Manifesto: Riding my own broncs

Saddle your own broncs

 

Riding my own Broncs

I will write. My poetry. My own way. For me. Sometimes, for an audience of one, or maybe none. Sometimes for more. And to them who come to read, to share, I say, “Thank you”

I have written in the dark of the night. Through the tears. Laughing with utter joy. And those times of the greatest hurt awaken my muse to words.

I will keep alive the story telling legacy of the cowboy poets, the romantics. T.S. Eliot the cats. All those who stood at the cross roads and took the road less trod. And those who took the well worn road and made it their own. And those who stood at the cross roads, grabbed a machete, a pack of matches or a strawberry roan bronc and blazed a new trail.

I will respect the muse, and I will also lure, bait, promise and chase her down when the words are shying away. I will ride my own broncs, and ask only that those who also ride to come along on the wide roads, and the narrow mountain trails. We need to write, it is to our spirits the breath of life. I need to write, the words speak to my soul as my eyes see poetry everywhere. My hands feel it. My heart beats for it. I dream it, and will never forsake it.  Like the breath of my beloved, the heartbeat of our child – it is part of me.

I will not succumb to the threats of busy-ness, boredom, harsh critics, lazy readers and those who won’t try to see the poetry that breathes right in front of them.

I am a poet. I will write. I am a poet. I will breathe, bleed and sweat poetry. I am a poet.

Gay has us writing our Manifesto for dVerse. This is mine. Trying to keep it within the criteria given, and yet taking it on my own ride. Come on over!

24 Comments

  1. kaykuala said,

    March 8, 2014 at 2:21 am

    I will write. My poetry. My own way

    That spells it out right in the beginning. One treasures one’s freedom of choice,one’s own mark in pitting oneself against a challenge – any challenge. This is a great resolve to adopt, Shanyn! It allows one’s talents to find the best form to fulfill the earnest desire to oneself. In so doing others benefit too. Great write!

    Hank

    • shanyns said,

      March 8, 2014 at 2:26 am

      Thank you Hank. You encourage me and I appreciate that. Lots!

  2. Bryan Ens said,

    March 8, 2014 at 2:42 am

    So many poets…so many reasons to write. Yes, poetry is not just for joy, or just for sorrow, it is for all times and all places, and each poet must write in his/her own way. Your poetry is wonderful, and uniquely you, and by all means, keep writing!!

    • shanyns said,

      March 8, 2014 at 2:59 am

      Thank you Bryan. I appreciate your words so much.

  3. Brian Miller said,

    March 8, 2014 at 3:21 am

    love the strength in your voice in this shanyn, particularly there in the end…its almost like i am poet, hear me roar…and def keep up the story telling tradition…i am a storyteller at heart…and poetry is everywhere.

    • shanyns said,

      March 8, 2014 at 9:56 pm

      🙂 I kinda did make that a roar…for all those who wonder, “Is it poetry?” YEAH it is! 😀 And storytelling, for us, is part of the poetic package. An important part. Thanks for the visit!

  4. March 8, 2014 at 3:28 am

    That’s how to do it – how to write it – how to be it – how to consider it – I believe in this, I believe you and I know that you know you are and probably always have been a poet. Great piece. Well said and well delivered. Loved it!

  5. March 8, 2014 at 4:14 am

    This is the manifesto of a strong and confident person/poet…really admire what you write.

    • shanyns said,

      March 8, 2014 at 9:57 pm

      Thank you so much, your words and being here is appreciated, more than you know!

  6. March 8, 2014 at 7:17 am

    There’s not just the narrow road.. Sometimes grabbing a machete is just the right thing to do. And I love how you build up a crescendo…

  7. claudia said,

    March 8, 2014 at 11:46 am

    seeing and feeling poetry everywhere…i like this… it is an additional connection to look at life…and good to write the things we see down for others to enjoy

    • shanyns said,

      March 8, 2014 at 9:58 pm

      Yes! Yes! and YES! Thanks Claudia for being here.

  8. Barry Dawson said,

    March 10, 2014 at 5:04 am

    Taking the road less traveled,blazing your own trail. All poets should subscribe to your point of view here. Thank you for sharing this.

    • shanyns said,

      March 11, 2014 at 9:02 pm

      Ah thank you Barry! That is very encouraging. Glad you came by.

  9. lynndiane said,

    March 10, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    You have a strong voice, Shanyns, and a strong manifesto here. Bravo!

  10. March 12, 2014 at 12:49 am

    Love this. Very strong.

  11. wolfsrosebud said,

    March 12, 2014 at 12:43 pm

    an audience of one… I like that… if we can’t be happy with our work maybe we shouldn’t bother writing… nice

    • shanyns said,

      March 12, 2014 at 9:48 pm

      Yes, I think that often. And then I am surprised that others enjoy it too! Always pleasant when that happens!

  12. March 12, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    So glad I got to see this…I missed it last week. You express our experience so well! Thank you.


Leave a Reply

