someTHING special

Ginger Bread_001

 

Grandma hand wrote each recipe.

She changed them each time too.

Her notes scratched in margins.

Cookbooks were never safe!

My mother typed this, she likes

the tidy neatness of typing.

And yet she added the hand

notes as in my Grandma’s

version. History and heritage

dual treats always so sweet.

 

1902330_10151958403854607_427903995_o

 

SomeTHING blowy. SomeTHING snowy.

Drifts bury fences. Cows don’t care.

No feed near them drifts anyway.

SomeTHING blowy. SomeTHING snowy.

Winter your welcome is long worn out.

I’m tired of walking through deep snow.

It WAS warmer today. That is someTHING.

SomeTHING to be thankful for.

Spring will break your hold upon us.

That is someTHING to look forward to.

Until then, snow falls, and blows.

Tracks fill and drifts rise. Rise! RISE!

Snow, like God’s EtchaSketch blows everyTHING

into a flat white canvas. Tracks and prints.

Only room for sunlight and shadows.

Victoria has us writing about THINGS today for Meeting At The Bar over at the dVerse Pub. So far my THINGS have been Granda’s recipe and the snow. Enjoy!

34 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    February 20, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    Ah. reading the recipe reminds me so much of my mother’s recipe book. She often typed things out but in a very informal and chatty way. I agree about the ‘history and heritage.’ I wouldn’t have my mother’s recipes preserved any other way.

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:27 pm

      I love having the notes, then i know her favorites, and can hopefully make them again one day. I love how it is a common thread for so many of us. 🙂

  2. Brian Miller said,

    February 20, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    ha. and we might get more snow next week…oy….
    i love the hand written recipes…they are like journals
    or diaries…and special little changes….my mom has one
    of my grandmothers…its cool…

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:28 pm

      We got snow, and then wind and then cold. Whoever didn’t order spring is in BIG trouble! 🙂 You are right they are like journals or diaries…neat. Glad your Mom has one, will it be yours one day?

  3. Gabriella said,

    February 20, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    I enjoyed reading about your family recipes. As for myself, I write recipes out still but also take photos of them but it is mostly because it is convenient.

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:28 pm

      Photos are cool too. I like typing them myself, but I ALWAYS seem to be adding things in pencil or pen as I bake and cook.

  4. Grace said,

    February 20, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    I love keeping and reading old recipes, dual treats are special ~

    And winter is so so long for me too ~ traffic was horrible with the rain and snow this evening, yuck ~ Enjoyed your play with pub post title, SomeTHING, smiles Take care Shanyn ~

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:29 pm

      Dual treats are the best! And I’m way ready for winter to be done. This return to cold is not cool. Take care in your winter weather. And I’m glad you liked that someTHiNG 🙂

  5. lynndiane said,

    February 20, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    It has been nostalgic to read through my mom’s recipes as well, especially the ones with handwritten notes…of course, I kept the ones she marked “Very good!”

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:29 pm

      Those ones are the BEST aren’t they? We should do a cookbook with all these recipe collectors.

  6. Glenn Buttkus said,

    February 21, 2014 at 3:22 am

    My wife has a small box of her mother’s & grandmother’s recipes, hand-written, or typed, with hand-written notes in the margins, and any of them have butter or coffee stains on them. Though I don’t cook, I love to browse through them.

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:30 pm

      oh wow that is so cool. Browsing is neat too. I have boxes of recipe cards my grandmother’s collected over the years…vintage is what they are now. 🙂

  7. Myrna said,

    February 21, 2014 at 3:39 am

    I enjoyed both of these so much. I like the line about God’s etcha sketch. Very creative.

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:31 pm

      Thanks. It always amazes me how quickly, and thoroughly, the wind and snow can erase tracks and signs.

  8. kkkkaty1k said,

    February 21, 2014 at 4:23 am

    I made my daughter a scrapbook of these from my mother and aunt and grandmother….and snow….def an object of love and hate 😉

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:36 pm

      That would be an awesome scrapbook! I may do that one day.

      And yes love and hate is where it is at with the snow, and winter. I know we are a winter country but enough already!

  9. claudia said,

    February 21, 2014 at 4:59 am

    so cool on the recipes – i have a hand-written recipe collection with recipes by friends and colleagues that i collected over the years – my daughter loves to brush through it and ask me about the background stories – and then cook the things…smiles

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      Oh Claudia what a treasure that must be! 🙂 for you both.

  10. Bryan Ens said,

    February 21, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    “like God’s Etch-a-Sketch” – wonderful description of how snow can cover everything, making all look like a blank canvas. I’m with you, though, in that the snow can go away now!

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      Thanks Bryan. We need to order extra spring, in case the first one gets lost. ha ha

  11. February 21, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    Oh those precious hand-written recipes. I have tons from my mom and a few from my sister. The funnest though is my father-in-law’s for headcheese. Hmmm.

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:33 pm

      Oooh my father-in-law loves headcheese, but I don’t think he has his mother’s recipe. That would be a neat one to have! 🙂

  12. February 21, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    I soo wish we could have some winter here… got an inch here but it all meltet.. Love those reciepies… My mother still have some that my grandmother wrote.. especially one which specifically says that “don’t let Björn eat of the dough”… written before my little sister was born…

    • shanyns said,

      February 21, 2014 at 7:34 pm

      Come visit Bjorn. We have MORE than enough to share. Trust me. 🙂 Will have to message you some from yesterday. ha ha

      That is cool, don’t let Bjorn eat the dough. What kind of dough was it?

      • February 21, 2014 at 7:36 pm

        Gingerbread dough… with plenty of spices and cream..

      • shanyns said,

        February 21, 2014 at 8:09 pm

        now that is dough I WANT to eat…we need to do a Poet’s Cookbook!

      • February 21, 2014 at 8:12 pm

        I have done two recipe poem.. one on mulled wine and another on clams,… indeed a poet’s cookbook makes a lot of sense…

      • shanyns said,

        February 21, 2014 at 8:14 pm

        🙂

  13. February 21, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    Liked both of these very much – clever the way you worked in the value and treasure of recipes – sorry you’re still in snow – we’ve moved to springtime and I must find a new yard man. Thanks much.

  14. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) said,

    February 22, 2014 at 5:32 am

    I enjoyed both these pieces. Do feel sorry for all you Northern Hemisphere folks. Sounds like the snow is worse than usual this year.

  15. Linda Rogers said,

    February 22, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    Love the hand written recipe’s. I still pull out my mom’s recipes and it brings me right back in time and memories flood me. Great poem’s and I am so ready for spring as well.

  16. Akila said,

    February 26, 2014 at 8:42 am

    ah! those scents of the hand wirtten words…so much seems to have got lost in the keyboard…i find my writing trailing now. as if th elast bit is just left to be understood! 🙂


Leave a Reply

