no animals

So you have a life with no animals?

How quiet that must be.

And hair free. You say “care free!”

 

My life is full of animals big and small!

It can be as noisy as can be.

Hairy, scary, and wild to see.

 

Wild critters, most tame and some not sure.

Each gives more than it takes.

Freely loving, forgiving, and loyal.

 

For every mess I clean up, there is love

Freely given, every time, and grace.

They are fools, they are wise.

 

I bust them sleeping on my pillows

Or leaving a mess on the floor.

When I’m ready to lose it, they come.

 

Tails wagging, small bodies purring

I can breathe because they love.

Unconditionally, no strings.

 

Horse kisses from soft muzzles – sweet!

Cow kisses from long rough tongues – uh.

Dog and cat push and nuzzle.

 

Wild birds come to visit. Soaring, Singing.

Deer sleeping on the lawn. Trusting.

Coyotes sing a choral mashup!

 

Some days I imagine a life with no animals.

And the silence, the clean seems to appeal.

I am brought back!  I know animals!

 

I know their ways. I know and love  them.

All God’s creatures, great and small.

We are one too – so we all belong.

 

Sneaking cookies or sleeping on pillows.

Counter surfing and leaving deposits 

Hair, mud, blood, spit and shit.

 

Holding them as they enter the world.

Loving them as they sadly leave.

Knowing them through it all.

Know animals? Oh yes I do.

No animals? Not a chance.

 

The talented Marina is tending bar for us at dVerse and we are talking about animals. I just moved across the prairies with two cats and two dogs, put the cows and horses with trusted friends and let an elder dog stay with a dear friend.  This is the first year I won’t see my cows calve, or have that first spring ride on my horse. But I know we’ll see them again, and that God has a plan. Even in the middle of a wildly crazy mess, there is a plan.  

9 Comments

  1. Brian Miller said,

    April 2, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    i do not have the blessing of seeing them come into this world…that would be very cool…i do have several animals though…a cat, about 8 deer, some coons and possums that come for dinner on occassion….ha…

    • shanyns said,

      April 2, 2014 at 8:10 pm

      Gotta love the wild ones who come to visit! It is amazing to see them arrive – large or small, and hard to let them go. 🙂 Possums are more clever than we thought I’ve heard. 🙂

  2. April 2, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    Oh I can understand you.. but I think animals would be happier without my neglect… and yes the hair would be tough. But I see wild animals in my garden, deer and squirel, butterflies and thrushes.. more wild than tame

    • shanyns said,

      April 2, 2014 at 9:09 pm

      They might surprise you and get you serving them! ha ha Mine seem to think I’m a minion at times 🙂 I LOVE the wild animals. They are often my favorites too (ssssshhhh don’t tell my other animals!)

  3. April 2, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    I live in an apartment complex where animals aren’t allowed; some people sneak and have cats around here tho… quite a few wild rabbits and cats come by, actually… I can’t keep count of how many times I’ve given milk and tuna. haha… Saw a skunk for the 1st time in person about a month ago – that was really cool…. smiles

    • shanyns said,

      April 2, 2014 at 10:06 pm

      Skunks are NOT my favorite animal to see 🙂 or smell. I found when I did emergency planning that many people in ‘pet free’ places had ‘quiet pets’ or other animals anyway. Glad you help out the critter neighbors! 🙂

  4. April 2, 2014 at 11:08 pm

    I’m with you, Shanyn. My life would be unbearably lonely without animals.

  5. MarinaSofia said,

    April 3, 2014 at 8:45 am

    Oh, I hear you loud and clear! My mother and certain friends always complain about the mess… Yes, it is more work and they do leave hair, but what an empty house/life it would be without them!

  6. April 3, 2014 at 9:28 am

    Can’t imagine life without an animal any longer. The only slightly tame one around is my cat. And me. Then there’s the eagles, the ravens, the owls, the swifts, the monkeys, the baboons, the deer, the butterflies, and so on and so on. Lovely poem.


Leave a Reply

