Treasures

Lost

Treasures lost. Old books. Toys.

A bracelet. Something loaned.

Cherished and then gone. Where?

Some stolen, some given away.

Each one has a memory to it.

 

Found

Cleaning in an old garden. A ring!

Wondering about her hand, bare.

Kicking stones, finding a crystal.

On the beach a heart of driftwood.

Old book or Tonka toy. Each one.

A treasure found.

 

Stored

Stored away. I wonder, will I see you again?

Packed carefully and left alone. Far away.

I wonder will they be my squirrel nuts,

stashed and waiting for another to find?

Will they still be treasure to another’s eye?

 

Carriedย 

I brought some with us. Photos. Ornaments.

Treasures. Mostly small. Place holders of

memories. Place holders of heart. Of time.

A place. Where we were, or could be. Once.

Each one familiar to the touch. The smell.

A bird’s nest. Feathers. Heartshaped stone.

Old books. A toy. Broken locket. Sweetgrass.

 

Treasures

Where your heart is, your treasure will be also.

My heart is on heavenly treasure, to be sure.

But my human parts shudder at the bare life

of a nomad. I need somethings. Having started

anew, like a pirate with a new ship, barren.

I lost treasures dear, and their memories fade.

Starting again with seed treasures, memories.

Memories to grow, with some bits of the old.

Starting new. Starting fresh. Treasures come!

 

We are talking about treasures at dVerse. I’ve packed, stored, lost and found many over the years. We are in an RV now, and our treasures are small and select. Precious to be sure. Most are packed away, and I pray are safe in their storage – if they are not I’ll mourn I’m sure. I know we are only stewards, and nothing is really our own…and my heart dwells deepest on heavenly treasure, I still find pleasure in my small things of this world and the memories they hold.

24 Comments

  1. Renard Moreau said,

    April 9, 2014 at 4:53 pm

    [ Smiles ] Lovely poetry!

    • shanyns said,

      April 9, 2014 at 9:58 pm

      Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Renard Moreau said,

        April 9, 2014 at 10:01 pm

        [ Smiles ] You are welcome!

  2. tigerbrite said,

    April 9, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    Love this and compartments of joy. I often think about some of my treasures stolen in burglaries. But then, as you say, treasures come.

    • shanyns said,

      April 9, 2014 at 9:58 pm

      Stolen treasures hurt, don’t they? Thanks for coming by. Glad you enjoyed this.

  3. Gabriella said,

    April 9, 2014 at 7:21 pm

    I felt as if I was watching you boxing your treasures, Shanyn. I hope you can find the objects you think you might have lost.

    • shanyns said,

      April 9, 2014 at 9:59 pm

      Thanks Gabriella! Me too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you stopped by.

  4. April 9, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    I really like how you categorized them .. and for sure treasures have a life.. found lost, stored… I could almost see you sorting them in different piles.. very nice (and I think even a nomad would have a few)..

    • shanyns said,

      April 9, 2014 at 10:09 pm

      Thanks Bjorn. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was sorting, and yes nomads have a few I believe!

  5. brian miller said,

    April 9, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    sad when we lose those memories…i think of my grands when they went through the flood in 85…they lost so much…cool on finding the ring as well…because i too would be wondering at its history…

    • shanyns said,

      April 9, 2014 at 10:19 pm

      It is hard losing things in a flood or other disaster – they can’t be brought back. Photos and mementos. It was neat finding that old ring, I wonder about her who wore it and where she got it from. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Mary said,

    April 9, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    I enjoyed your poem, Shanyn. Liked your approach with the lost treasures, found treasures, stored treasures, etc. I especially enjoyed ‘placeholders of heart.’ This was certainly a heartfelt write, and I think you for doing it at this very busy time in your life.

    • shanyns said,

      April 9, 2014 at 10:23 pm

      Thanks Mary! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so pleased you liked my take on your prompt.

  7. Glenn Buttkus said,

    April 9, 2014 at 11:11 pm

    Wow, you have talked about selling/leaving your farm/ranch, but it is only becoming clear to me now, that for time, it is the gypsy life for you; have to switch out the image I have of you on the ranch.

    • shanyns said,

      April 9, 2014 at 11:16 pm

      It is hard for me to imagine too. Seeing cows and horses not our own but we are still living, loving and working on the farm. Just not our own for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Grace said,

    April 10, 2014 at 12:47 am

    I can related on the moving and packing stuff so that the treasures are safe until we open the boxes again ~ Looking forward to seeds of memories, and staring anew ~

  9. April 10, 2014 at 1:16 am

    I enjoyed this poem very much. Little treasures are like a journal . They contain our past.

    • shanyns said,

      April 10, 2014 at 4:29 pm

      They are like a journal, holding stories of our past. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you enjoyed this.

  10. April 10, 2014 at 2:51 am

    In an RV for certain your treasures will need to be small – but they are the things that make it “home”…….like you, I love things of the natural world, driftwood, rocks, sweetgrass………

  11. rmp said,

    April 10, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    this is lovely. I like how you set it up…the categories from treasures lost and stolen to locked away and carried is really neat.

  12. April 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    Your treasure is where your heart is. Those words from Jesus tell us treasures better not be measurable. Reading your post I was inspired to write a denique about that:
    OWING CHRIST
    Greatest treasure
    have no measure,
    work and leisure
    to your pleasure!


Leave a Reply

