said,

    February 9, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    smiles… i love chalk… a cool capture of your day…of what’s going on around you.. the emotions… joy… the feeding all the animals… cool…looking forward to spring as well… over here it was sunny but very windy…the wind almost blew me off my bike when i biked home from church

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:57 pm

      We had sun and cold. With windchill. I don’t miss the winds so much but I am learning to hate the cold. Glad you didn’t get blown away! I loved playing with the chalk, have to do that more often I think.

  2. lynndiane said,

    February 9, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    Enjoyed your sketch and poem! Hopefully soon we can create with sidewalk chalk again…yes, “winter be gone – ye shall not last” and “always leave love” – well writ!

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:57 pm

      Thank you! I think sidewalk chalk will be a summer Poetics! 🙂 And I’m glad you liked the poem. Great that you stopped by.

  3. February 9, 2014 at 9:27 pm

    what fun your words are having while you are not fussing with them! and do you have a cold today, too? I woke up with a scratchy throat…under an afghan currently feeling under the weather- maybe I should try some medication and see what words come! love the rhythm and imagery with this one!

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:58 pm

      I have the cold that the boys have had. Ugh. Not fun. Hope you fee better soonest Dawn. Glad you came by though, and do try the Cold & Sinus advil for poetry…ha ha

  4. brian miller said,

    February 9, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    we have lego movie fever here as well….smiles… spring will be here soon and we can once more paint the world with sidewalk chalk…we used to do some pretty amazing things with it in a competition at college….

    • shanyns said,

      February 9, 2014 at 10:59 pm

      It was a fun show. Not as much for us grownups as some of the others but enjoyed by the younger set. Now the guys are playing the game and playing with their sets, and reading the books. I’d love to see some photos of that side walk chalk competition!

  5. billgncs said,

    February 9, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    I felt the joy in this, unfiltered fun.

  6. ayala said,

    February 10, 2014 at 1:20 am

    🙂 Nice capture!

  7. Rallentanda said,

    February 10, 2014 at 5:07 am

    I get your feeling of cabin fever …even your animals are getting fed up..must be really tough in a cold climate…I could never survive your long harsh winters….must produce people of discipline and determination:)

    • shanyns said,

      February 10, 2014 at 4:43 pm

      There are some good things about our winters – lots of sunshine. And when it is a bit milder it can be fun to play in the snow. But this year it has been long and cold for sure. Thanks for coming by, glad you enjoyed the poem.


Leave a Reply

