Where art thou, o Spring!

Freezing Hot by Sunita Khedekar

Our spring colors are grey.

And white. And mud. There!

A flash of blue. Blue jay!

 

March roared in like a lion.

And stayed. Prowling. Roar!

Cold. Snow. Rain. No spring!

 

Colors washed, faded, to grey.

Our hearts stay warm. Inside!

Rich reds, blues. Purple. Green!

 

We so long for green. For color.

Sending love. Up. up. UP!

Spring, come back, we miss you!

 

Red tail lights under the Trickster Moon.

Coyote laughing. Winter’s last days.

Geese fly ’round in vain. No water here!

 

Spring, like our hearts, awaits the time.

The time to fly. To bloom. To rise!

Winter holds on tight. Too tight!

 

Windows stay shuttered. Blind.

I won’t watch it snow again. AGAIN!

Sleet mimics rain. So cruel a tease.

 

A patch of last year’s grass, dead green.

We stare at it. Does it get bigger? Yet?

Even the horses lust for it. Ache.

 

I’d trade this piled high white and grey.

Trade it for warm brown. Dusty hues.

Colored pencils become a bouquet.

 

Red hearts rising from chimneys dark.

Windows closed against the cold.

Spring, we are waiting. Come! Come!

 

Grace has us working with the lovely, and inspiring art of Sunita, and she did have us talking about spring and colors. Well. WELL! Our spring so far has been 50 shades of grey, and we are lusting for something more. Something green. Something muddy. Something NOT snow. NOT white. NOT grey. Drifts shrink too slowly and the warmth is more a tease than something deeper. I’m sure my poetic counterparts have brighter spring words for you, why don’t you head over and check them out?

http://dversepoets.com/2014/03/18/poetics/

38 Comments

  1. Brian Miller said,

    March 19, 2014 at 2:34 am

    i wonder if that coyote is laughing…our march has been like a lion here as well…ice storms sunday and monday…i so long for spring…and more colors than grey…blech…to everything its time though…it will come eventually…smiles.

    • shanyns said,

      March 19, 2014 at 2:36 am

      In Native culture the coyote is always the trickster, and this moon appears full before it is, thus being the Trickster Moon. I think they just laugh because they can! πŸ™‚

      We had freezing rain here too, today, and snow on Sunday. Not fun. Grey is not my color, but for now it’s what we have!

      Smiles because spring will come, and when she does I’m buying her a drink!

  2. billgncs said,

    March 19, 2014 at 3:26 am

    come soon spring, and linger a bit

  3. Bodhirose said,

    March 19, 2014 at 3:33 am

    Your desperation is coming through LOUD and clear, Shanyn! Beautifully done…so hope you get some thawing soon…

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:19 am

      Thanks! πŸ™‚ We did get a nice warm day today, right before a shot of winter (just in case we forgot!).

  4. claudia said,

    March 19, 2014 at 4:55 am

    oh i can imagine how sick you must be of snow after such a long winter… but spring will come…hang in there…

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:19 am

      It is coming, maybe the geese are bringing it with them! πŸ™‚

  5. vandana said,

    March 19, 2014 at 5:43 am

    I can see a rainbow here.

  6. MarinaSofia said,

    March 19, 2014 at 10:35 am

    I hear ya! It will come, it will. We had an endless winter last year and then it finally brightened up in… June.

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:20 am

      June you say…LOL…we can hope for a bit earlier! ha ha

  7. Truedessa said,

    March 19, 2014 at 11:36 am

    hmm..I too long for spring..I won’t watch it snow again..AGAIN..sleet and ice playing havoc on the road..

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:20 am

      Watching another storm roll in, snow that is. Glad I don’t have to be on the road tomorrow.

  8. Mary said,

    March 19, 2014 at 11:44 am

    Oh yes, March marched in here…and has stayed too! I empathize. I like the idea that even though there is gray, inside one’s heart can be rich colors. And the dead grass…I look at mine every day, looking for a HINT of green, hopeful. Nice collection here!

  9. Grace said,

    March 19, 2014 at 12:25 pm

    I hear you on bading spring to come and come quickly ~ We are still having a bit of snow but it should be getting better in the coming days ~ Stay warm Shanyn & have a good Thursday ~

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:21 am

      This year we got good at staying warm πŸ™‚ and I know spring will come. The longer days are nicer too!

  10. ayala said,

    March 19, 2014 at 12:36 pm

    You long for spring…and I hope it finds you soon.

  11. nico said,

    March 19, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    Here in Georgia we haven’t had quite the winter you’ve had up north, but I still know some of what you’ve expressed here–I’m ready for spring to break out in earnest! Lovely work.

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:21 am

      You all had your unfair share this year, thanks for coming by.

  12. tigerbrite said,

    March 19, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    May it bloom soon!

  13. March 19, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    I can understand why you chose this monochromatic poem, Shanyn, and how the weather affects you. Was this the trickster moon? She sure has done a number on my moods. And right now, when I walk the dogs, I have to carry a golf club. The coyotes have been prowling in the neighborhood.

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:22 am

      The coyotes, and deer, are really tired of winter. Acting strange, be safe and I hope you have a strong club! Glad you liked the poem.

  14. lynndiane said,

    March 19, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    March is a tease…I ache with your horses for the colors of spring to come soon! Your final stanza wrapped it all up…like the artwork’s grey call for spring!

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:23 am

      As soon as I saw that painting I knew it was the one I had to write about, to. πŸ™‚

  15. March 19, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Even here we are visited by the roaring lion… heaps of snow coming down.. and all are shades of grey…

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:23 am

      Phpht…spring will come. After this snow storm and cold snap – or so I hear! I hope you get it soon.

  16. Glenn Buttkus said,

    March 19, 2014 at 9:45 pm

    You live in Canada, Sweetie, what do you expect in early March? Lovely poetics though. Did you check mine out? Do you ride much in the winter? hubby has to fight ice & snow to get to work; now that is the ass-kicker; glad I’m done with that struggle.

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:25 am

      Ah I know, and I do expect winter in winter, but this year has been one of the most prolonged cold and snow winters since the late ’70s so I’m in good company wishing for spring! πŸ™‚

      I don’t ride as much out here where there is lots of snow, where I used to live it was milder and less snowy and we did ride often! I liked your poem, quite a bit. Well done!

      Hubby does fight the snow…and I’m glad you are done with it!

  17. March 20, 2014 at 12:23 am

    Oh, Shanyn- such a fun dance with words! Love these lines most: Spring, like our hearts, awaits the time.
    The time to fly. To bloom. To rise!

    Course you know I love winter… but I suppose the time for Spring is overdue. πŸ˜‰

    • shanyns said,

      March 21, 2014 at 12:25 am

      πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed them. And I know you love winter – I would love you to come spend one with me. Maybe it will wear off on me!

  18. Abhra Pal said,

    March 20, 2014 at 12:59 am

    I could identify with your words Shanyn –

    Colors washed, faded, to grey.
    Our hearts stay warm. Inside!

    Lovely.

  19. sreejaharikrishnan said,

    March 20, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    beautiful writing….

  20. lucychili said,

    March 22, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    hullo from brown land with an autumn sky
    we are sending your sun back
    your descriptions really capture the chill greys


Leave a Reply

