Invisibility

It might be hard to believe.

The person you know here

has the power of invisibility!

I can fade away in front of

your eyes. Not seen or heard.

Sometimes I am loud I know.

Bright colors. Big ideas.

Opinions and passions.

Too often though I choose

to fade away from those 

who don’t understand me.

I’m weird. I know. Stranger.

My faith, my ideas, my love.

It doesn’t make sense to you.

But it it perfectly sane to me.

This wild ride I choose to live.

From you so much is invisible.

You should do this. That. ?

Why would I settle for the

safe route, paved and marked?

The unmarked trail. The road

pioneers dare to break in the

wilderness. That’s for me!

Settle down they say. Grow up.

Stay alive! Grow older. Wiser.

Dance to music only we can hear.

You sing the song to my heart.

Our path invisible to those

who only know marked roads.

The rat race would have us

die in the starting blocks.

Living on old safe cheese.

I go. I smile. I fade away.

Taking my colors with me.

The riot of sounds too.

I’ll happily leave you

with your safe palettes.

Me, I’m painting as I go.

No paint by numbers.

Don’t stay in the lines!

Life a living art, alive.

I might be invisible.

And that is safe for you.

I like being invisible.

You should try it. Yes.

It is so freeing to be

outside of the frame.

Out in the freedom.

Free to think. To feel.

No need to explain.

Being invisible isn’t

all bad, especially now

that you can see me!

Mary has us considering invisibility today for Poetics at dVerse!  If you have gotten this far, then I suggest you ‘select all‘ to read the rest of the poem. You know, the INVISIBLE part! 🙂  Join us! Come on by. Share some poetry. Read some poetry. Leave love. Always leave love. 

42 Comments

  1. Brian Miller said,

    March 1, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    life is living art…yes it is…and good on your following your heart on that pioneer trail and being willing to color outside the lines as well…you are clever…cool trick hiding the verses in between…..smiles.

    • shanyns said,

      March 1, 2014 at 5:11 pm

      It is the best way I know to be alive! 🙂 We are for sure doing that…

      Glad you enjoyed my ‘invisible’ verses!

  2. March 1, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    it’s really good 🙂

  3. Mary said,

    March 1, 2014 at 4:45 pm

    Shanyn, this is a beautiful poem really. I first read it on one level (only the ‘obvious’ stanzas, then read the ‘invisible’ stanzas. Sometimes there is comfort in the ‘invisible.’ Your poem shows that there is often much more below the surface of a person (or a poem) than what is at first obvious. And, yes, it CAN be freeing to be outside the frame.

    • shanyns said,

      March 1, 2014 at 5:42 pm

      🙂 So glad you liked it Mary. It is so good to be outside the frame, the box. The place where they think you should be instead of where you need to be.

  4. claudia said,

    March 1, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    painting as you go sounds good to me… there’s much freedom in following what the heart tells you and outside the frame we all breathe a bit easier…smiles

  5. kaykuala said,

    March 1, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    Free to think. To feel.
    No need to explain.

    The freedom of choice to do one’s own bidding. Being free liken to being invisible to do good for the sake of someone dear! Nicely Shanyns!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      March 1, 2014 at 5:44 pm

      🙂 Thanks! Glad you enjoyed this. And found the invisible.

  6. March 1, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    Very clever to hide half of the verses… I really like the thought to colorize the unmarked paths.. yes that’s the advantage of being invisible…

  7. Gabriella said,

    March 1, 2014 at 8:20 pm

    How clever to use the theme of invisibility so literally, Shanyn! I enjoyed the visible as well as the invisible stanzas and what each set reveals of the poet.

  8. Grace said,

    March 1, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    How clever to hide the verses Shanyn ~ I specially like: Me, I’m painting as I go.

    Enjoyed this and wishing you happy weekend ~

    • shanyns said,

      March 2, 2014 at 12:25 am

      Thanks Grace! I truly am coloring this as I journey through life. 🙂 It does keep things interesting.

  9. hypercryptical said,

    March 1, 2014 at 9:59 pm

    Oh words (that could have been written) from my heart Shanyn- – the beauty and freedom of invisibility, living outside the norm the expected and how much more alive we are for it.
    Anna :o]

    • shanyns said,

      March 2, 2014 at 12:26 am

      🙂 Our hearts know each other don’t they? Thank you for your sweet words!

  10. March 1, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    “Me, I’m painting as I go.” I LOVE this poem. YES! Paint it all in bright colors!

  11. March 1, 2014 at 11:32 pm

    Under the radar. Brilliant!

  12. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) said,

    March 2, 2014 at 1:04 am

    Invisibility as freedom – yes!

  13. ManicDdaily said,

    March 2, 2014 at 1:06 am

    A great sense of freedom and enthusiasm–and quirkiness! With a little bit of ornery on the side. (I think there may be a typo–You should to this? That?) It works as to–like a piece of dialogue, and answer– but I wasn’t sure if you wanted ‘do.’ Thanks. k.

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2014 at 4:25 pm

      Good catch on the typo. Thanks! I got it fixed. 🙂

      Yeah I’m a bit ornery at times…ha ha

  14. rmp said,

    March 2, 2014 at 3:47 am

    there is definitely something freeing about being invisible. I wouldn’t mind fading into the background, though I do like to color within the lines.

    this was definitely a nifty construction and nice hidden take on invisibility.

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2014 at 4:29 pm

      Thanks, so glad you enjoyed it. Great that you stopped by.

  15. Truedessa said,

    March 2, 2014 at 4:56 am

    the freedom to be you..this was cool the invisible lines between verses..very cleverly done..

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2014 at 4:30 pm

      thank you, and yes that freedom is hard won but worth it!

  16. March 2, 2014 at 5:41 am

    yep – so many are much too afraid to be themselves… rather be a clone, a paper doll so they can join the line of others… a different take on being invisible and I like it… bcus in some situations, it feels good to be the “odd man out”

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2014 at 4:31 pm

      It does feel that way, and even when it doesn’t feel good, it often feels right! Glad you came by and pleased you enjoyed the poetry.

  17. March 2, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    Lovely! Being yourself wholly while in invisibility… How fun is that! I really liked the clever technique of hiding those lines at first. I wonder how you did that.
    Delightful reading.. 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2014 at 4:33 pm

      🙂 Thanks! I just made the text white and it shows up when you highlight it! 🙂 Would only work in a digital medium but it was fun.

  18. Abhra Pal said,

    March 3, 2014 at 12:02 am

    “The rat race would have us

    die in the starting blocks.

    Living on old safe cheese.”

    Such powerful lines – and yet so much fun to live the life on the other side. Thanks – I am in love with this one – it’s perfect, fun and such a brilliant take on the prompt.

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2014 at 4:35 pm

      Thanks. I’m just grinning after your comment! Made my day. So pleased you love this piece.

  19. billgncs said,

    March 3, 2014 at 4:04 am

    find the cheese that fills your heart

  20. March 3, 2014 at 7:05 am

    It’s a fine heART to make one’s presence known powerfully..
    and remain invisible..
    for oneself..for meditation..
    properties..i
    personally..i
    immerse my self in music..letting go..
    and finally
    flowing
    once
    again…

  21. Bryan Ens said,

    March 3, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    Invisible words – that was a really clever touch…especially as the poem “worked” either with or without those invisible words, but the invisible (once seen) added so much more depth. VERY cool take on the prompt!


Leave a Reply

